We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ Good stay but problems with check in” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kalahari Resorts & Conventions

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kalahari Resorts & Conventions
Ranked #5 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Weyauwega, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“ Good stay but problems with check in”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Came for a business conference. I've been to the dells area several times and this was my first time staying here. My check in was not so good, I was booked in a room with another lady from work, and I was unable to check in unless she came, I even had the print out from the office showing my name and my reservation number and the supervisor said it wasn't good enough & was told the first person had to be there to check in. Well needless to stay I had no idea when she was coming or how to get in touch with her, so I had to make calls back to the office and hope someone was still there to help straighten this mess out! I did finally get into my room, and I don't know if this was works mistake or Kalahari's but I did have the paper and id showing who I was. I made sure my roommate was on the reservation as well and they even typed her in so this wasn't difficult for her like mine. I never did have a roommate my entire stay, as later I found out they couldn't "find" her in the system and she wasn't as lucky as me and ended up booking a room on her own credit card. :( on the positive side the beds were amazing I got a great nights rest both nights. Rooms were clean and hotel was beautiful. Conference area was huge and very well laid out! Delicious treats in the lobby! I never did make it to the water park or theme park but some of my coworkers did and said it was a blast! I would like to bring my family here if I can find a good deal, I checked with front desk and rates for a weekday were triple that of the wilderness where we frequent.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank heidijob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
We're so thrilled that you were able to come visit us for your business conference. Let me start off by saying, I am sorry to hear about your experience with Check-in. I can certainly understand the frustration with just wanting to be in your room. I will look into your experience and see where the miscommunication occurred. I do know that we take the safety and security of our guests very, very seriously and with strict protocol to ensure this safety, perhaps was part of the experience, however, I will look into this more. Thank you for letting us know! On the flip side, aside from the check-in I am so glad to hear that everything else was enjoyable! Certainly our pleasure to have you! We would love to have you and your family back for a visit. We do list all of our specials/packages on our site or another great place to check for deals is on our Facebook page. Hopefully you will be able to snag one of those offers and come again soon. Hope to see you again soon! Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,730 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,336
    757
    293
    184
    160
See reviews for
1,796
133
10
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (652)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lee
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Our first trip here. We usually go to the Great Wolf. Pleasantly surprised by how well staffed they were. Very clean! We had taken our kids who are 8 and 9, there was a rowdy bunch of kids in front of us waiting for laser tag, the employee handled them well and offered for us to wait until they were done so we didn't have any problems. My daughter had an allergic reaction to the chlorine, had to buy Benadryl at the gift shop for 12.99. Thought that was extremely over priced. The selection of slides for all ages was terrific. Overall a great experience! I would advise to take your kids to the amusement park in the mid afternoon, the crowd later in the evening was questionable.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank sarah f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
We're thrilled that we you gave us a shot! Thank you so much for visiting and taking a moment to review us! Certainly our pleasure to have you and your family as our guests. I do hope your daughter's reaction cleared up quickly. I will be sure to share you comments to our retail manager. I hope we have the opportunity to see you again soon. Thank you so much for your time. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We made our reservations online & stayed in a hospitality suite which was very nice & clean. We had a blast at both the water park & theme park although I wasn't thrilled that our room reservation for 2 nights didn't include the theme park along with the the water park so we ended up having 2 pay close to $100 for 4 us to do the theme park & we bought quite a few gifts from the gift shops & realized a plastic tumbler like cup we bought is cracked @ the top which allows water in to the part where no water should go, I am currently waiting for a call back from the retail manager & hoping they take care of the problem properly(such as sending us a new one so we have properly working souvenir)we will definitely be rebooking for the summer time!!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xoxo8818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
We loved having you! Thank you for sharing and we are excited to see you over the summer too. While our Indoor Theme Park is not typically included, be sure to check out our packages. We do have some where it is included. Hopefully that will help this summer. You can find those all on our site. I'm sure our retail manager will take good care of you. If you have any problems getting in touch, please don't hesitate to reach out to me directly to help: KRizzo@KalahariResorts.com. See you again soon! Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

We had the best family vacation at the Kalihari Feb 5-7, 2014! First, check in was fast and friendly and the two bedroom suite we were upgraded to was AMAZING! The waterpark was incredible, a great mix of low key/relaxing slides and high adrenaline slides! My kids are both teens and they had a blast on the master blaster, flow rider and the "flusher". The slides that "drop" out from under you are seriously intense but you should definitely try it at least once! It looked like there were lots of lower key things for the younger guys too. You could see at least two attentive lifeguards wherever you looked; it felt very safe. The indoor theme park was a bit young for our kids but they loved the arcade games, nascar simulator and spy laser challenge. The sweet shop had the BEST ice cream and other sweets and all the restaurants looked good. The only thing I could suggest as an improvement would be to have bar codes on your wrist bands that charge directly back to your room; that way you wouldn't have to carry cash. This was a fantastic get away in the winter that made us remember the fun of summer...there was so much to do we never left to go out in the cold! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tbaygirl113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Recently stayed in royal African queen sweets and had a wonderful time.Kalahari spa was excellent. The 4 days we were there was extremely fun for my 3 grandchildren.will definitely return in future.the indoor park was so much fun we played games and rode rides for hours.we played mini golf and bowled my grandson loved the rock climbing and rope course.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinaleebb44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
We're thrilled to hear that everyone from the grandkids to the grandparents had a blast. Thank you so much for visiting and taking the time to review us. I wanted to be sure to sent a note letting you know how much we appreciate you and can't wait to see you again soon. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

We just recently stayed for 5 nights in a royal African queen suite and 4 of those 5 were a complete frustration! We called the front desk 5 times over the LOUD people above us and every time we got the same story, that security would be sent up. The noise never stopped! And we never received any feedback. It sounded like people were playing basketball up there it was that loud! And yes this was after their quiet hours. But it happened all day as well. When we asked to checkout early, we were told that we couldn't get our money back. I was so upset. We were tired and it was absolutely ridiculous. They wouldn't even allow us to switch rooms.
We will never return again. We will stick to Great Wolf where the customer is important and making EVERYONES stay is their priority.
For the amount of money spent you would think we could have gotten more than one good nights sleep.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RyJa2814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
I'm sorry to hear about your recent experience with us, but do appreciate you providing this valuable feedback. It's guests like you that allow us to constantly improve and deliver beyond expectations. I would love the opportunity to look further into your concerns and the experience you received. If you are able, please send me your direct contact info to KRizzo@KalahariResorts.com. I would very much value the opportunity to connect directly and learn more about your latest visit. Thank you so much for your time. We truly appreciate it. Hope to hear from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savage, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

What a great place for a family get-away! Love the waterpark - clean, equipment kept up and working nicely, flow rider included is perfect and the lifeguards are really good! Theme park is great - so much to do!! Love that go karts, lazer tag, rock climbing, rope climbing, rides, mini-golf are all included and you can go all day! Kids were in heaven and so were mom and dad!!! Food was great at the places we ate. Love that they will store luggage for you - other places did not do that for you in town. Friendly staff and seemed like they really respected our business. Clean and nice. We will go back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
I just wanted to take a moment to thank you for bringing a smile to my face! Loved your review so much and I can't wait to share it with the whole team! Thank you for taking time out of your day to send us this feedback! We can't wait to see the whole family again! See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#3 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#14 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
3.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Su...
#6 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#54 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
3.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center
Wintergreen Resort & Conference ...
#17 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
2.8 mi away
Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suite...
#33 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
3.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalahari Resorts & Conventions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalahari Resorts & Conventions

Property: Kalahari Resorts & Conventions
Address: 1305 Kalahari Drive, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#4 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#12 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 750
Also Known As:
Kalahari Waterpark Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Kalahari Resort Wisconsin Dells
Kalahari Hotel Wi Dells
Kalahari Wi Dells
Kalahari Waterpark Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing