We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly Recommend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baker's Sunset Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Baker's Sunset Bay Resort
Ranked #10 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Issaquah, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly Recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

We greatly enjoyed our recent stay at Baker's Sunset Bay Resort for a family reunion. The resort is conveniently located and well-maintained. The staff was pleasant and very accomodating with our special requests. The Canyon room was perfect for a gathering area which we had access to our entire stay. The condos we stayed in were clean and very comfortable. I highly recommend the Baker's Sunset Bay Resort if you are looking to stay at a location off of the main Wisconsin Dells drag.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor and our room was very quiet. You couldn't hear the neighbors at al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DChris75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    181
    60
    29
    19
See reviews for
343
109
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

I stayed here last month and immediately upon driving in, I thought the property was pretty nice. When I went to check in, they told me my price was much higher than the email confirmation I had received, one of the office women, was very rude and degrading, I don't know if the fact I was African American, had something to do with it, but it was very discouraging. They didn't have a receipt for me in the system and she kept shoving a book in my face saying "this is the accurate price, what you've been quoted is wrong". I had to pull the receipt via my phone email to prove to her the accurate amount. When I went to speak to the owner the next day, she said the worker was new and gave me a refund of one of my nights. (I checked out immediately the next morning). The rooms were OK, a bit dated, and the property was nice, a bit far from everything in the Dells, but I was very uncomfortable here.

Room Tip: I think the newer large suites are probably very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JamesonJunior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Baker's Sunset Bay Resort, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Mr. Dixon,
I am so very sorry that you had that experience at our hotel. The person that checked you in was new but that is no excuse for making you feel uncomfortable. I don't know how your rate got changed in our system and that is not something that we do. I'm sorry you left and wish we could have made your stay more of what you expected.
Sincerely,
Dawn Baker
Owner / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

Enjoyed the experience at your resort. The rooms were comfortable and spacious. Your attention to our needs for time we were there was much appreciated. Any time we had any special requests, they were granted quickly and timely. The location was just what we were looking fo. Close to the attractions, but far enough away to be quiet. We were made welcome at all times.

Room Tip: The condo units we had were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chuck C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

If you want to be away from the hustle and bustle of the Dells main drags, but near enough for convenience, and you appreciate having a beach and a view of the lake, this is a great place for you. Everyone we encountered was nice. The indoor and outdoor pools were both nice, and had good hours (7am to midnight). Free tickets to the Kalahari Indoor Theme Park (the one with a rope course and go karts -- lots of fun, but note this isn't a water park); free use of kayaks, rowboats, and ping pong. The beach is large enough for volleyball, teatherball, ping pong, with space enough for folks to just hang out or build a sand castle.
The rooms were clean, but older furnishings, appliances, and accents. The entire property either had a strong citrus smell from the cleaners they use or else a slightly musty odor, so avoid this place if you are a pregnant woman. One day it took them until after 3 to clean our room, but it got done and they left us lots of supplies.
Overall, a great stay/'value. Would go back again.

Room Tip: The king suite is where we stayed and they are all good, because they are all on the top floor with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yolandael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cascade, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

We were making our plans for our vacation and came across one of their package deals that was really appealing to us. So, I got online and made a reservation. However, about an hour after making it, I was informed by my husband that we had to cancel our plans. I called the hotel (within 2 hours) to cancel our reservation being fully aware that they could charge me $25 service fee for cancelling but being that I just made it, I was hoping they'd waive it for me...NOT ! I talked with the woman who processed my request and she told me that she would have to have the manager cancel the order the next morning. She wasn't sure if the $25 fee would be waived. 2 days later, I called back to see if it was cancelled yet and the guy said that it wasn't (which ticked me off !) but he would do it for me now. When he told me I would have to be charged the fee I explained the whole situation to him. He then said he'd waive it, so I thanked him.
Got an email this morning telling me that they charged me the $25 fee !!! I called and complained but it did no good. I was fully aware that they could charge me so It is partially my fault but to lie to me to get me off the phone was unexcusable........Will NEVER book with this place or with any other hotel that charges like this ! So make absolutely sure you want this hotel and read the fine print !!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ssjjbb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

One big problem of the Dells in WI is the huge tourist trap it is. Bakers avoids that gross over stated neon jungle. It has a nice out of the way but close to everything location. A great location to wind down after splashing through the huge nest of water parks.
The staff was helpful and fun. We were part of a huge group and we received top notch service day and night. A fun friendly security guy checked in on us.
So much fun.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EricMor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

I have nothing but praise for Dawn and the staff of Baker's Sunset. We had our family reunion for over 45 people there. We selected Baker's because it had most everything we were looking for in a resort. Foremost was a gathering room, which their Canyon room was perfect for reconnecting with family from across the country. Baker's had a good selection of accomodations for everyone. It was on Lake Dalton and away from the crowds. We spent 4 days there and the staff took care of all of our requests and always with a warm greeting and a smile. During our research for a resort, Dawn was very gracious during our visit and answered all of my emails. The family members were very pleased with our choice of the Dells and Baker's Sunset. I would highly recommend the Dells for a family reunion. It has something for everyone, from age 3 to 80. Baker's Sunset is a great place to stay and relax.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank macwi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Su...
#6 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
2.0 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#22 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#3 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center
Wintergreen Resort & Conference ...
#17 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
2.5 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#54 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
3.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#15 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baker's Sunset Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baker's Sunset Bay Resort

Property: Baker's Sunset Bay Resort
Address: 921 Canyon Rd, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-8471
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#11 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#12 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Baker's Sunset Bay Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful lakeside resort in Wisconsin Dells. Open year round. Peaceful and relaxing, and just minutes from all the Dells' activities. Family owned and operated, large sandy beach, free Kayaks and rowboats, nightly bonfires with entertainment, indoor pool with water slides, outdoor pool and activity pool. Brand new Canyon Condo's sleep up to 12 people with full kitchen, fireplace and 3 bedroom and 3 bath! Many packages to choose from. Downhill ski package, Romance package, Waterpark packages are just a few. You'll enjoy your stay at Baker's Sunset Bay Resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Baker's Sunset Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baker`s Sunset Bay Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Bakers Sunset Bay Hotel
Hotel Bakers Sunset Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing