We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can not recommend Mt. Olympus”
Review of Mt. Olympus Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mt. Olympus Resort
Ranked #64 of 75 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Gurnee, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can not recommend Mt. Olympus”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The biggest problem we had was the kids who were throwing rocks at each other and hitting cars EVERY morning. I do not know how it is closer to the main park but if you are staying at one of Mt. Olympus' ancillary buildings (and there are many), I would not recommend driving a vehicle that you cherish. I, fortunately, was warned of this kind of behavior prior to our stay and rented a car so we were prepared. I do think it is quite a shame though that this warning I received came to be very true. Mt. Olympus does not obviously have high standards for the clientele that stay here. The room was clean but the building needed work and the ancillary buildings (motels) can be quite a distance from the main park. Mt. Olympus is not a place to go as a couple either as it is designed more for kids than adults (but that can be said about the majority of places at the Wisconsin Dells).

Room Tip: Do not stay at the Mt. Olympus hotels that are off-site!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olivebl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,803 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    308
    379
    368
    583
See reviews for
1,299
116
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (490)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evansville, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed in our motor home at the RV park. Filthy, overflowing garbage, no security, noisy and miserable. Planned to stay for two days but teenage kids refused to stay after two hours. Left early, even forfeited deposit to get out. Won't go back.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dokta911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wisconsin Dells hotels

Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I booked a stay at Mt. Olympus for 8/10/14, yesterday and am beyond disgusted. Starting with the park, the employees must not be trained, they denied us access to the outdoor pool area because it was about 7pm, WE WERE GUEST, not day pass visitors but that didnt matter to him. The indoor pool area was nasty! The lazy rivers water was yellow, the tubes were low on air, there was a line at the hot tub and the bathrooms dirty. I could not bare to keep my kids in those horrid conditions and headed back to the hotel after 30 minutes of checking the place out. Back at the HOTEL, the bathtub would not drain, my daughter slipped because the tub filled while she showered and the tub floor grips were worn out. MOLD on the bathroom ceiling, and what appeared to be water damage on the ceilings above the bed! We left the hotel immediately as well, ended out summer vacation early and came home. A complete waste on a day and our hard earned money! I will never ever come here again and urge everyone that I know and encounter not to as well. It would be nice to be refunded... but that is not in the policy. I will be calling the HEALTH DEPARTMENT! *I called after getting home, apparently that was too late, they felt that if my experience was so bad i should of complained immediately rather than just leaving asap as i did. "We take great pride in our parks and did not just open yesterday, the rooms are inspected daily!"

Room Tip: Do not stay in their "Villages" rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ramirez M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Was expecting to stay at hotel Rome however when we checked in we were Sent a mile and half away too building 25. Horrible accommodations super overpriced. Misleading advertising !!! Been to the dells many times over the yrs, worst trip ever.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galena, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

I will probably have to leave several reviews to plod though how horrible this experience actually is. The hotel is off site with no amenities and extremely poor directions to get to it or even back to the resort where you have "unlimited access" Yay. The room is substandard at best and was dirty when we checked in. There was dirt between the sheets so they came and changed them but then I dropped something behind the dresser and had to move it and what did I discover??? Some super old cinnamon toast crunch and someone's old hairbands. Awesome. Oh and BTW old tube TV with crap reception. More later. Tune in.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank JoyfullyJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsey, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

As is the case with most resorts, know that the rooms they feature in their photos are only located in the Rome hotel. The majority of their rooms are in out-buildings, and are more along the lines of an Econolodge or Super 8. Some are quite far away, as well, as Mt. Olympus seems to be buying up other properties and converting them by painting the outside blue and white. Some have pools, others do not. We were in building 16, about half a mile from the main property. It was fine. It was quiet, and the beds were ok. It served its purpose. To stay in the rooms shown and featured, of course, is a lot more expensive.

The water and theme park was fine, too, though your choices are limited. If you like water parks, roller coasters, and bumper cars, then this is a great place for you. However, if you want more variety or are looking for a place that is good for anyone with disabilities (I had a sprained knee/fractured wrist at the time),then look elsewhere. This place is not at all accessible. Lots of stairs, too.

The food at the resort is mediocre, so either go off site or bring your own.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C_Kane09031994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

It was quite upsetting for my whole family when arriving here. We were very optimistic about our stay,until we entered the rooms. The AC barely worked and the phone was not working at all.It's not walking distance from the waterpark at all. My family and I walked in the hotel, stayed for 30 minutes,then we asked for a full refund because it was just horrible. Waste of money,waste of time,it will ruin your Wisconsin Dells experience.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sneibe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
1.1 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#58 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
628 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#15 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
699 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#6 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#23 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
948 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suite...
#35 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
483 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt. Olympus Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. Olympus Resort

Property: Mt. Olympus Resort
Address: 1701 Wisconsin Dells Pkwy, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-8798
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mt. Olympus Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 1300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mt. Olympus Resort provides our guests with both Indoor and Outdoor Water & Theme Park fun! All 1300 Mt. Olympus Resort rooms are spread over the famous Wisconsin Dells Strip, surrounding Mt. Olympus Water & Theme Park. Free skiing, tubing, snowboarding and Golf passes (depending on season) are included with stay, Free wi-fi access available, 44 Indoor and Outdoor Water Slides, 4 Interactive Children's water play areas, 7 Outdoor Go-Kart Tracks, 5 Outdoor Roller Coasters, 1 Surf pool, creating 9ft waves! 1 Wave pool and a giant water fortress. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mt. Olympus Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rome - At Mt. Olympus Water And Theme Park
Wisconsin Dells Treasure Island
Treasure Island Wisconsin Dells
Treasure Island Water Park Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing