We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Black Hawk Motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Black Hawk Motel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Rice Lake, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Black Hawk Motel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

The Black Hawk Motel was a trip back to the 1950's. It was very clean and well kept. The staff were very accomodating. The bathroom was on the small side. Parking our car was somewhat tricky but really depends on which room and parking spot is assigned.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samuel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Hello Samuel, Thanks for your review and for staying with us! Glad you found us to be clean and well kept. Sounds like you may have had a budget room which have smaller bathrooms. All are parking in reserved, however we have many adjoining lots and parking areas on the entire block for guests who want a wider space...as a few of our parking spots may be tricky. Have a great summer and we hope to see you soon! Regards, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,211
    244
    40
    11
    2
See reviews for
847
392
23
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I've been coming to the BHM since I was a little kid and it's never every disappointed. The owners have cared for this property and the people they serve for decades. The indoor pool and the sauna along with the cheesy arcade are things I look forward to arriving. They have some great rooms across the street from the property that have separate bedrooms and whirlpools. We ended up in one that worked out very well for us and 2 kids with 3 beds. Of key note here is that you get 2 different waterpark tickets. The outdoors ones weren't open yet but having entrance to Chula Vista for everyone in our family every day of the stay is massive.

Room Tip: Tip - stay off of the main road and take the road just off the BHM and follow it down toward Zinke M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avarel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review and more importantly for our continued many years of patronage! It gratifies us to hear that you have never been disappointed as we try hard, but we are far from perfect. We look forward to seeing you again in the future and we hope to add another classic to our retro arcade! Thank you again and have a great summer! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I slept here twice on a driving trip between Ohio and Minnesota. I just needed a good place to stay at a reasonable price, and it was perfect. Parking outside each ground-floor room in the main 'U' made it perfect. I'd certainly recommend it! I didn't give the room five stars only because they are small, but they are very comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ddiman614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Great to hear that we were your nightly "stop over" on your recent travels! We appreciate you taking the time to write us a review and happy you enjoyed your stay. Sounds like you had one of our budget rooms, which are definitely smaller on size. We have 30 different room types to choose from small to over 1300 Sq. Ft. We hope to see you soon! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford IL
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We visit and stay in the Dells several times a season. Our past stay at the Black Hawk we got one of the newly remodeled rooms pool side. As always the room was spotless and really nicely remodeled. Plenty of drawer and counter space to spread out. The wet bar/sink is a nice touch that seems to be in all the remodeled rooms. The pools, grounds and arcade areas are well kept up and inviting. We will for sure to be back this season.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fun2playarcadegames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Hello, Thank you so much for taking the time out of your busy schedule and writing us a review,...however more importantly for your continued patronage to The Black Hawk. We truly appreciate it and love accommodating our many repeat guests. We look forward to accommodating you on your return trip to the Dells! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, Wisconsin, USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

What is not to love? Cheap. Dual waterparks. Splash pass. Two pools. Indoor pool is like bathwater (this just made your hotel a MUST due to our baby not liking the freezing water everywhere else). Outdoor bathwater kiddy pool. Playground (can't utilize yet). Not much to say that hasn't been said. We liked this place the first time we came but this experience was much better. Hope rates stay modest. You rock!

Room Tip: We stayed in QB Poolside
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Hello Justin, We believe in keeping rates reasonable and offering the best deal in town to go with a clean room, added amenities...both on site and off and great customer service...so we plan to keep doing what we are doing. We appreciate your stay with us and thanks for the review. Have a great summer and we hope to see you soon! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheboygan, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

This is the best place to stay in the Dells. It's no wonder people come back year after year. Great Price, Quiet, friendly staff and very nice rooms. They also have very nice pools and game room. I've been going to Automotion car show for 5 years now and never had a complaint at the Black Hawk. I like that you park right outside your room. They also have lawn chairs and a table outside your door so you can sit and relax. Other people in our group stay at OTHER places and they always complain. I will try to convert them for next year! Brad, keep doing what you're doing because it's working!

Room Tip: I like # 42. It's only the wife and I and there's plenty of room for us.They look like they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Hello Dan! Thank you so much for your review, but more importantly for your continued patronage and recommendation of the Black Hawk. We sincerely appreciate it and are happy to hear that you like room 42 (one of our smallest rooms). It does have a great parking spot for a guests car. Oh....btw....Dan you have a beautiful Hemi Coupe to park in that spot!!!! We look forward to seeing you next automation and have a great summer! Regards, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gresham, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We tried a new place to stay each year, for the past 5 or 6 years, that is until last year when we stayed at BHM. We are returning again in July and we can not wait. If you are planning a trip to the Dells this summer you need to give BHM a look, you will not be disappointed. The rooms, location, and water park passes you get with your stay make it worth it.

Room Tip: If you do not plan on spending much time in your room, the budget rooms are great for a family of 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bret341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Hello Bret341,....It gratifies us to hear that you discovered us recently and will be returning to stay with us this summer! We are happy to announce that this summer we will be offering FREE Water Park passes to Noah's Ark - America's Largest Water Park in addition to Chula Vista's Indoor and Outdoor Water Parks. We look forward to seeing you soon and Thank You for your review! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#4 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Su...
#5 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
1.9 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#54 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
3.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#15 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
1.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#23 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.2 mi away
All Star Inn & Suites
All Star Inn & Suites
#2 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
5.0 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Hawk Motel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hawk Motel & Suites

Property: Black Hawk Motel & Suites
Address: 720 Race St, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-1612
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#4 Best Value Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Hawk Motel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Rooms NOW NEWLY RENOVATED. Receive FREE Wet and Dry Parks! All guests receive FREE Waterpark pass admission to Noah's Ark - America's Largest Waterpark (Memorial Day - Labor Day) & Kalahari Indoor (dry) Theme Park (all year). Choose from 29 different room types, from budget to family, suites and whirlpools rooms, kitchenettes and vacation homes. Plush Beds, fridge, microwave, in-room coffee, hairdryer, and reserved parking for all rooms. Heated Indoor pool w/ slide & hot tub, sauna open until 11:30 pm each night. Heated outdoor pool w/ slides, 2 playgrounds, grills, coin operated laundry, and Retro Arcade w/ Billiards, Donkey Kong, Ms. Pac Man and other classic games. Located just 4 blocks from downtown Wisconsin Dells. Receive multiple coupons for area attractions and restaurants. We are family owned & operated since 1945, we look forward to accommodating you and your family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Black Hawk Motel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Hawk Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Hawk Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing