We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Black Hawk Motel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 75 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We recently stayed at the Black Hawk for a second time recently, and again, they did not disappoint. The owners are wonderful and helpful. We stayed in rooms 61 and 62 which were adjoining rooms this time. Room 61 only came with a full bed, so we expected it to be small, and it was, but we were able to put a roll-away in it for our other son with just some rearranging of the furniture. The rooms were clean, actually spotless. This is the cleanest hotel we have ever stayed in. I truly hope the people who clean the rooms are paid well, because they deserve it. They do a stand-up job! My husband and I have decided that when we return to the Dells in the future, there will be no other place for us to stay other than the Black Hawk. My boys love the outdoor pool- mostly because they have a diving board. Quite honestly, it seemed they would rather have spent the day going off the board at the Black Hawk than at the water park we went to. I can't say enough how much we love the Black Hawk. I recommend this hotel to anyone who is going to stay in the Dells!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hawkeyemomkaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Thank you for your review and for joining our long list of repeat guests with your second visit to the Black Hawk! Glad to hear that the adjoining rooms #61 and #62 worked out well for you and your family! I am proud to say that we pay our housekeeping staff very well...and they definitely deserve it! According to others I have talked to and research I have done...we are one of the best paying employers for housekeeping in the area....and I wouldn't have it any other way. Any potential new help that we may hire...we will state that one has to be a certain breed to do housekeeping at The Black Hawk, because it's darn hard work. Thanks again as it was great to see you and your family again this summer and have a great winter...and we hope to see you soon! Sincerely, Brad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,669)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

995 - 1,001 of 1,669 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2013

This was a great spot for our family on vacation. Motel style hotel, we stayed in a separate unit that had ample space for 6 with a private room. This is a great spot for a short or extended stay. Beds and bedding could be upgraded.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darryl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Hello Darryl,...We appreciate you taking the time to write us a quick review on your recent visit to the Black Hawk. We are happy to hear that you had a GREAT stay! Sounds like you had one of our popular cottages, which offer alot of privacy with no common walls. We did actually just replace all our our bedspreads in these units within the last 2-3 weeks and it has helped give the room a bit more upgraded look instead of the flower spreads that were in these rooms. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Brad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I have been visiting the Dells since 1969. Having stayed at many of the properties around town, I am always reminded at what a great place the Black Hawk Motel is. I have tried the other properties when the Black Hawk had no vacancy or off-season, when the my family wanted an indoor water park. While the resorts compete in their own space, the Black Hawk is by far the best , most consistent, highest value motel experience available in the Dells area. It has been well operated by the same family for decades. The rooms are exceptionally clean and the beds are comfortable. The showers have lots of pressure and the tubs are very clean. There are lots of room types to choose. The indoor and outdoor pools are both kept very clean and are well heated. It is a family friendly place where you'll meet friendly people from all over the Midwest, many of whom have chosen to return for another visit to the Black Hawk.

When going to the Dells, most of your time is spent somewhere other than the room, so why overpay? Every room at the Black Hawk is value priced, even in the high season. I have stayed there many times and never had a bad stay. Give it a try; you will be glad you did.

Room Tip: The website has accurate photos of every room type. Visit the site and look around before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dale S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Dale,...Thank you so much for your detailed review and for your many years of continued patronage, not only to the Black Hawk,...but also to the Wisconsin Dells and other accommodation properties. We are happy to hear that you have always found us to be consistent....all while keeping our room rates reasonable and providing great value. We do have 30 different room types to choose from and they range from budget to large family to jacuzzi suites. It was great to see you and your family recently and we always appreciate your business and friendship over the years. We hope to see you again soon and have a great rest of the summer! Sincerely, Brad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

The rooms were very clean and the service was great. The decor may have seemed dated, but it did not feel old. the beds were very comfy, something I have not experienced at too many places.

The atmosphere was very relaxed and it was very family friendly.

Room Tip: Great value and great service. We will return.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Hello Cary,...great to hear that you plan on returning to the Black Hawk! Please check our website for detailed room descriptions and book directly to get the best rate. We do have many remodeled rooms and hope to accommodate you in one on your return visit! Thank you for taking the time to write us review as we truly appreciate it! Sincerely, Brad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

The whole family enjoyed the old-fashioned experience of this motel. Just like my husband and I stayed in when we were kids. Arcade was popular. We enjoyed revisiting having our vehicle just outside the door and the aluminum lawn chairs out in front of every room. And a real KEY, not a keycard. Fun. Clean. Enjoyable. The staff was nice. Tub was sparkling.

Room Tip: This may not be your hotel if you drive a big vehicle. The parking area is small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank medtary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

So glad to hear that you had a nice experience on your recent visit with us! We are definitely retro...however feel that we have many modern touches as well. Many guests really appreciate our reserved parking at their door and we do have many options on and near the property for larger or extra vehicles. Thanks for taking the time to write us a review! Sincerely, Brad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

The Black Hawk was selected for our family based on the very positive reviews and pictures of the Black Hawk giving memories of visits to the Dells in the 70's. Upon arrival staff were very friendly and presented several coupons, the Splash Pass and the waterpark passes which are a wonderful feature offered at this motel. The small room was spot less and parking right at your door is an added benefit. If you are used to staying at large condominiums for rent in the Dells near the same price of a room at the Black Hawk or booking various larger hotels offering larger rooms and services it may not be for you. If you want to stay at an old fashioned, very clean motel with friendly staff then the Black Hawk is a great choice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 552Anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Thank you so much for your review and for choosing the Black Hawk Motel! We are glad that we helped bring back memories of your childhood with your recent stay with us. We are family owned and operated since 1945 and have been providing memories for over 65+ years. We hope to accommodate you on your next trip to the Dells. If you would like a specific room, please let us know as we have 30 different room types...from small to large. Please book with us directly to get the best rate and choose accommodations. Thanks again! Brad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We split our vacation up into two parts - staying a few days in Hotel Rome at the Mt. Poseidon Water and Theme Park and the rest of it at the Black Hawk. If I had to do it over again, I'd stay at the Black Hawk the entire time and just do the parks on day passes. This is a very quiet mom-n-pop place, friendly staff, and clean rooms. They have both an indoor and outdoor pool and both are clean and quiet. They have lawn chairs outside your room door which we used to hang our towels and swimsuits on while we were there. Unbelievably, no one touched them the entire time. Would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gail A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Hello Gail, Thank you for choosing the Black Hawk and taking the time to write us a review. So glad to hear that we won the popular vote over our competition and their water and theme park. All registered guests staying with us do receive complimentary water park passes to Chula Vista Waterparks for each day of their stay, plus their day of check out. We also offer 25% savings on Noah's Ark and a complimentary Dells Splash Pass which has a buy one get one free for Mt. Olympus. Thanks again for your review and we look forward to accommodating you and your family on your next visit to the Dells! Sincerely, Brad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
1.6 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#4 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
979 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
3.5 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#27 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wisconsin Dells
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wi...
#10 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
146 reviews
3.3 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#15 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
718 reviews
3.2 mi away
Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center
Wintergreen Resort & Conference ...
#29 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Hawk Motel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hawk Motel & Suites

Address: 720 Race St, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-1612
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#1 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Best Value Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range: £44 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Hawk Motel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Rooms NOW NEWLY RENOVATED. Receive FREE Wet and Dry Parks! All guests receive FREE Waterpark pass admission to Noah's Ark - America's Largest Waterpark (Memorial Day - Labor Day) & Kalahari Indoor (dry) Theme Park (all year). Choose from 29 different room types, from budget to family, suites and whirlpools rooms, kitchenettes and vacation homes. Plush Beds, fridge, microwave, in-room coffee, hairdryer, and reserved parking for all rooms. Heated Indoor pool w/ slide & hot tub, sauna open until 11:30 pm each night. Heated outdoor pool w/ slides, 2 playgrounds, grills, coin operated laundry, and Retro Arcade w/ Billiards, Donkey Kong, Ms. Pac Man and other classic games. Located just 4 blocks from downtown Wisconsin Dells. Receive multiple coupons for area attractions and restaurants. We are family owned & operated since 1945, we look forward to accommodating you and your family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Black Hawk Motel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Hawk Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Hawk Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing