We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Black Hawk Motel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 74 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2013

This was our third stay at Blackhawk and we look forward to many more. The prices can't be beat. The staff is great, from the housekeepers to the owners. The room remodels look greak. Can't wait to return again next summer

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 29jean1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

It's so great to hear that you had another great stay with us! We believe in providing great value while staying with us while having many added amenities to go with friendly customer service. We look forward to accommodating you again next summer and if you would like a certain room, please let us know. Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and have a great end of the summer. Sincerely, Brad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,680)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

981 - 987 of 1,680 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2013

I am so glad I looked at trip advisor before traveling to Wisconsin Dells. If I wouldn't have, we would have missed this great treasure of a motel. Free Chula Vista park passes, pool at hotel. This hotel was right up our alley, we love things that have a little history and you can tell Black Hawk Motel has some years under its belt. Still, this motel has been treated gingerly and looks terrific. The rooms are clean and nice. It was absolutely perfect!

Room Tip: We stayed in #64 I believe, but there are so many other rooms to choose from. I think it would have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikicox1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Thank you for your review! We have many guests tell us that they enjoy our "retro" or "old school" feel and that we remind them of a place they use to stay when they were kids. Happy that we attracted you because of this and you enjoyed your stay and the Free Chula Vista Water Park passes. We do have 30 different room choices to choose from and all may be viewed at our web site with detailed room descriptions and addtional photos. Be sure and check out our Face Book page where you can read about our history and see old vintage photo's. We hope to see you on your check trip to the Dells and have a great end of the summer! Sincerely, Brad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

This was our second stay at the Black Hawk and once again everything was amazing! We stayed in a one king poolside bed, room #30. It was located next to the ice machine and housekeeping which concerned us at first but it wasn't a problem. We didn't hear noise from either. The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. Every employee we interacted with was very nice and welcoming. The location of the motel is perfect, we were able to walk to the downtown area to shop and eat so we didn't have to deal with the hassle of parking. We also got a free splash pass at check and were able to use it to get two passes to Mt. Olympus for the price of one which was great! The motel's indoor and outdoor pools were also great and the water temp was perfect. I also loved the tanning deck! It was a great place to lay in the sun and relax. I recommend Black Hawk to everyone-couples and families, young or old. It is an excellent value and a comfortable stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DayTripper891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Thank you for your review and for joining our long list of repeat guests with your second stay at the Black Hawk,....we very much appreciate it! Great to hear that you really enjoyed your stay and the ice machine and houskeeping were not an issue while staying in room #30. Especially enjoyed reading that you enjoyed our sun deck (located above our game room). This is a really nice place away from all our guests to catch some quite time and some sun. We look forward to seeing you again in the future and have a great end of the summer! Sincerely, Brad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I had originally planned on staying at one of the hotels that had a water/theme park attached to its name, but when I went to submit my reservation, they were going to hit me with a "resort fee" that would have significantly raised my cost. So I researched Trip Advisor and came across the Blackhawk motel. Unlike other motels that had inconsistent reviews, the ones for the Blackhawk Motel were extremely positive. After our visit, I concur with all of the positive comments that people have posted. Clean, reasonably priced, and staffed by friendly folks. The mattress was one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept on. We enjoyed hitting the pool and hot tub at the end of the day. Since our room had a refrigerator, we were able to save money by doing breakfast in our room and packing picnic lunches. Also, we received discount coupons upon arrival that saved us money at some of the attractions in town. I highly recommend the Blackhawk Motel!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jodi902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Jodi, Thank you for trusting the rest of the Trip Advisor Community and choosing to stay with us at the Black Hawk! There's some very nice places to stay in the Dells, as well as dining options...attractions and Trip Advisor is one of the best resources for finding a place to stay, dine or go see. Our guests are never charged a "resort fee" or anything similar when staying with us and can be assured that their room rate will corrospond to the number of guests in the room and be charged the 11.5% sales tax. Great to hear that you enjoyed everything about your stay! Thank you again for your review and we look forward to accommodating you and your family again in the future! Sincerely, Brad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

With all the big name hotels in the Dells we decided to try something different.As we pulled up I thought I don't know if this was a good choice ,being used to the water park hotels .Was I wrong Very clean rooms and grounds including the pool,hot tub ,game room with all the old retro games I grew up with.Very accommodating staff and a great place for a family on a budget,walk to restaurants and downtown shopping.We will be back .Thanks Brad and Tina .

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kyle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Kyle...Thank you for your review and for the choosing us over the water park resorts! We are happy that you unexpectably found us to be clean, comfortable, and a great value. We strive to provide families with a nice alternative vacation with their pocket book in mind. Our retro arcade has been a huge hit for many years and sounds like you really enjoyed the games. Pat and Glen of Starworlds Arcade in Delkalb, IL is our vendor and they strive to "bring the games of yesterday...today". Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you in the future! Sincerely, Brad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in August and were happy. The rooms were clean and spacious, and had a microwave and fridge. The owner was very nice and accommodating when I had to change the reservation on one of our rooms. My only complaint was that they did not replenish the complimentary shampoo and lotion in our 4 nights there. That would have been nice, since I did not have mine. Another concern is that it would have been nice to have towels at the pool areas. Ours were always wet when we came back from a day at a waterpark.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NANA150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

We are glad you had a nice stay with us and found your room to be clean, spacious and well equipped with a fridge and microwave. Our housekeeping staff may have missed if your shampoo and lotion were empty and honestly we do not put new ones in each day on a guests stay over unless they are empty...only because this is an effort to keep our costs down and our rates reasonable. However...extra shampoo and lotion is always available upon request and we are happy to try and meet all requests our guests may have. We have thought about having towels available at the pool for our guests, however do not have them at this time...but extra pool towels are always available upon request. Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Brad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Just got back from a 3 day weekend. Being our first time visiting the Dells, we didn't know what to expect, but the reviews on TripAdvisor did not steer us wrong. Our room was CLEAN, CLEAN, CLEAN! Check-in was a breeze and staff were friendly. Loved having assigned parking in front of the room. The outside pool was a blast to play in and loved the option of the indoor heated pool and whirlpool when the sun went down. Everyone was super friendly and the motel had a small town feel to it. Would not hesitate to book again. And yes, the beds are as comfy as everyone raves about. See you guys next year!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thao T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

Thao....glad you liked the assigned parking for each room, our comfortable beds and your overall stay! All parking is reserved and each guest room has a reserved spot...making for easy loading and unloading as well as having your car right at your door. This was my Dad's idea back in the late 1980's and turned out to be a great idea! Thank you for taking the time to write us review and we look forward to seeing you next year! Book with us directly either by phone or on our website for the best price and room preference. Sincerely, Brad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
1.6 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
2.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wisconsin Dells
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wi...
#10 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#58 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
658 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#27 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
984 reviews
3.9 mi away
Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Lodge
#13 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
3,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Hawk Motel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hawk Motel & Suites

Address: 720 Race St, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-1612
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Best Value Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range: £25 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Hawk Motel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Rooms NOW NEWLY RENOVATED. Receive FREE Wet and Dry Parks! All guests receive FREE Waterpark pass admission to Noah's Ark - America's Largest Waterpark (Memorial Day - Labor Day) & Kalahari Indoor (dry) Theme Park (all year). Choose from 29 different room types, from budget to family, suites and whirlpools rooms, kitchenettes and vacation homes. Plush Beds, fridge, microwave, in-room coffee, hairdryer, and reserved parking for all rooms. Heated Indoor pool w/ slide & hot tub, sauna open until 11:30 pm each night. Heated outdoor pool w/ slides, 2 playgrounds, grills, coin operated laundry, and Retro Arcade w/ Billiards, Donkey Kong, Ms. Pac Man and other classic games. Located just 4 blocks from downtown Wisconsin Dells. Receive multiple coupons for area attractions and restaurants. We are family owned & operated since 1945, we look forward to accommodating you and your family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Black Hawk Motel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Hawk Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Hawk Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing