We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to mix business and leisure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kalahari Resorts & Conventions
Ranked #7 of 74 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
South Bend, Indiana, USA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to mix business and leisure”
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

This is the second time my husband and I have travelled together to the Kalahari for his business conference. Both times our accommodations were excellent. This time in particular we sampled several eateries, all of which we enjoyed. The staff are terrific. We did not take advantage of the theme parks. The conference venues were excellent, too.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank JENNIELEA V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
We love to hear that you were able to mix business with pleasure. We strive to create this experience for our guests, so hearing it in your review simply brought a smile to my face! Thank you for not only visiting us these past 2 times, but also taking a moment to review us. We are looking forward to hosting you once again and hopefully you can take advantage of the parks too! Always fun! Take care and thank you once more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,837 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,384
    788
    304
    193
    168
See reviews for
1,874
140
10
237
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (673)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Champaign-Urbana, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Had a great time. We did the Family Getaway package and found it to be a good value. One of our party has a bad knee and we requested a room close to the water park to minimize walking and we were very pleased with our location. Only down side is the waterpark being open to the general bublic tends to make it crowded on weekends. With that said those of us that did the slides never waited in long lines even on Saturday. Our 4yr old grandson had a ball and so did his parents. Nice cariety of young and "old" kid stuff to do.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abmartin55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
We're just so thrilled to be a part of your grandson's first exposure to the Dells. Sounds like he had an awesome time! I know we loved having him and parents and grandparents at that! Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and furthermore, taking a moment to review our resort. I hope that we have the opportunity to grow-up with grandson year after year! See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I would not recommend buying this package deal. What is offered is not what you get. For example, the package included $50.00 voucher which was to include an evening meal at a choice of 5 different restaurants. We walked around to all the restaurants and found only one opened - Ivory Coast. It was 7 pm by this time and the kids were hungry and tired so we ordered takeout, only to get back to our room and find 3 of the ordered items missing. This can happen but after calling the restaurant and no one answering, we called the concierge service twice only to be put on hold for a length of time so we just hung up.

There was bowling and a lounge area upstairs but the sign said "sorry for any inconvenience but there is a private party tonight". There was no place to get a drink except back at the Ivory Coast, and no bowling for families.

The resort was short of staff but we learned that it was off- season for us and they were catering to a big convention. The staff indicated they would be gearing up for spring break but now it was convention time.
The water park was great and the staff were very pleasant. The room was very comfortable and neat except for the acoustics.
The theme park is a gigantic arcade. There is an admission fee that allows you to ride 3-4 attractions, mini golf and some rope climbing depending on the age. The rest of the rides and games require money.
Not sure what the theme of this park is? Next time we would probably just buy the water park passes. Plan on spending a few more hundred on arcade games if you go to the theme park.

The breakfast buffet was very nice with a large variety of breakfast entrees.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marge240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
We very much appreciate your time. The Fantastic Family Getaway is one of our most popular packages. I'm sorry to hear that you weren't happy with it! I would certainly love the opportunity to look into the concerns you encountered with your stay, the meals at Ivory Coast and not being able to bowl with your vouchers. I again am sorry to hear this. Please email me at KRizzo@KalahariResorts.com and I will be happy to address this for you. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the waterpark and employees that you encountered. I do hope that we can see you again soon and furthermore, connect even sooner. Thank you for your time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bentonville, Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

This is my second stay at the Kalahari and we were happy. The first room they put us in did not have balcony as we had reserved. The hotel promptly moved us to another room after telling us that option was in another building. We were happier with the second room. First room was not only without balcony, but a little worn. This hotel gets a lot of families so it's reasonable that some rooms have taken more of a beating depending who has stayed there. The second room was in a newer building further from the water park. That building was also much quieter which we loved!!! Little more of a walk for quieter building and newer room, I thought it was worth it. Hotel staff is friendly. There is a lot to do at this hotel. Our water park passes were good for the entire day of checkout as well, so our kids stayed longer and swam. You pay more for the rooms, but the hotel has so much included that it was worth the price of the room. Wisconsin Dells has many fun hotel choices. I don't think you can go wrong with Kalahari.

Room Tip: Rooms further from water park may be quieter and request a room in a newer building if you don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MWS787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
We so very much love having you as our guest. I am glad to hear that we were able to get you set up with the room style you were expecting. I apologize for the inconvenience that may have caused while here. I am also very glad to hear you had fun and enjoyed the included amenities. Hopefully you can come visit this summer and enjoy the outdoor park and additional attractions open! We love having you as our guest! Looking forward to seeing you again soon! Take care and thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

The hotel is well maintained and well managed. We have been here on multiple occasions and the only consistent problem we have faced is that the check in process can be slow and take a while. It appears that it takes them a while to get the rooms ready between checkouts and check ins. You really have to wait till 4 pm and even then you might have to wait a bit.

Our every stay there has been in winter with 2 young kids. We love the option of not having to manage warm clothes and outerwear to go everywhere. A waterpark, indoor theme park, multiple restaurants and a movie theater are accessible without having to step out.

This time we stayed at the Sands building, which is quieter than the main resort building, but it's quite a hike via the skywalk to go from there to where the action is.

As expected, the indoor waterpark is loud and teeming with people of all ages. They have a game room that is open late (games are mostly for kids). The breakfast buffet at The Great Karoo restaurant is excellent, and reasonably priced. Other dining options get boring after a day or two.

Finding parking is not a problem, but it can be a hike from the parking spot to the room. It's best to drop and pick up the little ones at the entrance. When checking out on the last day of a weekend, there can be a rush for the luggage trolleys, but they seem to have enough of them - so the wait has never seemed long.

The only thing that bothers me about the place is that it is pricey, but cold weather tilts the cost-benefit ratio towards Kalahari.

Room Tip: Finding parking is not a problem, but it can be a hike from the parking spot to the room. It's b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dkrchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
We appreciate you continually visiting us and your thoughtful review. Thank you for sharing your thoughts. We do our best to accommodate guests within their rooms as early as possible, but it doesn't always happen. We will let guests into to their rooms as soon as they are ready however. Hopefully your next visit, that will be the case. Glad to hear that you enjoyed the buffet! We just switched our 2 dining options, Kahunaville to Double Cut Grill & Damon's to the family-friendly Wisconsin Brew Pub. Hopefully you'll enjoy those. The Wisconsin Brew Pub has some exciting items for the kiddos to checkout and at Double Cut, mom and dad can get steaks while the kiddos have their own menu to order off of too. I hope that you can snag a great deal and come see us again soon! Thank you again for your time. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2014

There were only two people checking in 10 different vehicle of people so there was a wait at 1100 pm with two children 2 & 3. Room price was reasonable since we were part of us auto force conventional. Included water passes and cards for theme park. Water park life gaurds do not make parents with children under 48 inches wear life vest. Some scary moments when a parent would take eyes off children. Lots of lifeguards and different age areas is a pro. Needless to say we were in the little kids area. Ate at the ivory coast... food was Luke warm and overpriced. Food court area is confusing but people helped direct were you need to order stuff from. Pizza very expensive but was excellent. Room keys continuously quit working and there was always long lines to get them fixed. Would go again with us auto force for the perks free dinner and breakfast which were excellent. Very organized convention and kid oriented. Credit to the person that helped organize it.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eastonb2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
We're so glad that you were able to come visit us for the US Auto Force Convention. Very much our pleasure to have everyone. Thank you for sharing your personal experience with us. I will be sure to share you thoughts with our team. I do hope that we have the pleasure to see you again with this conference and hopefully in addition to that. Be well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookfield, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I was attending my LIFEonaire Mastermind Coaching Seminar, and was only here for the 2 days.
Clean, comfortable and very accommodating room. The front desk person was very informative, answered all my questions, and even switched my room so I could get to my seminar on time, and drop off my things first. Bar was comfortable, food at the restaurant was delicious.
The resort offers many things to do, and I can see why it's a great vacation spot.
I would stay here again :) Tom G.

Room Tip: Reserve when you first start planning your trip, do not wait until last minute.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#14 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
660 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#4 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
895 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#19 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#56 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
619 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
6.2 mi away
Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center
Wintergreen Resort & Conference ...
#21 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalahari Resorts & Conventions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalahari Resorts & Conventions

Property: Kalahari Resorts & Conventions
Address: 1305 Kalahari Drive, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#4 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#12 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 750
Also Known As:
Kalahari Waterpark Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Kalahari Resort Wisconsin Dells
Kalahari Hotel Wi Dells
Kalahari Wi Dells
Kalahari Waterpark Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing