We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Little Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Christmas Mountain Village
Ranked #33 of 75 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Reviewed 14 February 2011

Just got back from a four day weekend @ Christmas Mountain. If you are expecting some large Colorado Ski resort, you will be disappointed. If you are looking for a nice little ski resort for your family, you will love it. Our kids are 7 & 4 and never ski'd in their lives, so we didn't know what to expect. To say that we were pleasantly surprised would be an understatement.

We stayed in a 2 bedroom condo not far from the lodge and restaurant, literally 2 minutes away. It was clean and well maintained. The only negative part of the entire trip was the thin walls at the condo. The other half was occupied by a group of women, whom were on a girls weekend and partied pretty good and late into the evening. Fortunately, my kids can sleep through a tornado so it wasn't a big deal.

We ate twice at Mulligan's. The food there is fantastic and the atmosphere was good as well.

Probably the best part of the trip was the skiing. As mentioned earlier, our kids have never stepped foot on a mountain. So, we enrolled them in ski schools. We enrolled the boy (7) in a group lesson. Can't say that I was overly impressed with it, as there was 9 kids in the group and there was more babysitting than actual learning going on. We put the girl (4) into a private lesson. Her instructor was Seth and my wife & I were so impressed by the young man. It happened to be her birthday and Seth just took her by the hand and away they went up the bunny slope. She had so much fun with him for the hour, it was fun to watch. She wasn't ready to go down the mountain by herself when they were finished, but she sure did learn a lot and we were very grateful.

The mountain was nicely groomed. Again, the place isn't huge, but there are a dozen or so runs and they are well maintained.

If you have a young family and are looking at getting the kids out, I can't imagine asking for anything more than Christmas Mountain.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleMcDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (439)
There are newer reviews for Christmas Mountain Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

364 - 370 of 439 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2011

We had an RCI bonus week about to expire so we traded a week in beautiful Lake Taho (or anywhere else!) for a very disappointing stay at the Christmas Mountain Trailer Park. Driving in we couldn't imagine how these cottages could have 2 bedrooms. Our unit smelled moldy, was old, dingy, tiny (maybe 600 sq. ft.) and the parking spot could not accommodate our SUV without sticking out in the road AND only being able to exit one side of the vehicle. In 10 years of time share we have always stayed at exceptional places. This was like a truck stop motel. We tried to negotiate other accommodations with the front desk but all of the units were similar. RCI will receive similar feedback on this 'rustic" property.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsDuffy1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2011

This place is very tired, dirty and not up to normal RCI Standards. Our unit was filthy and the housekeeping manager was disrespectful when we asked them to just come back and address some basic cleaning issues like actually vacuuming and mopping the floor. The drawer on the stove wouldn’t close and if anyone on the staff had bothered to even check they would have found a dirty pan on the floor under the drawer that was preventing it from closing. The furniture is worn out, the entry rug was horribly stained and the carpets were dirty and worn. The extra pillow in the bedroom had blood stains on it. The smoke detector was hanging from wires 6 inches below the ceiling.

I can’t come up with one positive thing to say about this resort. We checked out after two days and came home.

By far this is the worst RCI resort we have experienced.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boedie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

My wife, daughters and I went to Christmas Mountain Village for a weekend that we booked through our Bluegreen Timeshare points. Check in was easy. This trip we had a two bedroom unit close to the Check in building (801B). The room was large and very clean, but a little rough looking. (Chipped paint, worn and stained furniture) The unit had two floors, two bedrooms and two full baths and then a double pull out couch in the living room. It also had a full kitchen as most the Bluegreen units seem to have. There was a fireplace in the living room and another in the master bedroom along with a large jacuzzi tub in the master bedroom.

We took to the kids, aged 4 and 7, snowtubing there, and they loved it. The skiing looked good, but not for an experienced skier. It is Wisconsin, not Aspen. The kids also loved the pool, but it is geared toward smaller kids.

The room was in need of a little updating, and I was a little disappointed in the quality of the room, considering the amount of Bluegreen points needed to stay there. We will be staying in a different type of unit in a few more weeks when we return.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wordman113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2010

We exchanged a 4-5 Star, first rate Massanutten week for a substandard, well-below average, accommodations (a cabin) with no washer or dryer; no foyer (no clean, convenient place to remove our snow boots and winter coats - exterior door opened into the kitchen); very cramped living space; a miniature stove/oven; no kitchen counter space; absolutely no view whatsoever except the back of another cabin or the access road (In fact, we kept the blinds shut the entire time); no cabin insulation so thermostat stayed between 76-80 degrees the entire time; it took us 2 days to figure out what heat vents to keep open and/or closed to stay reasonably comfortable at night without being too cold or hot, but there was no humidifier (creating an unpleasantly dry environment). Thank goodness we only stayed for 4 days and left before Christmas. On the other hand, we were close to the slopes; the ski lift ticket employers were kind; my child's ski instructor was "great". His name was Seth. Mulligans was a nice bar/restaurant offering a variety of food and drinks at a reasonable price, but don't wait for the waitress, order throught the bartender for much faster service (not unusual for vacation resorts). Check in/out was quick and easy. My son enjoyed the indoor pool for an evening. One additional concern; the resort does not hand out written comment cards, they only accept them on-line at their computer terminals in their lobbby (supposedly because they are going "green". Of course, one terminal was broken and the other was ALWAYS in use by other vacationers. I suspect that the real reason that there are no written comment cards is to cut down on the number of complaints received.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James9916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2010

We exchanged an RCI Timeshare week to stay here. Fairly close to home, 240 miles or so, close to some aging relatives, etc. We arrived on a Friday, and check in was fast and friendly. Very pleasant smiling staff greeted us, w/no typical timeshare sales hassles. Our unit was 159, in the "Cabins" part of the resort property. The Cabin was small, but very comfortable for just us two. Very clean, and the best equipped timeshare we've stayed at, with the exception of no washer/dryer in the Cabin units. The laundry unit was located just 50 feet from out unit, so that was not a major inconvienence. The lobby staff gave us a generous amount of tokens to be used in the laundry unit, which in itself was very nicely fitted w/ 3 dryers, and 3 washers, tables for folding clothes, and plenty of chairs, and recent magazines for reading while doing the wash. Our Cabin area was very quite at nite, w/some occasional heavy resort vehicle traffic during the day. Plenty of outdoor pools,and a very beautiful indooe pool and fitness center at the main resort.
An awesome looking ski hill and lift is within the resort as well! We highly recommend this resort, and will be returning in summer of 2011

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnsdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2010

My husband and I own with RCI at a Gold Crown Resort in FL. We were placed in a two bedroom 2 bath cabin at Christmas Mountain Timbers with not much assistance on what we were getting into. Our adult children arrived on Saturday and spent a couple of days with their friends. We did not arrive until Wednesday after they had already left. Upon our arrival we were very dissappointed with the room and the cleanliness (not anything that they left). I asked if we could change rooms as our friends were coming up the following day with a young child. They said there was nothing else available but to try back the next day. We went back to the room and I started to fix a snack. When I opened the kitchen drawers there was mice droppings in the utinsel drawer. Not one or two it would have filled a tablespoon. I was so upset I took pictures and started looking more thoroughly. The unit was very out of date with red carpet in the living room. Rusty register covers. Dirt filled air duct covers, etc. It was not condusive to a one year old running around and crawling on the floors.

I took my camera and went to the front desk and told them my findings and stated that we could not accept this kind of condition. They checked and at first said nothing was available. I was not going to accept that response. I stood my grounds and they said that one was available for the length of time that we needed but it was not cleaned from the last guest. I said not a problem let us go look at it first. We did and it was very nice and alot newer and cleaner.

We were able to transfer over to the other room but would have been very embarrased if our friends would have had to stay there for even and hour.

I think Bluegreen needs to do some more thorough checking on these units and get them updated and cleaned by professionals.

This is on the verge of a Health Department issue. If at all possible you need to look at the units before renting.

The villas are very nice and a good option. We would not recommend the cabins unless it is a group of hunters or snowmobilers needing lodging for a nite or t wo.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank vickytravis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
3.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
8.2 mi away
Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center
Wintergreen Resort & Conference ...
#24 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
667 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#5 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#23 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
955 reviews
4.8 mi away
Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Lodge
#12 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
3,314 reviews
4.1 mi away
Delton Oaks Resort
Delton Oaks Resort
#31 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christmas Mountain Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christmas Mountain Village

Address: S944 Christmas Mountain Rd, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-9608
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range: £115 - £658 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Christmas Mountain Village 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Christmas Mountain Village, Wisconsin Dells' premier golf and ski resort. Guests of this resort enjoy one of the Dells' best 27-hole championship golf courses and a pristine groomed hill for downhill and cross country skiing in the winter. Offering some of Wisconsin Dells most spacious accommodations, choose from one and two bedroom villas to grand three bedroom townhouses. Rustic log cabins and timbers spaced throughout this expansive resort, give vacationers their own private spot in the woods. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Christmas Mountain Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christmas Mountain Village Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Christmas Mountain Village Wisconsin Dells
Christmas Mountain Village Wi Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing