We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Disappointing”
Review of Mt. Olympus Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mt. Olympus Resort
Ranked #69 of 74 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Reviewed 26 June 2012

After searching through various hotels online and constantly having no rooms available - Monaco had a few rooms open. . . and I think I now know why. This hotel is outdated and is seriously in need of a major renovation/upgrade. Aside from that, their A/C is located inthe worst location of the room. It takes several hours to cool the room temperature down because they are too cheap to leave it plugged in at all. The beds here are nothing to write home about, and the pillows are flat as a leaf. If that is not enough, the hotel staff is not very accomodating and openly rude! I have never stayed in a worse hotel, and with the vast array of options within the Dells area - I would advise anyone to look elsewhere. If you have to pay even $100 extra dollars for a room somewhere other than Monaco, you will still be saving yourself from a terrible experience. The only thing that did not bother me was the early 10:30am check out as we all were ready to get out of this dump.

Room Tip: Any room in any other hotel would be a better experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank John Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2012

was at the Monaco with my teenage daughter and friend this past week. Would recommend the motel, price isn't bad for the area, spacious room had 2 double beds... centrally located right on the strip, walking distance to many attractions, loved the pool indoor and outdoor, this is an older motel and could use an update on the furniture and tv's but when your in the dells who stays in the room to watch tv... beds were very comfortable! the only things lacking at the motel is breakfast and only 1 ice machine kind of inconvient,and checkout time is kind of early 10:30 but will def stay here again. I bring my daughter to the dells every yr and will def stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

My family went here on the advice of some friends. Upon walking into the room, we were disappointed. After a long day in the sun, we expected the room to be cool and ready for us. It was hot and stuffy. When we turned on the A/C wall unit, the immediate smell of mustiness hit us. That continued all weekend... yuck! The fridge was not plugged in either. So, it took a long time for our items to cool down. The sheets were stained & the beds were hard. The pillows were REALLY flat. There was food under the bed (that wasn't ours). There was no water running on the slides by the pool, so the kids couldn't go down them. While the price was cheap, I feel like we would have been more comfortable paying more for a little bit nicer place.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank orionthx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonacoMotelDells, Manager at Mt. Olympus Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

Dear 'not the best' -
It's unfortunate that you didn't have a pleasant stay with us at the Monaco Motel. We work everyday trying to make each guests stay enjoyable. In response to your concerns in the review: first of all we have had very hot days during the time you stayed with us so it's inevitable the rooms will be warm initially. We try to conserve energy at this motel and we don't keep the A/C running when a room is unoccupied. The same goes for the fridge, plus as guests continuously use the fridge over consecutive days it tends to build up frost, so if kept on, the next guest usually doesn't like that. As for the food crumbs under the bed, that is unacceptable and management is usually very strict and particular about the cleanliness of our property. This issue will be passed on and discussing with the housekeeping staff. Once again though I do apologize the you didn't have the best time here with us. If there is anything you would like to further discuss with us please feel to personally email us and and maybe we can make some offers for you. Thank you very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

This place has always been a family favorite! Its always super clean and the atmosphere is all about family! We love the pool! Its so much fun! The kids loved the diving boards and slides. We will be back!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amalia d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonacoMotelDells, Manager at Mt. Olympus Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

Thank you so much!!! We love reading reviews like this one and it lets us know that we are doing a good job! It's great that you keep returning to stay with us each time you come to the Dells! If you plan to come back again this summer make sure to always check out our website as we have new specials coming up all summer long! Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We love going to this place! If you're on a budget this is the place to stay at, even if you're not, its still the place to be at. Clean, comfortable, and nicely manicured grounds make this place great. The staff was pleasant and very helpful with all of our queries. I definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank santom101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonacoMotelDells, Manager at Mt. Olympus Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

Sounds like this was your first time staying with us at the Monaco Motel and we are very excited that you liked it here! We do try to provide excellent customer service and keep our property clean! Thank you for acknowledging this!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

we love the monaco motel ! we stay there every year and they always treat us great. will be back there again this year !!

Room Tip: just call and ask or visit website !!! excellent location ! couldn't ask for more......
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rhonda g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Our family has gone here every year for the past 15 summers and we love it! Great location. We wouldn't dream of going anywhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jamienicole369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
5.2 mi away
Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center
Wintergreen Resort & Conference ...
#22 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
685 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suite...
#38 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Alakai Hotel and Suites
Alakai Hotel and Suites
#28 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
323 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#15 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
720 reviews
1.4 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#58 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt. Olympus Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. Olympus Resort

Address: 1310 Wisconsin Dells Pkwy, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-8452 (Formerly Monaco Motel and Suites)
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 74 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range: £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monaco Motel is located right in the middle of all the action on Wisconsin Dell's strip. We are right next door to America's largest Waterpark, Noah's Ark! We are also walking distance to many restaurants and attractions. Our property has indoor and outdoor swimming pools, game room, playground, and picnic area. Each room has microwave and refrigerator and comes with free wi-fi. We have standard rooms and also family suites to accommodate everyone. Our mission is to make sure your family has a memorable and fun vacation here in Wisconsin Dells! Monaco Motel offers specials for our guests all summer long. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Monaco Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Monaco Motel Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing