We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sundara Inn and Spa
Ranked #33 of 74 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Sarnia, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Pure relaxation”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My wife wanted to take a babymoon and had been here before. I had never stayed at a spa before and was apprehensive when they made me sign an agreement to keep silent in common areas of the spa. But now I'm a believer. After a massage or two and the cleansing circuit I've never felt better. Nice big rooms, friendly staff and a great location in the woods has me looking forward to my next trip back here. It might be a while though because they don't allow children.

Room Tip: rooms on the front have a screened in porch
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tcoleman15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    117
    64
    45
    40
See reviews for
45
227
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I spent all weekend here and it was just pure relaxation! They offer such wonderful options from products to spa services. Our room was amazing, and the scenery was exquisite! Everything they offer is pretty much natural and or organic as far as food and products go. It was an absolutely unforgettable experience! Prepare to spend lots of money though...

Green Features: For all the money we spend there I feel like a portion of it should go to some kind of benefit for wildlife. I'm sure there's a very good charitable program that Sundara could easily donate to. They can also sell natural products that donate some of their profits to benefit our environment.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago, IL
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Spent one night and really enjoyed. Rooms are amazing. Pool area very small but not many guests at hotel. Very clean and great location. Perfect for jogging or walking. I would definitely
stay again. If you want a relaxing stay in the Dells, this is the place.

Green Features: No thoughts on this practice. I don't have any opinion.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chicagofamily04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WI
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I booked a luxury suite at this hotel for a friend's bachelorette party. The whole party loved this place. The staff were friendly and answered any questions we had. The stay included unlimited use of the bath ritual. We had access to the bath ritual from 8 am when the spa opened, to 9pm when the spa closed. Breakfast was included, which was an extensive all you can eat buffet of breakfast items. Juice, water, coffee milk and tea were also included. Sundara is part of the Wilderness resort, so we had access and free shuttle to all of their water parks. We were allowed to bring our own food and drink into the room. We did not touch the mini fridge in the room since there was a seal on the fridge. If the seal was broken, you would be charged for the items in the fridge. The snacks on the counter were the same. If they were opened or missing, the resort charged the price to the room. We used a cooler to keep our food and beverages cold. The walls were sound proof. There were two floors to the luxury suite and two separate bathrooms. The bathroom was furnished by Kohler. A king size feather bed was on each floor, and there was a screened porch and sitting room with a fireplace. There was a huge whirlpool tub in the middle of the room on the first floor, with a curtain that could be pulled for privacy when using the bathroom. Plush robes and sandals were laid out for use during the length of our stay. There was complimentary turn down service. We had to ask the front desk for the kitchen to bring us ice. There were no ice machines. In the spa itself, everyone was provided with a scrub to apply and wash off with the shower they have in the spa. Then you go into a steam room to sweat our your toxins. After sweating, you take a cool shower to rinse off, then you go into the hot tub infused with aromatherapy oils, then into a cold plunge pool. Cool compresses were provided, along with towels, sandals, a locker and a robe. Swimsuits were required. The spa bath ritual was coed. After relaxing with the bath ritual, there was a quiet room that provided fruit, granola, lemon lime water, coffee and different kinds of tea. The pool was located right outside of the quiet room. An outdoor bar provided alcoholic beverages for extra charge right next to the pool. Overall we had a real relaxing girls night. I would love to stay here again.

Room Tip: Our suite was on the 3rd floor and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcpjewels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed for our wedding anniversary. The room itself looked nice and relaxing. I was hoping for ice. There was no way to get ice at 10:00 pm after the kitchen closed. That is really bizarre to me. I did not like having to walk out of my room at 7:00 am and walk down in my robe from the third floor to get breakfast only served on the second floor. That also was bizarre. As far as the massage and body wrap, they were excellent. But I must say that the most disgusting thing to me which was a huge turn off was all the mildew everywhere. There was mildew in the shower area near the ceiling in our room. There was mildew under the water pillows in the whirlpool. There was mildew on the ceilings in the bath ritual room. There was mildew all over the steam room. There has to be a better way to clean the bath ritual areas at night when the guests are sleeping. There has to be better attention to the guest rooms when cleaning other than just spray and wipe down. it made me think about how clean other areas of the room and spa areas were not maintained. so, mixed reviews.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank mollybemine p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We went for a girls weekend. 3 night stay. Definitely my only choice to stay at in the Dells! SO RELAXING! Loved the spa ritual which is included with your stay. The room was gorgeous. We had a king with a pull out bed. HUGE bathroom with jacuzzi tub and huge shower. Incredibly roomy, separate couch and 2 chair sitting area. Definitely a suite! DVD players in room, bring your own movies!! The screened in porch was heaven! Breakfast is included better than your average breakfast at hotels but not super fancy. Granola and fruit is set throughout the spa all day. Tea and infused waters are also readily available. The money is well worth it. The pool is gorgeous, fun to eat apps and have a drink at the pool's edge. Everyone wears a spa provided bathroom all weekend. You can make the trip extremely expensive or reasonable depending upon how many services you have done. Massages and facials are awesome. I would skip the manicure and pedicures, they seemed to be pretty ordinary. Free shuttle to their other property, Wilderness. The beds are very nice and comfortable, and nightly turn-down service is provided. I loved it, cannot wait to go back!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mindy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, WI
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Checked in with another couple for a weekend getaway. Marketing department does a nice job so the place is really publicized and the buzz is generally positive. When considering "where to stay" in the dells, the options are plentiful and growing… but most come with a lot of families and noise. This place attempts to be the exception… and succeeds when it comes to children but falls short in exclusivity and tranquility (compared to what they push for).

As you can read in any review (and find out for yourself by just clicking on the link to make a reservation) it isn't cheap to stay there. But it isn't ludicrous if you compare it to similar properties elsewhere in Wisconsin or across the border in Illinois. Tends to be the going rate. When you check in, you are kindly met by their attentive staff who generally have your information ready. The odd part (and what you really need to know) is you also fill out code of conduct agreements. Both parties. Signed and dated. Such things as not using electronics in public spaces (e-readers are ok - but these days the line between an e-reader and a tablet or a phone really doesn't exist). They also really push hushed tones in common areas.

Your room comes with unlimited use of the spa areas including the pool/hottub/bath area (more on this in a bit) plus a breakfast buffet. Most everything else has a price. Again, this isn't abnormal for these types of properties. The property itself is set away from other parts of the dells, but really doesn't have a HUGE swath of land so your serene nature experience is more "trees around a property" than anything else.

The spa is good. Prices are predictably expensive but the staff professional and the facilities adequate. In addition to the hotel guests, they cater to other groups that want to spa together. While this is common, the relative size of the pool and common areas create quite a crowd during peak times. Chairs are hard to come by and the pool area isn't what I would call a serene place to relax. It more feels like a pool at a place that doesn't have kids. Plenty of big groups walking around, talking, relaxing and drinking. Which is completely fine. But let's cut the "no electronics" schtick and stop pretending somehow everyone there is going to meditate.

We chose not to eat after reading some average reviews on the food. We did have breakfast the first morning and it was passable as a buffet at any chain hotel. Buffet eggs. Buffet french toast. Buffet fruit. Any full-service chain hotel would likely have an eggs-to-order station which would be a nice alternative and given the cost… maybe expected by some. It also takes place in the 2nd floor hallway. We were on the 3rd floor so I can't say from experience, but I would have been disappointed to hear the clanging of dishes in the morning outside of my room starting at 7 am. But, no one would be checking their email as they walked by… so we would have that going for us.

I really did enjoy the "bath ritual" which takes from a lot of tenets from various traditional "bath" experiences… exfoliation, steam, rinse, hot/cold alternation… to create a pretty relaxing ritual. The spa areas were clean but not immaculate or spectacular. In general we found everyone to be pretty mindful of the rules… but I think people there for the day spa may not be as excited about the quiet nature of things like the steam room. So it was part relaxing/part catching up on stranger's lives. I hope Steve and Cindy work things out, btw.

The rooms were well appointed for a hotel - not huge but we didn't plan on any big events, so the space was adequate for two people to be comfortable. Who knew sitting in a shower could be a relaxing activity? But it is. So take a seat and turn on the jets. If you get a jacuzzi room you also have plenty of water options there. What is it missing? Not really missing - but a nice balcony out back would be nice. Also, the feather bed and feather pillows seem like a great idea when you jump in, but create a warm environment which can make for an uncomfortable wake-up. Similar properties also offer different pillows depending on personal preference. Me? I'm a stiff pillow kind of guy. My "sleep number" was different than the feather beds - so getting back home was a nice way to rest.

The car service to local establishments was good… but they do limit it to Wilderness properties (which isn't mentioned anywhere that we read). Maybe it is just a peak season thing? Either way - that does make it pretty limited. We used it once and they were wonderful. I think if we would have asked him nicely, he would have driven us to Chicago.

Would we do it again? Maybe. Probably not if we always had to do 2 nights. Pretty unnecessary for what we really got out of it. The spa seems great for bachelorette parties or girl day getaways… which created a crowded space for people paying $300+/night to eat average eggs and not check their email.

There were also too many "little things" that you'd not expect given the price. Odd plants oddly placed in the "rotunda". Boxes just stashed under a table in a common area. Chipped paint on the walls. Really nice showers and really cheap vanity lights within feet of each other.

Schedule spa stuff ahead of time. Do the bath ritual. For some of you that sounds awesome already. So you're fine. For others, it sounds totally ridiculous. It did to me. But it really was pretty relaxing. Skip the food - find other places you'd like to eat (Del-Bar is pretty good, Fields is amazingly average).

Trip Advisor is interesting… is this "average" compared to the days inn down the street? No. It is average compared to expectations for what you'd get with a similarly priced and marketed experience.

Room Tip: The two we say were roughly the same save what amenities you pay a bit extra for when you book (room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank RedDragonThe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
1.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wisconsin Dells
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wi...
#10 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
132 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
2.4 mi away
Tamarack & Mirror Lake, a Festiva Resort
Tamarack & Mirror Lake, a Festiv...
#26 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin Dells
Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin De...
#23 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
483 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#6 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
898 reviews
0.7 mi away
Delton Grand Resort & Spa
Delton Grand Resort & Spa
#1 of 24 in Wisconsin Dells
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundara Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundara Inn and Spa

Property: Sundara Inn and Spa
Address: 920 Canyon Rd, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-8470
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#4 Spa Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#11 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sundara Inn and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 26-acre parcel is lush with sky-high pine trees and natural Wisconsin stone outcroppings. Respect for the natural resources is at the soul of Sundara's green practices. Our heated outdoor infinity edge pool, sculpted fireplace, waterfalls and curving deck connect seamlessly with the tranquil environment. The main building is representative of some of the most striking Organic-style architecture in the Midwest. Inside, the principles of Feng Shui contribute to a soothing environment. Our spa treatments incorporate the finest organic products from around the world. The Sundara Spa signature collection even draws ingredients indigenous to the area for an authentic experience. Our spa cuisine features the fruits of labor of fresh, local, seasonal ingredients. Sundara is drawn from the Sanskrit word for "beautiful." We interpret that as beauty flowing from wellness. Our carefully selected and highly trained service providers are healers at heart and passionate about their work, putting customer satisfaction at the center of all they do. Whether you choose to stay in one of our 26 elegant suites, or perhaps just linger for the day, we hope it will be a transforming experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Sundara Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundara Spa Wisconsin Dells
Sundara Hotel Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing