We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem on Lake Delton”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Baker's Sunset Bay Resort
Ranked #13 of 74 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I was looking for a place for my sisters and our daughters to stay overnight in the Dells and came across Baker's Sunset Bay Resort. I called last minute and was able to get a duplex for an overnight stay on a Monday night. The duplex was roomy enough for all 6 of us and met our needs in the way of a full kitchen, fireplace, dining area, etc.

This resort had so much to offer. It has two pools, one inside, one outside, and a small kiddie water park area outdoors. It has a snack shop and videos games. But the best thing for me was it had kayaks and rowbows to use at your leisure. My sister and I took the kayaks out early in the morning and we had the whole lake to ourselves! Our group enjoyed the outdoor pool on a hot summer's day and took part in the nightly camp fire.

I would highly recommend this resort to others.

Room Tip: If you have a group coming to the Dells, I would recommend the duplex or condos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank pumpkin56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (594)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

342 - 348 of 594 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2013

Very friendly front desk staff, clean room with a mini fridge, hair dryer, and coffee maker. We got a balcony room and loved sitting there for coffee in the morning and wine in the evening. The pools were clean and pleasant and the bonfire pit was nice. The kayaks were always available for us when we wanted them, and free too! Very close to all the Dells action. You can even see the Tommy Bartlett kite man in the sky at night if you look closely!

Room Tip: The balcony rooms are worth a couple extra bucks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Philmat11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

This was our first time at Baker's Sunset Bay Resort in the Dells. We spent 4 days in August 2013 in a Queen Deluxe room. It was a clean and comfortable room. My only complaint room wise is that there is no ice machine available, you have to buy bags of ice from the front office. Keeping that much ice frozen is difficult because the freezer isn't very big, so you waste a lot.

The amenities at the hotel were wonderful. Beautiful, clean pools, lovely sandy beach, great outdoor decks and every room has a balcony or patio. Lots of barbeque grills available for use, and lots, lots, lots of toys to play with. There are plenty of children's playground type equipment setups, there's a big firepit with its own deck, and another large deck, plus the deck around the outside pool. The indoor pool also has a lovely deck area.

The waterfront has complimentary kayaks and rowboats. The kayaks were a blast to use out in the lake. The view is gorgeous. I didn't know that there was a small dock where visitors could bring their own small boats (bass boat, bowriders and the like) or we would have brought ours. We are definately planing to do that next time, and there will be a next time.

Great place to stay, and very close to all of the attractions the Dells has to offer.

Room Tip: We didn't use the room service if there was any, and there is no fitness center that I know of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tami P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This was our third stay at Baker's Sunset Bay resort and we had an awesome time. We stayed in a beachfront double queen room. Our sliding patio doors opened up to a semi-private patio complete with a charcoal grill (bring your own coals and lighter). The sand started just beyond the patio and our 2 year old had a blast building and digging in the sand.

Sunset Bay is the perfect place to relax and have fun with your family. The pools, beach and sand are well-maintained. Our room had recently been remodeled and it was a nice improvement that we weren't expecting. All in all, our room was clean, comfortable and in a great location. For us, it was definitely worth the few extra bucks to get a first floor room right on the beach. The views are amazing and you have room to spread out on the patio and beach.

Mother Nature could have done a better job. It was quite cool while we were there, but we still had fun in the indoor pool and taking the rowboat out on the lake. On the plus side, the cooler temperatures were perfect for sitting around the campfire and listening to Campfire Kevin!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jb_milwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We recently stayed 2 nights in a lakefront room. It was dark and musty and the windowless bedroom smelled of urine. The bed in the living room was pretty comfortable, but smelled like old cigarette smoke. The pools were quite small, but Ok. The beach was nice. Overall Ok, but not worth the money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmyLed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Just came back from a week up in the dells. Sunset Bay Resort had it all. Beach, docks, outdoor pool, indoor pool, free kayaks and rowboats, campfire Kevin and smore's. My boys literally cried on Monday morning when we left. They even have a laundry room where guests can do laundry. Off the main strip in a nice quiet area. Great housekeeping and the staff were superb. We will be back again and again.

Room Tip: If interested, get a room facing the lake or near the outdoor pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dstarkov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The suite was perfect, very, very clean. Next to the kiddie pool, which was perfect for us. The Beach area was clean, with fine sand, and play ground equipment was old and worn, but with no big deal. The indoor pool was clean, on the smaller side, more than 20 people and it feels cramped. The snack shop is nice, but the hours are limited, All the people working there are very friendly and helpful with great advice and wonderful directions to everywhere we needed to go.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Katrina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
2 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
1.3 mi away
Alakai Hotel and Suites
Alakai Hotel and Suites
#28 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#26 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
973 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin Dells
Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin De...
#25 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
512 reviews
0.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wisconsin Dells
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wi...
#8 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baker's Sunset Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baker's Sunset Bay Resort

Address: 921 Canyon Rd, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-8471
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#11 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#12 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range: £69 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Baker's Sunset Bay Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful lakeside resort in Wisconsin Dells. Open year round. Peaceful and relaxing, and just minutes from all the Dells' activities. Family owned and operated, large sandy beach, free Kayaks and rowboats, nightly bonfires with entertainment, indoor pool with water slides, outdoor pool and activity pool. Brand new Canyon Condo's sleep up to 12 people with full kitchen, fireplace and 3 bedroom and 3 bath! Many packages to choose from. Downhill ski package, Romance package, Waterpark packages are just a few. You'll enjoy your stay at Baker's Sunset Bay Resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Baker's Sunset Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baker`s Sunset Bay Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Bakers Sunset Bay Hotel
Hotel Bakers Sunset Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing