We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's like you've been invited to stay with family.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Black Hawk Motel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“It's like you've been invited to stay with family.”
Reviewed 28 August 2011

This place blows me away! This is a family owned motel, yet it is very evident that the ownership is committed to putting profits back in to the place. It's emaculately clean, the service is better than any of the big money resorts, and it's constantly getting updated. There are apparently HUNDREDS of families who have been coming here for generations. Oh, and it's really quiet too!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monkeypoopfight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,209
    244
    40
    11
    2
See reviews for
845
392
23
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2011

This was our second trip of many more to come. The place is spotless. The beds are comfortable. We loved the pools. My 8 and 11 year old grand daughters loved both pools and the diving board. We had to cancel an earlier visit planned for this summer and we were not charged the cancellation fee. The place is just great The owners and staff are all very friendly and helpful. Again can't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 29jean1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugo, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2011

I was hoping for a nice quite family type of place to bring f my family too. This was diffently it. The rooms were neat and clean and the service great. The outdoor pool was the place to be during the the sunny days and when the it rained the indoor pool filled the bill. After a day of running around it was nice to come back to our comfortable room and relax. We are planning to come back here next year

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank masade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fall River, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Once again, TripAdvisor to the rescue! We (myself, husband,15-year-old son and 15-year-old nephew) were able to score cheap airfare to Milwaukee (Southwest, $158 round trip) so a summer trip to the Dells was in order. The Black Hawk came highly recommended, so I booked it. I spoke with Brad and he could not have been more accommodating with our booking. He even called me back to confirm that he e-mailed my confirmation and to make sure it went through!

We stayed in rooms 29 and 30, two queens (Room 29) and a king (Room 30). Like many reviewers have said-and I want to stress this as well-the hotel is DATED, but not OUTDATED. This hotel has been around since 1945 and the grounds and the rooms are SPOTLESS, rivaling or surpassing much newer facilities. Our room-30-had a flat screen TV, DVD player and a huge bathroom (Room 30 is also handicap-accessible). There were folks around constantly cleaning the place. It is obvious the owners take great pride in their property and take their #1 TripAdvisor standing very seriously.

I also cannot stress what a great location the Black Hawk is if you want to take in the downtown Dells area. The downtown district is about five blocks walking distance. We were there at least once a day. I know if we stayed in one of the waterpark resorts out on the Parkway we might never have made it to downtown, thus missing out on the true Dells experience.

The Black Hawk also provides you with a very valuable commodity upon check-in-the Wisconsin Dells Fun Card, with multiple BOGO deals on food and attractions. You get one card per room, so since we had two rooms, we got two cards. This card is a MUST HAVE and saves you quite a bit of money. We never would have gone to all the attractions we went to but for the Fun Card. Make sure you ask about it upon booking!

All in all, we were very impressed and pleased with the Black Hawk and the Dells in general. We would stay in this property again without any hesitation!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Southcoaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentwood, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

At first I was put off by the appearance but hat feeling quickly went away. The owner was very friendly and gave us food suggestions, even for our late arrival. We also received coupons for attractions and for the restaurant Mimi's American Grill just a short walk across the street (also good). The room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable, nice to flop into after a long day of going out. The bathtub was kind of small but it was enough for a shower. We checked out the outdoor pool quickly, which was a decent size and a good temperature, but didn't hit the indoor pool. The motel had reserved parking for the rooms. This was very convenient, especially since our room was next to the main road (not noisy either). It was a short walk from downtown Dells but enough out of the way so that you don't hear people all night long. The price was also great! I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MegaPaopu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2011

It was once again another great stay at the Blackhawk motel. The rooms were clean, roomy and just what someone needs when on vacation. What is so interesting is when you meet other people who have also been coming to the same motel for years. That speaks volumes when you have guests returning each year and vowing not to stay anywhere but the Blackhawk. We are already looking forward to next year!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siracusa0714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gahanna, Ohio
Level Contributor
62 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Just a great place to stay. Very clean. Change from the normal hotels. Will go back and stay there again. Kids loved it. Very close to downtown. We walked to downtown. Can not say enough about this place. Just a great family who run it and want to make you happy.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paqman69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#3 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
986 reviews
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Su...
#6 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
818 reviews
1.9 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#54 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#15 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
594 reviews
1.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#22 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
360 reviews
0.2 mi away
All Star Inn & Suites
All Star Inn & Suites
#2 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Hawk Motel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hawk Motel & Suites

Property: Black Hawk Motel & Suites
Address: 720 Race St, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-1612
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#1 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#4 Best Value Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Hawk Motel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Rooms NOW NEWLY RENOVATED. Receive FREE Wet and Dry Parks! All guests receive FREE Waterpark pass admission to Noah's Ark - America's Largest Waterpark (Memorial Day - Labor Day) & Kalahari Indoor (dry) Theme Park (all year). Choose from 29 different room types, from budget to family, suites and whirlpools rooms, kitchenettes and vacation homes. Plush Beds, fridge, microwave, in-room coffee, hairdryer, and reserved parking for all rooms. Heated Indoor pool w/ slide & hot tub, sauna open until 11:30 pm each night. Heated outdoor pool w/ slides, 2 playgrounds, grills, coin operated laundry, and Retro Arcade w/ Billiards, Donkey Kong, Ms. Pac Man and other classic games. Located just 4 blocks from downtown Wisconsin Dells. Receive multiple coupons for area attractions and restaurants. We are family owned & operated since 1945, we look forward to accommodating you and your family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Black Hawk Motel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Hawk Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Hawk Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing