We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Black Hawk Motel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

The staff of the. Black hawk was friendly and helpful. They told us of places to eat. I had my four years old nephew with. And my niece and her eight month daughter annd some friends with and we all had a good time. The room was nice and rooming. The only thing the slide for the indoor pool was broke and they took out the slide to the outside pool. I am going to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thanks for your review and it gratifies us to hear that you will stay with us again! Our outdoor pool slide was being repaired and has since returned and our indoor pool slide is currently being repaired. We look forward to accommodating you again in the future and have a Happy 4th! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,211
    244
    40
    11
    2
See reviews for
847
392
23
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Schaumburg, IL
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

What a great little find. We were traveling with a sports group staying at the Chula Vista, but based on tripadvisor reviews and my "I'm not paying Disney hotel prices in Wisconsin" attitude we chose the Black Hawk. My daughter could still hang with her friends at the water park and I could still afford to buy gas back home. It was a definite win. The only reason I didn't go with 5 stars was that I couldn't sweet talk my way into a 1 pm checkout so my kid could shower after her basketball games. She DID shower at the motel pool, but I couldn't help but notice that our room hadn't been checked into and the hotel had the vacancy sign lit. Still so happy because the motel was beyond clean. You know how most motels have dusty carpets around furniture and in the corners? Not the Black Hawk. The air conditioning unit appears to be cleaned frequently. The grout in the bathroom was clean. The fridge and microwave were CLEAN. Their housekeeping staff is AMAZING. The motel itself kind of looks like the place Patrick Swayze lived in the movie Dirty Dancing. They have green webbed lawn chairs sitting outside the doors and lots of guests hanging out in the evening, creating a very welcoming environment. Walking distance to the basketball venue and many good restaurants. Will absolutely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chicag0denise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Hello Denise, Thank you so much for taking the time to write us review and for choosing the Black Hawk for your accommodation needs while attending tourneys in the Wisconsin Dells. It gratifies us when we hear that we offer a clean alternative to the high priced mega water park resorts. I apologize for not offering a 1 pm check out as I would have been happy to do, however you room was a reservation room checking in on your day of check out and guests checking in always appreciate when they can check in early,....with out a reservation checking in I can usually slightly extend check out time. We always encourage our guests checking out to stick around and use our pools for the day, come back to shower or take advantage of our Free water park tickets. We look forward to accommodating you again and have a Happy 4th! Kind regards, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

This place can accommodate any group! So many choices! The water park tickets to Noah's and Chula were incredible and saved us so much money! Parking is so easy right next to our room so we don't have far to drag all our stuff. So close to the pool the friends we were with could put their baby down for a nap and go swimming for a nice break! We walked in to town for dinner and drinks and didn't have to worry about parking any where. Our double queen room with a fridge and microwave was quite spacious. Can't wait to stay there again!

Room Tip: We had an adjoining room near the ice machine. You can choose to be across from the park or the ind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank victom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review and for choosing the Black Hawk! Many of our guests love our location because we are so close to downtown, but far enough from traffic. Our reserved parking has been a big hit for all our guests for many years. Thank again for your review and for choosing the Black Hawk! We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely,
Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Nice large room! First place we've stayed in that offered three double beds in one room. No issue of where we were going to all fit to sleep. Had enough space for all our stuff. Instead of heaping everything on the floor in small cramped space.very friendly accommodating staff. They even swept the parking lot! Very clean and everything worked. Waterpark passes for free, lots of coupons for area attractions the room was practically paid for in all the money we saved. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ktjzm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
A popular room choice for years has been our motel room with 3 double beds and we are happy to hear that it accommodate you and your party well. We only have two of these room types and we wish we had more. Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and we hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Our stay was perfect and everything I hoped it could be! First contact on June 8, early afternoon. I wish I had gotten her name, she was so friendly and helpful-I really, truly mean that. I felt instantly at home & a wanted guest.
The property is beautiful. Love the kitschy retro feel--Black Hawk perfectly executes the retro look & appeal but with all the modern amenities you expect. You can tell there is a high amount of pride and love poured into this property. Quiet location, very safe feeling. LOVE the parking setup--unloading takes minutes instead of up to an hour. No lugging suitcases through lobbies, down corridors & up elevators.
The room was spacious and clean. I can't believe the low price included Noah's Ark AND Chula Vista tickets for the whole family, it's incredible! Thank you for having windows that aren't bolted shut like most places--nice to have that fresh air in the room. THE BEDS ARE AMAZING. I go into vacations *knowing* I will not sleep well, regardless of the location. This was a game changer for me.
We used both of the charcoal grill areas, both pool areas, playgrounds, and arcade (love love love the arcade--brings back those old childhood memories) not a single problem or complaint.
I'm reaching here to find a 'con' or 'negative' this review probably sounds fake ;) my only suggestion is: depending on the feasibility, perhaps add a recycling option for guests? We go through a lot of cans & cardboard and I felt guilty...haha.
We have been visiting the dells area twice a year for 10+ years now. We have found a new favorite!! Thank you for the wonderful memories!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MNRiverValleyLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
It gratifies us to hear that you truly enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your review and for posting some awesome pictures...I especially like the one of the neon at night. We get many compliments on our retro arcade and often hear something like...."I haven't played Ms. Pac Man in 25 years"!. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

It's a retro hotel where I stayed as a kid and in my opinion the only place to stay when coming to the dells. It has everything you need and very well priced. Now 25 yrs later I bring my clan. Rooms and pools are clean and updated. Indoor pool and spa are warm! Free water park passes so why would anyone stay at those chaotic places; tried it they suck. You can spend a small fortune in the dells so it's nice to get all you need at the BH. Park is right by rooms so the kids can play while you get packed for the day. They got it all, wifi, cable, DVD player indoor/outdoor pools, spa, sauna, ice, grills, game room, laundry mat. Save at the BH because your going to get in the tourist trap prices else where. It's a nice walk to the strip of the dells too maybe 8 mins. The queen rooms with a Kitchenette are great for saving on a few meals. Fast friendly staff with anything you'll need. Best part is having your car right out your door too. Kids everyday asked when we were leaving water parks to go back to our pool. Thanks for the nice accommodations BH see ya next time.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mhacke7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write us a review and for your patronage to the Black Hawk! We are happy to hear that the kids enjoyed our pools and wanted to return from the waterpark and that you find us a nice change from the big mega water park resorts. We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joliet, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

I stayed this past weeked (two female adults and two teen girls).I have to say I have been to the Dells numerous times and Blackhawk was an awesome surprise. I was worried the room would be too small, but what did I know, it was huge, more then enough room for 4. It was CLEAN, amazingly clean. The pool was great and the hot tub was hot. Great value. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madusa75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
We are always gratified when we hear that we have surprised our guests! We do admit we have some small rooms (mainly budget rooms), but we also have some large rooms in size. Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review and we hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#3 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Su...
#5 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
1.9 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#54 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
3.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#15 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
1.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#23 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.2 mi away
All Star Inn & Suites
All Star Inn & Suites
#2 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
5.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Hawk Motel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hawk Motel & Suites

Property: Black Hawk Motel & Suites
Address: 720 Race St, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-1612
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#1 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#4 Best Value Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Hawk Motel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Rooms NOW NEWLY RENOVATED. Receive FREE Wet and Dry Parks! All guests receive FREE Waterpark pass admission to Noah's Ark - America's Largest Waterpark (Memorial Day - Labor Day) & Kalahari Indoor (dry) Theme Park (all year). Choose from 29 different room types, from budget to family, suites and whirlpools rooms, kitchenettes and vacation homes. Plush Beds, fridge, microwave, in-room coffee, hairdryer, and reserved parking for all rooms. Heated Indoor pool w/ slide & hot tub, sauna open until 11:30 pm each night. Heated outdoor pool w/ slides, 2 playgrounds, grills, coin operated laundry, and Retro Arcade w/ Billiards, Donkey Kong, Ms. Pac Man and other classic games. Located just 4 blocks from downtown Wisconsin Dells. Receive multiple coupons for area attractions and restaurants. We are family owned & operated since 1945, we look forward to accommodating you and your family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Black Hawk Motel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Hawk Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Hawk Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing