We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Part of a family tradition slipping away...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Baker's Sunset Bay Resort
Ranked #12 of 74 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Jordan, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Part of a family tradition slipping away...”
Reviewed 14 June 2012 via mobile

We absolutely adore Baker's Sunset Bay Resort. We have been coming every year since my son was an infant. This year marks the first summer we will take our annual Dels trip and not stay at Bakers due to using costs. We stay weekdays to save money, and typically you could get a basic room for under $80 weekday, until this year. Part of visiting the dells requires a attraction budget and our lodging took a big increase so we were forced to shop around. We will miss staying so much look forward to coupon offers, etc. to make the basic weekday rooms more competitive.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MNRiverValleyLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DawnBaker, Owner at Baker's Sunset Bay Resort, responded to this review, 16 June 2012
In early June our rates start at $78 per night! Perhaps our regular rooms were already booked and we just had the larger, more expensive, suites available for when you wanted to come?
Don't give up on us! Please give us a call again, we hope to be able to work with you. (The last couple weeks in August are lower rates, too.)
Dawn Baker
Owner / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    184
    60
    29
    19
See reviews for
349
111
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dixon, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We just got back today from an all-too-short trip to the Dells where we stayed at Sunset Bay for 2 nights. We had a basic double room but I also upgraded to the lakeside view and am so glad I did. The kids were able to go down to the beach and playground and we could watch them from the balcony - great after driving all afternoon when they want to burn off energy and we wanted to relax. Both pools were great but I think the kids preferred the indoor one with the slides.

There is just a nice, relaxed family feel to the whole place. I felt safe letting the kids do their own thing (finding shells on the beach thrilled them) without worrying. The bed was a little soft for my taste, but that's not the resort's issue. Dawn and the staff were all extremely nice and helpful. The package with the waterpark/theme park tickets and restaurant gift certificates was a great bargain and we made the most of it. The room was clean and we had no problems with noise even though there were rooms above and below us. It just felt like a big family neighborhood the whole time. We are looking forward to coming back - I really want to try kayaking! :) Thanks Dawn and everyone who works so hard to keep this place family friendly.

Room Tip: Definitely get a lakeside room if you have kids! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ldymacbeth89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DawnBaker, Owner at Baker's Sunset Bay Resort, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
We are so happy you had a great time at Sunset Bay and that you shared your experience on Tripadvisor. Thank you for that, we appreciate it.
Your review is exactly how we try to make our place feel. I couldn't have said it better. Family friendly and everyone smiling! We hope to see you again soon.
Dawn Baker
Owner/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lonsdale, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Our stay at Bakers Sunset Resort was wonderful! We got one of the Crowd Cut deals with the restaurant voucher and a Theme Park voucher. Check in was very easy and simply. I upgraded the room for an additional cost which was easy and welcomed.
The second day my wife noticed that the deal included Theme park vouchers, and she misread it to think it was for the water park. She spoke to the owner (who was always available it seemed) and found out that it was completely OUR mistake, but the owner gave her a deal on the water park tickets anyways. She did not have to do that. But it was so very much appreciated. We loved our stay, and already want to book for next year, or if the Lord wills it, this year again. :) Thank you again for the great time and hospitality.

Room Tip: If you can manage it, I would recommend a stay in the new building, rooms O or P. It's well wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcos L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DawnBaker, Owner at Baker's Sunset Bay Resort, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Thank you so much for your review. You have a lovely family and we were happy to help with discounted tickets to the Waterpark. We hope to see you again!
Dawn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Countryside, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Beautiful location on the lake, lovely landscaping. Clean, comfortable room. Loved the bon fire at night. Dawn is gracious and extremely friendly staff. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marstyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbury, Minnesota, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We got the deal from Crowdcut for this resort 2nights, 4 tickets to the Kalahari indoor theme park and a gift certificate to a restaurant Marley's. We paid $10 extras per night for the lake view and it was so worth it. We could look down at the sandy beach from our balcony. I wish it were warm enough to swim but for March, it was great. My 6.5 and almost 4 years old loved their swimming pool with 2 slides. I also have noticed that later in the days younger adults were enjoying the hot tub. It is not a 5 star hotel but I will take this in a heartbeat. The staffs are very friendly and helpful. We had a little kitchenette which was very nice so that we could have a breakfast without leaving the room. Wireless Internet is always a bonus. It seems like there is everything for every age in Wisconsin dells. Don't forget to check their Information book which has coupons for the near by restaurants. will be coming back this April.

Room Tip: Some of the Second floor rooms nearby the pool has stools outside to sit so that parents can have co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hyounsoo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janesville, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We have been coming to Sunset Bay for a few years now and we absolutely love it!! Dawn and the staff are always very professional and courteous. The rooms are always nice and clean. This last time, we stayed in the condos and they are absolutely gorgeous!!! The kids love the pool and it is SO nice for us not to have to chase them for miles and worry about them. We can all relax and just have a good time. Another bonus was the theme park tickets to Kalahari.

I can't say enough good things about this place. We will return for many years to come! Thank you to Dawn and the staff for making us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeDe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fargo, North Dakota
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Check in and out were very smooth, but checkout time is 10am? Seems fairly early, though I realize that they're a small operation, and it might take longer to get the housekeeping done. We got a package that included two nights in a jacuzzi suite with waterpark, theme park and movie tickets, champagne and chocolate and two gift certificates for Sarento's and Marley's. Good deal and still running!

The room was a bit dated, though it's obvious that the resort is updating. The hallways and main areas are clean and new. Our room was quite large, but the bathroom was small and strangely set up. The TV was small as well, but like I said, it's clear that they're updating. The staff was friendly, and housekeeping was done for us without even being asked.

Overall, I'd really love to stay again when the place is updated, and at a reasonable rate.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view... Ours was of the parking lot :/
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heb14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DawnBaker, Owner at Baker's Sunset Bay Resort, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
You are correct, we are in the process of updating our entire resort. We are looking at re-designing the Jacuzzi suites with each one having a different theme. We hope you'll come back and enjoy them again. Thank you for your review!
Sincerely,
Dawn Baker
Owner / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
2.0 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#4 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
893 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
0.9 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#19 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#14 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
660 reviews
2.4 mi away
All Star Inn & Suites
All Star Inn & Suites
#2 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
816 reviews
1.7 mi away
Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Lodge
#11 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
3,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baker's Sunset Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baker's Sunset Bay Resort

Property: Baker's Sunset Bay Resort
Address: 921 Canyon Rd, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-8471
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#11 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#12 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Baker's Sunset Bay Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful lakeside resort in Wisconsin Dells. Open year round. Peaceful and relaxing, and just minutes from all the Dells' activities. Family owned and operated, large sandy beach, free Kayaks and rowboats, nightly bonfires with entertainment, indoor pool with water slides, outdoor pool and activity pool. Brand new Canyon Condo's sleep up to 12 people with full kitchen, fireplace and 3 bedroom and 3 bath! Many packages to choose from. Downhill ski package, Romance package, Waterpark packages are just a few. You'll enjoy your stay at Baker's Sunset Bay Resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Baker's Sunset Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baker`s Sunset Bay Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Bakers Sunset Bay Hotel
Hotel Bakers Sunset Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing