We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Old School Motel is....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Black Hawk Motel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 76 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“This Old School Motel is....”
Reviewed 1 August 2012

so old its NEW!!! By that I mean it brings me back to a much simpler time in life. When I would go on vacation with my parents, Aunts, Uncles and cousins and we would stay in these types of motels in the 70's. In Chicago there is a lounge near downtown called the Motel Bar that tries to bring back the aura of the classic motels in the hey day. Black Hawk Motel is very nostalgic to me and not run down, the property has been maintained very well. Actual keys for the room doors not electronic passes. I have not seen an actual key for a motel/hotel door in...years. Screen doors on your hotel room...REALLY?!?..and they operate perfect..just Classic! I will definitely return BUT next time I am trying to encourage any of my sisters and brother with their children. Just like we did back in the day.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NWN100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
We've had many of our guests tell us that we bring back memories of their childhood, before any of the chain hotels existed on every major exit. In fact, some of our guests have booked at the mega waterpark resorts and a day or two by us because they want their kids to have the "motel experience". Earlier this summer, I mentioned to a guest that we will eventually be changing over to electronic locks and he stated that doing this would take away from the "retro feel". My parents choose to put screen doors on all the rooms years ago in order to help keep the flys out and the cool air from the ac in...and they have held up well over time. Thanks for taking the time to write us a review and we hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,624 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,309
    258
    44
    11
    2
See reviews for
934
410
25
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2012 via mobile

Just stayed in a nice jacuzzi suite for the same as a plain Jane room would have cost at any major chain. Room was clean, cool, and very comfy. Parking right at the door. Was worried because ice machine was right outside our room but couldn't hear it even when I knew it was being used (my hubby). In a town where it looked like the majority of rooms were at hese types of places, felt nicely quaint!

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CoachLissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to write us a review and for choosing to stay with us over one of the many chains in the area. We're glad that you enjoyed one of our jacuzzi suites and found your stay to be a quiet one. We are located on a residential street, so we're off the main road, yet close enough for a short walk to the downtown area. We hope you can get away this fall sometime during Sunday thru Thursday as we offer our jacuzzi blowout which starts our jazuzzi suites at $69 per night, our upgrade to our balcony suites for $79. We hope to see you soon and have a great rest of the summer! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Small motel with great rooms and the staff at the front desk are nice and welcoming. Was pleasantly surprised with their good service. Both indoor and outdoor pools and two hot tubs. If you're not looking for a waterpark resort I will definitely recommend black hawk motel. They even gave us free passes for a waterpark at a different hotel which was great.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandyatui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Thanks so much for writing us a review. It makes our day to read that you had a great stay with us! We pride ourself on treating our guests like a customer and not a number and we enjoy all the wonderful people that we have met in this business. We have 75 units total, which consists of 30 different room types, so be sure and check our website for one of our many lodging options. Have a great rest of the summer and we hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Black hawk is the ONLY place we'll stay! It's amazingly clean, not only the rooms, pools but the grounds as well! The owners and staff make you feel like your visiting old friends. Perfect for just sitting by the pool relaxing or doing activities in the dells. So safe the kids can play on the grounds without fear, you can leave pool toys, coolers etc. outside of room! You'll never stay anywhere else again!

Room Tip: For families certain rooms are connecting, the room numbers 46-57 are right by the pool & play g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Hello Linda, It was great to see you and your family last week and also great to see that you have wrote us a review and also posted a photo. Glad that everyone had decent weather for getting some R & R by the outdoor pool. I always like when you come into our office to check in and say "honey...I am home". It's is great to hear that and see you and your family. Accommodating all of you and our many other repeat guests and the wonderful new guests that we meet, makes our job easy! Have a great rest of the summer and we'll have your table and chaise lounges by the pool reserved for you next summer. Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPLS
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

It is much cheaper to go directly thru the motel for reservations. I just made short term reservations today (for tomorrow) and all the online 3rd party sites stated they were sold out and much more expensive. I called today, $70 a night for a room with 2 beds. I have stayed here several time in the past, and it is the only place that my son and I stay now. We do a yearly trip together to the Dells. No mom, just the two of us and this place is the best bang for your buck out there. The only complaint I have in 3 years, is we had a musty smelling a/c one time. My son swears he couldn't smell anything. Other than that, perfect. You will not be disappointed. I really look forward to going there tomorrow!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haug0099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Thank you very much for writing us a review and more importantly, becoming one of our many valued repeat guests. Our budget friendly Queen and Twin motel room is a popular choice for 2-3 guests who want to save a bit, but still want two beds. Almost always the best rates can be found by booking directly with us as no high commission rates are factored into the room rate. Booking with us direct also will provide the best selection of room rates and availability. Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to see you again next summer! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Check in was fast and friendly! We parked in front of our room and unloaded with no problem. The rooms are clean and the beds are comfy b/c they have new mattresses. We were able to sit outside at night and look at the moon and stars. The two pools are clean. The arcade has some old school arcade games and I was excited to play my galaga for .25! The Black Hawk was the first part of our vacation and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Hello Kim, It's great to hear that you had a nice stay with us. Sounds like you appreciated your reserved parking right out in front of your room, as each room requires a parking permit and has reserved parking. This was my Dad's idea back in the late 80's and it's been very popular with our guests ever since. Glad you found our 80's Retro Arcade and spent some quarters on the classic game....Galaga! Thanks for writing us a review and we hope to accommodate you again this fall or next spring / summer! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware Road-Tripping Family
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Just got back from the Black Hawk. Stayed in room 24 on the front end of our trip. When our trip to the Dells was unexpectedly extended by a day, we were lucky to snag room 44 for the last day of our trip. Rooms were larger than expected (no tripping over the rollaway) and amazingly clean. But, the old-fashioned family atmosphere won us over the most. . Kids thought the outdoor pool rocked (diving board!). Dad liked the sauna, the great customer service, and the cheap price. I liked the long pool hours (11:30pm closing!) & the designated parking space for each room. We all liked the lawn chairs outside the room. Location was great - about 6 blocks off of the downtown strip on the quiet end of town. It was interesting to watch the hotel workers spring into action each morning cleaning the pool, painting, watering, trash pickup, etc. It was easy to see that they take pride in this motel complex. Very happy with our stay & would definitely book it again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DEVikingsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us on the start and end of your vacation. It's great to hear that we provided a comfortable stopping point for you and your family during each stay. Our diving board is very popular with our guests as it's one of the last remaining ones in the Wisconsin Dells area. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed both your rooms. We are going to remodel room #44 this winter along with a few more rooms, so if you ever get back to the Dells we would love to accommodate you in this room so you can see the new look. I and our entire staff really appreciate when our guests notice the pride we take in our entire property. I have passed your comments on to them as well. Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review and have a wonderful rest of the summer! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
1.6 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#5 of 76 in Wisconsin Dells
936 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
2.3 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#25 of 76 in Wisconsin Dells
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#16 of 76 in Wisconsin Dells
704 reviews
2.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wisconsin Dells
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wi...
#10 of 76 in Wisconsin Dells
139 reviews
1.9 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#58 of 76 in Wisconsin Dells
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Hawk Motel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hawk Motel & Suites

Property: Black Hawk Motel & Suites
Address: 720 Race St, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-1612
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#1 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Best Value Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Hawk Motel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Rooms NOW NEWLY RENOVATED. Receive FREE Wet and Dry Parks! All guests receive FREE Waterpark pass admission to Noah's Ark - America's Largest Waterpark (Memorial Day - Labor Day) & Kalahari Indoor (dry) Theme Park (all year). Choose from 29 different room types, from budget to family, suites and whirlpools rooms, kitchenettes and vacation homes. Plush Beds, fridge, microwave, in-room coffee, hairdryer, and reserved parking for all rooms. Heated Indoor pool w/ slide & hot tub, sauna open until 11:30 pm each night. Heated outdoor pool w/ slides, 2 playgrounds, grills, coin operated laundry, and Retro Arcade w/ Billiards, Donkey Kong, Ms. Pac Man and other classic games. Located just 4 blocks from downtown Wisconsin Dells. Receive multiple coupons for area attractions and restaurants. We are family owned & operated since 1945, we look forward to accommodating you and your family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Black Hawk Motel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Hawk Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Hawk Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing