We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best resort in Dells for families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kalahari Resorts & Conventions
Ranked #6 of 73 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Best resort in Dells for families”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We just got back from our amazing trip to the Wisconsin Dells. We have a 7, 5, and 3 year old. After hours of research prior to the trip we picked the Kalahari. We were very pleased. We stayed in a suite. It was worth the extra money to have the space. The rooms very very modern and clean. I read a review about housekeeping coming during nap time. Our 3 year old was napping when they came so we told her we were not ready, no big deal. We called the front dest before we left to dinner and requested out room to be cleaned and it was upon our arrival. Bottom line is that this place has a lot for young kids. They could go on 80% of the rides. We ate at the Double Cut Steakhouse twice. It is expensive, but you get what you pay for. Great service, excellent wine selections, a good kids menu, and great steaks. I recommend that you bring a cooler. We brought lunch items and ate in our room everyday. There is a Cracker Barrel within walking distance. We got breakfast Togo from there daily for a fraction of the price at the resort. The indoor theme park was more for Tweens and teens. The waterpark was all we needed!

Room Tip: Get the suite if you have a family of four or more. The condos are a long hike to the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to fill out a review and for the compliment of "Best resort in Dells for families". We appreciate all of the kind words and it sounds like you had a wonderful stay with us. I hope you were able to take advantage of both the Indoor and the Outdoor Waterparks during your visit. Thanks again for the great review and we hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,779 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,359
    771
    299
    187
    163
See reviews for
1,834
135
10
232
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (665)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmot, South Dakota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

My husbad and i stayed at the kalahari with our 10 yr old daughter and 1 1/2 year old son for 4 nights. We had a 2 bedroom suite that was perfect size for our family! King bed was very comfortable! ! The indoor and outdoor waterpark are amazing! Great variety of slides and play areas for different aged children and adults. Toddler area was wonderful although would suggest they change the cement area by the steps at the outdoor park area as its kind of "hidden" by water and kids stubbed toes. Painting it would resolve much of the issue!! Indoor theme park was very fun and we did the mini golf, ropes course, and go carts. Ate at 2 of the restraunts. Wisconsin brewery was ok but buffet was great! Ate breakfast there last day and wished we had done more meals there. Should be open more and would be nice option to include w the room rate. Theme of the hotel was nice and fun to see the animals brought in from timbavarti zoo. Kind of expensive but worth the money!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank LOVESD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for the great review. I am happy that the two-bedroom suite was nice and comfortable for you. Also, I am glad to hear that your toddler enjoyed the spots within the waterpark specifically for him. It's so nice that you were able to take full advantage of the Indoor Theme Park as well as both Waterparks. We appreciate the feedback on the steps at the Outddor Waterpark. I'll send a note on to maintenance to look into that. Thanks again and we hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grayslake, IL
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We had not been to the dells in 5+ years and enjoyed our time at the Kalahari. We stayed here as part of a baseball tournament. The kids ages 10 and 13 had a blast, we had a nice room on the Sands side. The rooms are big, bigger than a normal hotel room. They have a microwave and fridge and full size coffee maker, which is nice. The balcony is also nice. We overlooked the pool area and it was great. Peaceful in the am and the pm, not too bad throughout the day. It was far to walk to the indoor park and the big outdoor area. Quickest way, through the parking lot. The outdoor waterpark was fun but LOUD. Loud music that did not make things relaxing...... Would I go back, maybe in another 5 years.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view then walk carefully through the parking lot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zimmdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review. I am happy to hear that your 10 and your 13 year old had a blast. The Sands Building is a peaceful escape from the main resort while still on property and just a skywalk away. I hope you were able to experience both the Indoor and Outdoor Waterparks. It sounds like baseball tournament went well and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the Dells.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We were going to make this an annual event but there's this: We booked a villa 6/20/14 - 6/22/14. There were 19 of us (including an infant) so we all brought food.The refrigerator was not cold. We called for service and were told it was working properly. The next day, it still was not cold. We called again and were told once again (but for different reasons) that is was working properly. We were concerned about the safety of the milk products and were able to get a cooler with ice. The freezer pops we put in on Friday were still not frozen when we checked out on Sunday. I mentioned this on the survey I got after the stay and no one bothered to follow up. For $3000, I don't think a refrigerator that operates at a safe temperature is too much to ask. A follow up from guest services would have been nice as well. That being said, the park is beautiful and well maintained.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BBinOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for reaching out to us. I apologize greatly about the refrigerator incident. That is unacceptable. Here at Kalahari Resort, safety is our number one priority and that includes food safety as well. Please don't hesitate to email me directly at KRizzo@KalahariResorts.com if you would like to discuss the matter further. Again, I apologize for the missed communication and remain in hopes that you'll come stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed at Kalahari from June 30 - July 1st this was our first trip. The resort is huge and there are a lot of stairs (especially if you do the water slides) so bring your walking shoes. We had a 3 bedroom 3 bath suite. The layout was very functional allowing for enough group time but space for privacy as well. In addition to the main kitchen each room with two queen beds had a small fridge, microwave and balcony. The queen rooms were spacious although there is only one sink. The king room was a bit smaller because it directly connected to the group living room and kitchen. The resort was clean and the beds were comfy. AC worked well. The food quality was also very good. The water park did not feel crowded and lines were short which was a big benefit. We rented indoor and outdoor cabanas to serve as home base. If you are there with a group and plan to be there all day this is a good option. They have a TV, fridge ceiling fan and more comfortable furniture. You also get wait service which is not otherwise available in the general seating area.

The indoor park is loud with water noise so be prepared. It is actually a bit hard to talk over the noise. Outside they play music a bit too loud in my opinion but still easier to talk than inside. Tons of great options for kids of all ages. There is also a large indoor amusement park that the kids enjoyed. All costs for the amusement park are separate.

We have family members that go to Kalahari 2X per year and love it. We would go back if a water park was part of our future plans.

Check in can be slow so arrive a bit early to avoid the lines. There is free cookie decorating everyday between 3:00 and 4:00 to help occupy kids during check inn.

Room Tip: Odd number rooms in the sands building overlook a big pool and woods. Great morning sun and nice to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Hi Julie. Thank you for the wonderful and detailed review from your visit with us. I am so glad that you had a wonderful first visit and were able to take advantage of a lot of the extra amenities and activities that Kalahari has to offer.
In the waterpark, the indoor and outdoor cabanas are a great way to keep track of everything and feel a little extra special during your visit. I am glad to hear you all enjoyed the rooms that you were in and everybody had plenty of extra space.
Again, we appreciate the detailed review so that other guests can get an idea of what our resort is like. Thank you and we hope to see you back for a stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I did the memorial day package and my 3 year old had an amazing time. The free tickets to the Wildlife park and the indoor and outdoor water park were great. We got put in a room that had no balcony initially but I called the front desk and told them that I really wanted one and they moved us within 30 minutes to a room with a beautiful view of the outdoor water park and pools. I had a great time and would recommend this place for families with young kids - lots to do.

Room Tip: Having a room with the view of the water park is really nice but just keep in mind during the day yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margarita U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
I am so glad you had such an enjoyable stay with us. I hope your 3 year old had a wonderful time while visiting our Waterparks. How wonderful that you were able to take advantage of the complimentary tickets to Timbavati Wildlife park that we are offering this summer to all registered guests. Thank you for the recommendations to your family and friends. We loo forward to seeing you back again soon. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We love water parks and this one is fantastic. With an indoor and outdoor park it offers something for all weather and every type of activity you could want. We ate at several of the restaurants and had the best service from our server at the Wisconsin brew pub, Alyssa. We highly recommend that you use look into the packages that they offer. It made the entire trip worth the money. We also liked the fact that we were able to charge almost everything to the room and pay when we checked out.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3daughtersandmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review. When booking, package deals are sometimes the best way to book if you're looking for some added savings. Wisconsin Brew Pub is our newest restaurant on property. Thank you for all of the compliments and I will be sure to pass on your note about Alyssa. Being able to charge everything to the room and then take care of finances upon checkout is just one way we like to make everything about your getaway smooth and convenient. Thanks again for the review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#14 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
3.8 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#4 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#54 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
3.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
6.2 mi away
Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center
Wintergreen Resort & Conference ...
#19 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
2.8 mi away
Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suite...
#31 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
3.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalahari Resorts & Conventions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalahari Resorts & Conventions

Property: Kalahari Resorts & Conventions
Address: 1305 Kalahari Drive, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#4 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#12 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 750
Also Known As:
Kalahari Waterpark Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Kalahari Resort Wisconsin Dells
Kalahari Hotel Wi Dells
Kalahari Wi Dells
Kalahari Waterpark Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing