We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Black Hawk Motel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 75 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Was very pleased with our rooms (1 King and 1 Queen/Twin). Both were clean and comfortable. Granddaughter loved the play area, pools and game room. Staff was wonderful and the Chula Vista passes were a hit. Plan to come back "off season' for another great adventure

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Thanks so much for your review! We're happy to hear that the two budget rooms that you had provided clean and comfortable accommodations. These two room types are in our two story building near the main road and they have some of the smallest bathrooms of all our 30 different room types, but the room rates on these rooms is less and that helps our guests save more to do the attractions and dining out. We hope to see you this fall when our off season rates kick in after Labor Day. Thanks again and have a great end to the summer! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,305
    256
    44
    11
    2
See reviews for
931
408
25
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Adrian, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed at this motel from August 7th to August 15th. We had a regular room but it had a refrigerator and microwave. The property is very well maintained and the rooms are clean with very comfortable beds and it was quiet. It is in a good location just outside of the town and close to everthing. The staff was friendly and the housekeeping was very good. We would stay here again!

Room Tip: Rooms in the main motel area might have better WiFi spped. We were in an area across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharronn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review and for choosing to stay with us! We're happy to hear that you had a great stay and I'll be sure and pass your comments on to our staff at our next team meeting. It makes our day when a guest tells us that they had a comfortable and quiet night of sleep. Seeing that the heart of our wi fi is in the building of our office, I do feel that the wi fi is a bit faster the closer one is to the office area. It is something that I will be looking into so we can improve the wi fi speed and hopefully make it the same over our entire property. Thanks again and have a great fall / winter season and we hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ames, I
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Just stayed at Blackhawk Motel but in their two bedroom, two bath house for five of us. It was very clean and lots of room especially with a full kitchen it allows you to cook a couple meals there if you wish. Within walking distance of the strip which makes it very nice. Hope to get back to the area someday and would definitely stay there again. Thanks for making our stay very enjoyable! Good luck with all your expansion plans.
-Cindy from Iowa.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Hello Cindy, It was a great pleasure to accommodate the five of you in our very popular two bedroom house. At over 1300 sq. ft, w/ a huge kitchen and two baths...we're glad that you found it to be ample room for everyone. This is such a popular room that we have thoughts of adding a few more similar houses like this...perhaps a 3 bedroom house. Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review and for staying with us and also for your wishes on our planned expansion! Have a great end of the summer and we hope you can make it back to see us soon! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horicon, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

This was the third year in a row that we stayed at the Blackhawk and we had a great time as usual. The (third generation) owners are super friendly and take exceptional care of this motel. Room was very, very clean as were the grounds, indoor and outdoor pools, gameroom, lobby--you get the idea, all of it is very well maintained. This motel is just far enough from all the hustle and bustle of the Dells, but close enough that you can walk to the main strip for shopping, food, and more. The motel has a wonderful retro feel to it. You park right in front of your room and right outside your door are two lawn chairs you can relax and unwind on... just like the motels of years ago. And from many of these rooms, you have a very short walk to the super clean and inviting pool. And every morning Brad will greet you in the lobby with a smile as he brews up fresh free coffee in the lobby. Take a moment to talk to him and gets tips on what to do and where to eat as being third generation in the family business and living in the Dells, he knows what's up and won't steer you wrong. Tina, Brad's wife, shares the duties with him and together they know how to make you feel welcome. Oh, don't forget to get your free waterpark passes to Chula Vista and some other great deals they will hook you up with. Not only do you stay first class in this vintage gem for a reasonable price, they help you stretch your vacation dollars. You cannot go wrong staying here!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Hi Steve, Thank you for taking the time to write us a detailed review about us and your recent stay. As you know I did grow up in the business and both Tena and I were both born and raised in Wisconsin Dells. My grandparents started the business in 1945 and in 1959 my parents took over and ran the family business for the next 44 years. We now run the family business and my Dad is still here to tell us history of the business and the Wisconsin Dells, which I enjoy telling our guests when they inquire. It was great to see you, Karen and the kids again this August and thanks for the munchies! We hope to see you again for the summer of 2013, perhaps in one of our kitchens or two bedroom units. Thanks again and have a great fall season! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We stayed in a King Jacuzzi Balcony Suite and it was absolutely wonderful. Exceeded our expectations by far. Everything was SO clean, (I think brand new, too). Within a few blocks of the strip, so walking to eat or shop was a breeze. The staff was super friendly and the extras (passport to savings/chula vista passes) made it even better. We plan to return to this motel soon. :-)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angbeth21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Thank you for your review! It sounds like you had a great time in one of our newly remodeled king bed whirlpool suites w/ balcony. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we exceeded your expections! Our good friend friend "Chet the tile guy" recommended that we install a stand up shower w/ glass doors, because he said he could do some awesome tile work w/ shampoo nook and bench and it turned out great! Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to see you perhaps in the spring or fall for a weekday getaway when we run a special on these rooms for $79 per night. Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apple Valley, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Had Fun, Room Excess was great, Parking was close to rooms made it less worry, splash card made it fun to enter attractions 2 for 1 wow can't beat that. close to all attractions, delivery on some food made late night out a cinch.

Room Tip: seem like smaller rooms have better A/C
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this review, 18 August 2012
We're glad you enjoyed your stay! Our reserved parking right at your door is a popular hit with all our guests and parking permits are required for our guests convenience. We're 90% ground level, so getting pizza or any other delivery is quick and easy on the delivery drivers. Many of our rooms have new AC's and the smaller the room, the less cubic feet to cool and we like to cool the rooms like an ice box if a guest desires. Thanks for taking the time to write us a review and we hope to see you again soon! Have a great end to the summer! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

This is our third stay, and each time has been wonderful. The property is well kept and the family enjoys both indoor and outdoor pools. The fridge, microwave, and DVD player in our rooms were a plus. Prices are reasonable, too. We loved getting waterpark passes and the discounts to many attractions. We'll be back again next year!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Georgia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
Thank you for your review! We always try our best to never disappoint...because honestly...if a guest is disappointed in their stay or our service...we are disappointed. We want all of our guests to have the most enjoyable time possible and build and hold the best memories with their friends and loved ones. We're always looking at ways to improve our guests stay, while adding more value. It's great to hear that you enjoyed the water park passes! Next year if you think you want the same room, just let us know and we'll see if we can accommodate you! Thanks and have a great rest of the summer! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
1.6 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#6 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
934 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
3.3 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#16 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#23 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
948 reviews
2.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wisconsin Dells
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wi...
#10 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
136 reviews
1.9 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#58 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Hawk Motel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hawk Motel & Suites

Property: Black Hawk Motel & Suites
Address: 720 Race St, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-1612
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#1 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#3 Best Value Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Hawk Motel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Rooms NOW NEWLY RENOVATED. Receive FREE Wet and Dry Parks! All guests receive FREE Waterpark pass admission to Noah's Ark - America's Largest Waterpark (Memorial Day - Labor Day) & Kalahari Indoor (dry) Theme Park (all year). Choose from 29 different room types, from budget to family, suites and whirlpools rooms, kitchenettes and vacation homes. Plush Beds, fridge, microwave, in-room coffee, hairdryer, and reserved parking for all rooms. Heated Indoor pool w/ slide & hot tub, sauna open until 11:30 pm each night. Heated outdoor pool w/ slides, 2 playgrounds, grills, coin operated laundry, and Retro Arcade w/ Billiards, Donkey Kong, Ms. Pac Man and other classic games. Located just 4 blocks from downtown Wisconsin Dells. Receive multiple coupons for area attractions and restaurants. We are family owned & operated since 1945, we look forward to accommodating you and your family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Black Hawk Motel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Hawk Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Hawk Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing