We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great time!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Black Hawk Motel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
“Great time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

We met our kids and grandchild (2.5 yo) for a quick vacation. It was perfect, they have an outdoor and indoor pool just in case of bad weather. The rooms are very clean and everybody was overly nice. What a fun weekend! We didn't want to stay at a mega hotel and this was perfect for us. Ma and Pa place with everybody having fun!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billstephens55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,211
    244
    40
    11
    2
See reviews for
847
392
23
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

My wife, toddler and I stayed at the Black Hawk Motel late August. I've been coming to the Dells since the mid 70's as a child, and this place brings me back to 1984". Everything about this property is in tip top shape and clean, clean, clean! There are no musty smells, cigarette burns, and broken tiles that you might expect to find in an old school motel of this sort. They have manged to keep things current while not loosing the nostalgic charm of this place. From the quaint pool to the game room equipped with Donkey Kong, Pin Ball, and Mrs. Pacman I was taken back. Truly a gem.

If you are a corporate sales puke and find solace in staying at the Hilton Garden or Mariott Courtyard, you may not get it. But if you're like many Americans who long to remember what if felt like yesteryear, I think you will love the Black Hawk.

Room Tip: Away from the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmidor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

This motel is not fancy by any means BUT it is clean and pleasant and friendly. My husband and two children can spend the night for around $60 a night. We live in SD but travel home to NY three times a year. Our favorite night of the two 1/2 trip is our stay at the Dells. In any season! It's become a family tradition for us. We always look forward to our time there. An extra bonus is that there's a great italian restaurant in town. Carvelli's 505 Broadway

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
239 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in August 2011. There were 2 adults and 1 child in a room with a king bed and a rollaway. We were quite comfortable. The room was very clean. The bathroom had a good amount of room. My daughter enjoyed the indoor pool especially the small slide.

The motel is a motor inn with exterior hallways and entrances. We liked the location. It was a nice 5 or 6 block walk downtown. It was close enough to walk there easily and far enough to be quiet. The rate was very reasonable as well.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LissaJ41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Spent 4 nights here, clean rooms, grounds and friendly helpful staff. Owners are on premises and very helpful in answering your questions. Both pools and hot tubs clean. Children play areas clean and several things for them to do.
Easy walk to downtown, and family restaurants very near by. We all enjoyed and will return. Great Value, and micro, and fridge were a big benefit. Mattresses are better than home.

Room Tip: Rms near entrance would be noiser as all coming into drive and checking in must pass this spot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy4325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mentor, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

This was our second stay at the Back Hawk Motel, a 1-night stop-over on our drive to Minneapolis. Very pleased with the room, facilities, and staff. A nice, clean, comfortable place to stay. Would also be nice for families with kids, having a nice playground and both an indoor and outdoor pool. Both stays, we had a room with a fridge and microwave.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

My Canadian friend and I toured Wisconsin over Labor Day weekend and we very pleased with the service we received at Black Hawk Motel. We were greeted with friendly staff and shown on a map where everything was around the motel and even Wisconsin Dells. Our parking spot was about three feet from the door of our room which was extremely convenient (some motels had made us walk quite some distance with all of our stuff). The location is perfect--right off of Broadway Street (the main strip). They were even nice enough to let us keep our car there for a few hours while we explored downtown AFTER we checked out. The room are a bit dated--but not bad in any way--retro at worst. The owners obviously care very much about the experience that customers have--I even saw an employee sweeping the areas around the motel. Very nice bed. Free ice. Sauna, whirlpool, hot tubs, indoor/outdoor pools, playground, this place has it all. We even received a Dells Fun Card (buy one get one deals) and saved $25 off an Upper Dells Boat Tour! If you are looking for a superior service, accommodation, and a wonderful family-run business, I cannot recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: We used the
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steeljef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#3 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Su...
#5 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
1.9 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#54 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
3.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#15 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
1.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#23 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.2 mi away
All Star Inn & Suites
All Star Inn & Suites
#2 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
5.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Hawk Motel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hawk Motel & Suites

Property: Black Hawk Motel & Suites
Address: 720 Race St, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-1612
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#1 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#4 Best Value Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Hawk Motel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Rooms NOW NEWLY RENOVATED. Receive FREE Wet and Dry Parks! All guests receive FREE Waterpark pass admission to Noah's Ark - America's Largest Waterpark (Memorial Day - Labor Day) & Kalahari Indoor (dry) Theme Park (all year). Choose from 29 different room types, from budget to family, suites and whirlpools rooms, kitchenettes and vacation homes. Plush Beds, fridge, microwave, in-room coffee, hairdryer, and reserved parking for all rooms. Heated Indoor pool w/ slide & hot tub, sauna open until 11:30 pm each night. Heated outdoor pool w/ slides, 2 playgrounds, grills, coin operated laundry, and Retro Arcade w/ Billiards, Donkey Kong, Ms. Pac Man and other classic games. Located just 4 blocks from downtown Wisconsin Dells. Receive multiple coupons for area attractions and restaurants. We are family owned & operated since 1945, we look forward to accommodating you and your family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Black Hawk Motel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Hawk Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Hawk Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing