We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great old fashioned hotel with a friendly staff and constantly improving property.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Hawk Motel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Black Hawk Motel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Sheboygan WI
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great old fashioned hotel with a friendly staff and constantly improving property.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Very friendly people. Just dont stay for the Chula Vista passes. We spent one hour at Chula Vista and my eight yr old daughter wanted to leave after getting pushed out of the way by unsupervised no manners pieces of trash. Sorry about the rant. Back to Blackhawk. Even the people staying there were friendly, I think the staff and owners rub off on the guests. Spent a lot of time in both pools with our little ones and had a great time. Rooms were very clean and modern. Beds were comfy and large bathroom. Its also nice having close parking right outside your room (Reserved for room ). Restaurants and convenience store are very close as well. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeffSheboyganWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Hello Jeff, Thank you so much for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write us our 800th review on Trip Advisor! We sincerely appreciate it, but appreciate even more your kind words towards us and for choosing the Black Hawk! Sorry to hear that you and your family had a unpleasant experience at Chula Vista, however we are happy to hear that you really enjoyed our pools and time spent with us. We believe in treating our guests the way we would want to be treated and so many of our guests are repeat guests...we view them as extended family. We are family owned and operated since 1945 and have always believed in investing profits back into our business. We look forward to accommodating you and your family in the future! Have a great day! Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,209
    243
    40
    11
    2
See reviews for
844
392
23
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

very enjoyable stay for me and my boyfriend the staff was friendly room was clean got free passes to Chula Vista waterpark a map of local attractions and resturants which was very helpful upon arrival and enjoyed the pool as well!!!This a great family hotel too bad we dont have any children but if we did it would have been a great treat looked like everyone was having fun there!!The kids were not a bother so it is no problem if you and your babe want to enjoy a little vacay as well . Thanks for everything will be back ...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brandia81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to write us a review as we sincerely appreciate it! Sounds like you really enjoyed your stay and took advantage of the complimentary Chula Vista Water Park passes. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Hopefully during our 2014 season...as we will be offering all registered guests Free Dual Water Parks. This includes Noah's Ark...Americas Largest Waterpark and Chula Vistas Indoor and Outdoor Water Parks. Also new this year is complimentary in room coffee in all guests rooms. Thanks again! Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

Our family has stayed at the Black Hawk Motel a half dozen times over the last few years. Each time we go we feel good about our decision to have went there over the Big Box chains. The owners are definitely passionate about what they do. They really want to please their customers and care deeply about their satisfaction. For an older hotel, it is as clean as can be, and the rooms are constantly being remodeled, sections at a time. While it has the old time hotel feel, it doesn't look outdated at all inside the rooms. The price is extremely budget-friendly for those families who watch the $. The indoor pool is always nice and warm, as is the whirlpool. Free passes to Chula Vista are great, but a lot of the time my kids just want to stay and play in the pool on site because it is so nice and warm. My only complaint would be that they are not open even earlier in the spring and later in the fall because as beloved as they are, they would definitely continue to get business during the offseason. Thanks for all the great family memories, can't wait to go back this spring.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fondyontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you for your kind words in regards to my wife Tena and I and for taking the time to write us a review. We do truly care about our guests and the experience they have with us...and we are far from perfect, but we want all of our guests to be happy and comfortable. We are remodeling yet another section of 8 rooms this winter as it moves us closer to our goal of completely remodeling all of our 76 rooms...complete w/ many thought out extras. We appreciate your feelings towards us extending our fall and spring seasons. I feel this is coming soon as our sections of rooms become complete remodels and our two young boys grow older and inquires continually become greater each off season. One constant that will never change is that we'll always believe in keeping our indoor pool (open until 11:30 pm each night) warm...to increase guest satisfaction. Potential guests should view our website for detailed room descriptions of our various room types. Thank you again and we hope to see you during our upcoming 2014 season. Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

My family and I have stayed there (cabin 69 and the house) two times now and love it! So clean & they have nice little indoor and outdoor pools. Another nice feature is being able to walk to a nice parks 2 blocks down and just a few minutes from everything! Hoping to go back this June.ll

Room Tip: A nice family place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Hello Gina, Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review on your recent stays with us! Cottage 69 and our house are two of the most popular of the 30 different room types that we offer...both are also individual units w/ no common walls for added privacy. We look forward to accommodating you and your family again this summer as sunny days are ahead as this winter freeze will soon turn to spring. Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fostoria, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

Awesome time here! The staff were great, super clean and close to downtown! we stayed in a suite and they were super cool. Had flowers delivered to my room by the manager without my wife knowing and he also brought us some super cool coffee mugs to keep. I could not be happier with this place! The only place i will ever stay in the dells. Can not wait to go back!!! I actually went summer of 2012 but just now got my trip advisor account set up.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kurt m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Hello Kurt, Great to hear that you have your Trip Advisor account set up and we would like to Thank You for taking the time to write us a review and for choosing The Black Hawk as your Honeymoon destination! Looks like you stayed in room #75, our king bed whirlpool suite w/ private balcony. Our rooms 75 and 76 have been very popular rooms for many years and are now more popular than ever as we just did a major remodel on these rooms in the spring of 2012. We hope to see you again soon, perhaps for your anniversary, summer vacation or just a quick spring or fall getaway...until then, have a great winter and holiday season! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

When we go up to the Dells, we always stay at the Blackhawk! (at least when I remember to make reservations in advance! DOH!) The owners and staff and friendly and just plain wonderful! The room is always clean and comfortable with little extra amenities that are always welcome. Even when the place is crowded, the noise level is kept down, which we appreciate! We come to get away and relax, not deal with crazies - we have enough of that at home! The pool and whirlpool are nice after a long day of hiking, sightseeing, and enjoying the Dells "amusements". The motel is in a great location - close to everything. It's our home away from home when in the Dells!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boykerbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review and more importantly...Thank you for your continued patronage, we truly appreciate it! We have always believed in providing a clean, comfortable room, at a reasonable rate with friendly customer service and adding extras like complimentary discount cards and FREE Water Park Passes for all registered guests. We believe in treating our guests the way that we would wanted to be treated. We hope to see you again for our 2014 season and have a great winter and holiday season! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

My husband typically is not a fan of motels. He doesn't have the great memories I do while growing up in the 60s and 70s of going to one. After reviewing the great reviews online, he gave it a shot. Service was great, the king jacuzzi suite was done beautifully and pretty quiet. He said he would stay there again which is a big compliment of this site. Enjoyed talking to the staff members who truly know what it is to take care of their guests. Keep up the great work.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Hello Julie, Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review and Thank you as well to you and your husband for giving our MOTEL a try! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again for our 2014 season. My wife Tena and I and our entire staff strive to take care of all our guests and provide each and every one of them a comfortable stay. Have a great winter and thanks again! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#3 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Su...
#6 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
2.0 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#54 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
3.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#22 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#15 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
0.2 mi away
All Star Inn & Suites
All Star Inn & Suites
#2 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
5.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Hawk Motel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hawk Motel & Suites

Property: Black Hawk Motel & Suites
Address: 720 Race St, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-1612
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Hawk Motel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE Dual Water Parks! All guests receive FREE Waterpark pass admission to Noah's Ark - America's Largest Waterpark (summer) & Chula Vista's Indoor & Outdoor Water parks (all year). Choose from 29 different room types, from budget to family, suites and whirlpools rooms. Sealy Encore Plush Beds, fridge, microwave, in-room coffee, hairdryer, and reserved parking for all rooms. Heated Indoor pool w/ slide & hot tub, sauna open until 11:30 pm each night. Heated outdoor pool w/ slides, 2 playgrounds, grills, coin operated laundry, and Retro Arcade w/ Billiards, Donkey Kong, Ms. Pac Man and other classic games. Located just 4 blocks from downtown Wisconsin Dells. Receive multiple coupons for area attractions and restaurants and FREE Admission to the Haunted Mansion. We are family owned & operated since 1945, we look forward to accommodating you and your family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Black Hawk Motel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Hawk Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Hawk Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing