We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Two day getaway with a toddler” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center
Ranked #19 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Wonder Lake, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Two day getaway with a toddler”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

We wanted to go to a hotel with a pool for a night with our 18 month old son. We are from IL near the Wisconsin border and I had the bright idea to go the dells. We picked the wintergreen resort because the price was right and the indoor pool was geared toward toddlers. We added a night to our stay to avoid a snowstorm in IL. The Wintergreen resort added a night with no questions asked and were very accommodating. I called and said we were going to be late (we arrived at 8:30pm) which was not a problem at all. After I checked in and got my room keys I had to carry my sleeping son in, the lady at the front desk offered me extra pillows and walked with me to our room she also helped open the door for me.

Pro's - everyone is very nice. Room is very clean. Location is fabulous. Breakfast at the hotel restaurant was good and very convenient. We had the buffet at breakfast there was ham, sausage, biscuits and gravy, fresh pineapple and watermelon, sticky buns, donuts, scrambled eggs (which were perfectly cooked), pecan baked French toast, cheesy potatoes, and pancakes. The indoor Waterpark was geared towards toddlers which is what we were looking for. The front desk turned on Waterpark when we asked and we were the only ones using it at 9:30 am.

Some cons - let me first say that we got what we expected and loved our weekend getaway. But there were a couple things I would suggest for improvements. The heater in the room is hard to figure out. And in fact took us all night to learn how to turn it on. A quick explanation when we checked in would have helped us sleep better the first night. We figured it out about 4am and have been warm since then. The indoor pool is chilly for it being 7F outside. I would suggest that the heat be turned up in the pool just a tiny bit in the middle of winter. The indoor pool area could use some fresh paint but was perfect for my toddler so we were satisfied. Only other suggestion is to provide a do not disturb door hanger. The cleaning crew knocked on the door while my toddler was taking his nap. They didn't know he was sleeping but if I had a door hanger it would have solved that issue completely.

All in all we are enjoying our stay and would recommend this hotel to our family and friends.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Rocky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wintergreen2285, Guest Relations Manager at Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write that wonderful review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed everything and appreciate your "constructive cons". You had some great suggestions that we will definitely take into consideration. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    159
    64
    49
    61
See reviews for
307
92
12
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elm Grove, WI
Level Contributor
135 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

This is a very good location though off of HWY. 12 at I-94. On some highlighted positive notes: A Starbucks - right across Gasser St., within a few minutes walking distance. Still closer yet is: McD's,Taco Bell. And Denny's, Famous Dave's BBQ is also close & also very convenient if you don't want their hotel restaurant food. Although, we had heard that the breakfast isn't bad though, we didn't bother. We stayed here for one night in their widely internet advertised $89.00 a night special. This was for the Wisconsin 2013 AQHA banquet awards. Upon checking in, I asked the front desk reception woman about a quieter room away from any potential noise (i.e. elevators, party hound guests, ice machines, etc...). She replied, "Well, we're SOLD OUT, so I don't think that there's much we can do for you there." Great answer, I had thought (NOT!). It actually turned out to be a quieter room to my big surprise. Loved it. The two queen beds wasn't a king we had wanted originally (just the two of us). The beds were very firm and uncomfortable, for our liking anyway. The synthetically cheaper pillows were no more of a reprieve in any comfort either. They have FREE and hassle free Wi-Fi in the rooms and are easy to log on to. No codes, passwords are necessary. Just ensure your laptop, iPhone or whatever wi-fi's selected on. The postage stamp sized FACIAL, shower soap wasn't especially inviting to bath or shower with either. I think the maids from Mexico just are overworked, cleaning too much! I can see that this place would be a boon for people wanting a level up budget motel with a swimming pool/water slide in the summer time. I wouldn't go out of my way to stay here again. Families will probably love this place for the kids.

Room Tip: The upper floor rooms by entrance D.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Airbus300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wintergreen2285, Guest Relations Manager at Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write an honest review. We are glad you were able to get a quieter room, which we realize can be difficult in a hotel geared toward families. We regret that the beds and pillows were not to your liking. Thank you for staying with us and we hope that you have happy travels wherever they take you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

What a wonderful time during the off season in Wisconsin Dells. The hotel staff was incredibly friendly. Every time I went past the front desk, the staff would ask if I needed anything. Kittie worked all 4 days I was there and went above and beyond to make sure all was well with the service. Her attention to detail was remarkable. The fact that she used my name was a sign of the excellence and quality of the resort.

The room itself, was spacious, clean with a small frig, microwave, hair dryer and coffee maker.

The pool area was clean and well kept. The hot tub was marvelous after a long day of hiking in the snow and cold.

Our conference area was clean and full of water and coffee. The room was checked regularly throughout the day and replenished.

Thank you for an awesome experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellie_Kutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wintergreen2285, Guest Relations Manager at Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for your glowing review. Kittie is our gem and we are so grateful to have such a caring person leading our front desk staff! I will pass on your glowing review and she will probably remember exactly who you are! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jefferson wi
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We have stayed numerous times here and have always had a great stay. While it is not a resort with a large water park it does have a pool, hot tub and small waterpark area. We are always pleased with the staff and the manager Kitty is wonderful. Clean rooms and have frig and microwave in room. Close to the mall and knuckleheads a place for kids to have fun. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wintergreen2285, Guest Relations Manager at Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thanks for your wonderful review! We are so pleased that you enjoy our resort and return again and again! Your happiness is a great reward for us. If you have outgrown our waterparks keep in mind that we have Noah's Ark tickets this summer and offer Kalahari passes in the summer. Be sure to ask us for details on your next visit and we can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Charles, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

We have been to the dells twice and both times stayed at the wintergreen resort. Our kids (5&3) both just love the penquin pool as they call it. We chose to stay there because the pool area was geared towards younger kids. The hotel itself is great the rooms are clean and the staff is really friendly. Its also located within walking distance to Buffalo Phils where we spend the night eating great food and playing games. We already are planning a trip back during spring break and plan on again staying at the wintergreen resort. I recommend anyone with younger kids to think about staying here as they will love the waterslide area and the slide in the big pool.

Room Tip: travel with small kids ask for a room close to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wintergreen2285, Guest Relations Manager at Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for the glowing review. We are delighted that you enjoy our resort and hope to see you again soon! Our outdoor waterpark and slide area are now open for the summer season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

I took my wife and 3 year old here in August.
We loved it.
The indoor pool was perfect for my 3 year old. She was able to climb up everything and go down slides and crawl through tunnels without us having to worry about the water being too deep, or the playground being too big.

We were given two complimentary drink coupons when we checked in, which we of course used.
The bartender was very friendly and made some good drinks.

Everyone was very friendly at the front desk.
The outside waterpark was very fun as well.
I loved going on the "big slide."

The only thing that would keep it from scoring a five in my opinion was that the "igloo/cave" side of the water park had water that was freezing cold. We did not play in it, perhaps the heater was either not on or broken.

The room was perfect for our family size, and we loved that Wintergreen is in walking distance to both Knuckle Heads and Tanger Mall.

Room Tip: The room had (king bed and sofa sleeper with divided wall) was perfect for 2 adults and a child. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wintergreen2285, Manager at Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for taking some time to comment our your stay at the Wintergreen Resort. We're so happy to hear you and your family enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for letting us know about the outdoor igloo area, we'll make sure we check into this issues when the outdoor pools open back up this summer.

It sounds like you were able to take full advantage of the indoor pool area. It is perfect for children under ten with the 50 ft slide and tunnels to crawl through. We'll be sure to mention to the bartenders you were happy with their company along with the front desk staff. All these help reviews/comments help us know what areas we can work on and those we need to continue.

Thank you again for your comments. We can't wait for you to come visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed with my boyfriend. We stayed in a whirlpool suite. The room was beautiful and clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. While we were there on the off season, the staff were able to recommend fun activities for us. Big thank you to Kittie! We will definitely be back!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wintergreen2285, Manager at Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
It's wonderful hearing from our guests and we appreciate you taking the time to write a comment on the Wintergreen Resort. The superior whirlpool suite is a beautiful room. We're so glad it was such a great fit for you. We have several room types to accomodate the needs of our guests. Being many of our employees are from the area, we are knowledgeable of activities to do in the off-season and during the summer as well. We are more than willing to help however we can. Thank you again for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
3.7 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#54 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
3.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#14 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#3 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alakai Hotel and Suites
Alakai Hotel and Suites
#36 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
2.3 mi away
Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suite...
#33 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
3.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
3.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Su...
#6 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center

Property: Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center
Address: 100 Gasser Road, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#27 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wintergreen Resort is perfect for your next meeting, group function, or family vacation. Relax and enjoy our indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna, and children's water facilities. Our convenient onsite restaurant and lounge are sure to please any appetite.  If  searching for a romantic getaway, our whirlpool rooms will accommodate every couple with room service and special packages. Centrally located just off I90 makes it a perfect location for all to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wintergreen Resort And Conference Center
Wintergreen Wisconsin Dells
Wintergreen Resort Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing