We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge Disappointment!”
Review of Indian Trail Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Indian Trail Motel
Ranked #14 of 75 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2009

First of all, even though our room was ready, for some reason, they refused to let us in until right at 3 o'clock. Give us a break, we were only there ten minutes early! And I'm going to assume that the average people who like this motel either have no kids or only a couple. We, on the other hand, had a group totalling nine, with six of them being kids and teens. The management made it clear right away that they didn't care for kids. The manager, or I'm assuming that's who he was, came outside to where we were when we came, as we were waiting for our room, and started pacing and glaring at us. Ok... I don't know what we did, but it appeared to me like he didn't want us on his property, even though we could've been in the rooms that WE payed for if they had just let us in ten minutes early!!! The game room is a joke. Ok, the kids thought, wow, cool, a game room. Calling it a game room is like calling a Super 8 a resort. It was a hole-in-the wall room, almost a last-thought sort of thing, with three games, two of which didn't even work. We didn't try the third one, though. For a hotel, though, the pool wasn't terrible, except we were afraid to enter the building because of the 'mean management'. I kid you not, they were afraid to go swimming because of him. The swingset was in bad condition, and you could almost feel it beginning to break as you swung on it. Who knows what management would've done if we had broken it! Trust me, look elsewhere if you have children.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Glaryscaresme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IndianTrailOwner, Owner at Indian Trail Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2016

Hello Glaryscaresme

Better late than never. We wanted to let you know that we appreciate you taking the time to write a review in regards to your stay with us at the Indian Trail Motel. We have made many changes to our rooms since you were here. We have remolded them as well. You can take a look at our new rooms online and see. We work very hard to make your stay comfortable. Hope to seeing you soon.

Ed, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (407)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

362 - 368 of 407 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2009

I want to say that first of all the female owner of the hotel was very very nice when we got there she was at the desk and she had on a beautiful dress that looked really well on her. She was a bit worried because she had expected us a day earlier but the whole while that we were there the staff and the both owners were very nice and polite to us. The hotel was very retro. We loved the pink and white tiled bathroom, the room was clean and nice. We were there during the off season but we found the whole experience to be wonderful. I called my son while I was there and told him that this was a good place for a family vacation. I will recommend this hotel to anyone that wants a nice place to stay where the staff is attentive and care about the people that are spending their money. I forgot to mention the jacuzzi and pool wow...My husband and I enjoyed that too.
I am late with this review but here it is. I loved it and will recommend it to anyone that needs a new place to visit for a vacation. THANK YOU .......BRENDA AND JOHN MORTON. KENTUCKY

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KY_Brenda0904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IndianTrailOwner, Owner at Indian Trail Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2016

Hello Brenda0904

Better late than never. We wanted to let you know that we appreciate you taking the time to write a review in regards to your stay with us at the Indian Trail Motel. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your honeymoon. We work very hard to make your stay comfortable. Glad you enjoyed it. Hope to seeing you soon.

Ed, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2008

We stayed at the Indian Trail for the Autumn Harvest Fest. The place is clean, really clean, and simple. I looked for a place within stumbling distance of all the Downtown stuff, and this was it. It is about 6 blocks from the first restaurant/bar. If you like screaming noisy kids, go stay at a $100 plus per night water park. This place won't facilitate fifty kids in the pool. The Indian Trail is a great deal in an excellent location. 58 bucks after taxes and a clean big room. It's all good.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank beercan67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IndianTrailOwner, Owner at Indian Trail Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2016

Hello beercan67

Better late than never. We wanted to let you know that we appreciate you taking the time to write a review in regards to your stay with us at the Indian Trail Motel. Glad to hear that it's like the advertisement said. We work very hard to make your stay comfortable. Glad you enjoyed it. Hope to seeing you soon.

Ed, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2008

Hi everyone! Just back from the Dells and stayed at the Indian Trails Motel on the recommendation of several trip advisor readers. I was not disappointed. Even though the motel rooms are in need of a serious upgrade it was super clean, the air conditioner worked wonderfully and it had everything I needed. (Frig, micro, hair dryer). I stayed in an economy 1 bed room. The economy rooms are located in a 4 room unit which sits behind the motel. It reminded me of a summer camp cabin, but so what? You're there to spend your money on other fun things, not sleeping. The majority of the motel faces Broadway Street and is about 4 blocks from downtown dells. My son and his girlfriend walked downtown several times a day just for the exercise. I loved the sheer land that the motel sat on . A beautiful nature trail, outdoor/indoor swimming pool and nice landscaping. Also, there is a restaurant that sits on the grounds. The motel is stocked with plenty of info on the dells activities and restaurants. Personal favorite was Famous Daves which is located downtown on Broadway. Just be prepared when you check in to pay your bill up front.

Crystal Thornton
Chicago, Il

Thank postalperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IndianTrailOwner, Owner at Indian Trail Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2016

Hello postalperson

Better late than never. We wanted to let you know that we appreciate you taking the time to write a review in regards to your stay with us at the Indian Trail Motel. Glad to hear that you like our retro gem place. We work very hard to make your stay comfortable. Glad you enjoyed it. Hope to seeing you soon.

Ed, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2008

Second stay in two years at the Indian Trail Motel, Wisconsin Dell, WI.
Still Great!
Clean, quiet and well maintained.
Good staff and great pools, lanscapping and location.
Better news: They have upgraded their internet (WIFI) in all areas of the motel buildings and is fast and free.
STAY HERE WHEN YOU ARE IN THE DELLS!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank td397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IndianTrailOwner, Owner at Indian Trail Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2016

Hello td397

Better late than never. We wanted to let you know that we appreciate you taking the time to write a review in regards to your stay with us at the Indian Trail Motel. Glad to hear that we have the best place to stay. We work very hard to make your stay comfortable. Glad you enjoyed it. Hope to seeing you soon.

Ed, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2008

My boyfirend and I stayed at Indian Trail for one night while in the Dells. Our room was great! It was spacious and clean.The bed was comfortable and we liked being able to park right in front of our room.

We were in a building facing the outdoor pool which looked great but we did not have time to use it. We did enjoy the indoor pool and hottub. They looked brand new. The pool and hottub had plenty of room and the temperture of both were perfect!

The overall appearance was wonderful- clean- and well kept grounds. We wish we would have had more time to enjoy the property.

The workers were kind and accommodating and seemed to care about each visitor.

The price was a deal and I would definitly stay here again and recommend the property to everyone.

Location was conviently located from downtown dells but yet far enough from the noise and craziness.

Can't wait to go back to Indian Trail!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank luggageinhand4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IndianTrailOwner, Owner at Indian Trail Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2016

Helo stillwigirl

Better late than never. We wanted to let you know that we appreciate you taking the time to write a review in regards to your stay with us at the Indian Trail Motel. Glad to hear that we are the Gem in the Dells. We work very hard to make your stay comfortable. Glad you enjoyed it. Hope to seeing you soon.

Ed, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2008

This place was perfect for our family trip. The rates were low and they have a Noah's Ark package (four free tickets with two nights stay). Going here was like stepping back in time, in a good way. The room, including the bathroom, was super clean. The indoor and outdoor pools were nice. I even used the laundry facilities and they were clean and cheap. The only complaint is that our AC unit in our room produced a very musty smell. We only needed to run it at night, so it wasn't a big problem. You do have to drive through downtown to get here. That can be a plus or minus depending on how you look at it. We enjoyed it, because we wanted to spend some time downtown anyway. Staying here allowed us to spend money on activities and great food.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smmtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IndianTrailOwner, Owner at Indian Trail Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2016

Hello smmtravler

Better late than never. We wanted to let you know that we appreciate you taking the time to write a review in regards to your stay with us at the Indian Trail Motel. Glad to hear that you got a great deal. We work very hard to make your stay comfortable. Glad you enjoyed it. Hope to seeing you soon.

Ed, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
1.7 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#5 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
981 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#27 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
963 reviews
3.3 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#16 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Alakai Hotel and Suites
Alakai Hotel and Suites
#26 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
318 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
0.2 mi away
All Star Inn & Suites
All Star Inn & Suites
#2 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indian Trail Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indian Trail Motel

Address: 1013 Broadway, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-1607
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#4 Best Value Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#4 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#16 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range: £40 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Indian Trail Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have the Best rates and Great Hospitality in Wisconsin Dells with deals on many Attractions. Located on 11 beautiful acres of wooded area, yet within walking distance to Downtown Dells. Check us out on TripAdvisor as we are in the top 10 Best Resorts in Wisconsin Dells. Indian Trail Motel is a great place for your next Wisconsin Dells Lodging place. We are one of the most pleasant, unique, and peaceful places to stay in the Dells. We take pride in our work and strive to make sure you will enjoy your stay ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Indian Trail Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indian Trail Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Indian Trail Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing