We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One word - Excellent !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Black Hawk Motel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 75 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One word - Excellent !”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

From the point of our arrival until the time of our departure, we had a wonderful experience staying at the Black Hawk.

Highly recommended.

The weather for our trip in early July, 2014 could have been a little better. We were fortunate enough to be able to have the luxury of an indoor as well as an outdoor pool to use. The staff was wonderful. The rooms were very clean. The price was right. We were also given passes to use at two local water parks which helped offset our costs.

Seriously, what more can you ask for ?

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lance L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,304
    255
    43
    11
    2
See reviews for
928
408
25
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We just got back from an excellent time in the Dells, thanks to the Blackhawk Motel! My husband and our six-year-old twins visited for the first time and I found the Blackhawk here on TripAdvisor. Our room was spotlessly clean. The beds were comfortable, water pressure was very good in the shower, and the mini fridge was pretty big. Housekeeping was very prompt.
We took advantage of the free passes to Chula Vista and Noah's Ark. For what we paid for the room, this was an amazing value!
We did not swim outside but the indoor pool was clean and the water was warm.
The Blackhawk is walking distance to Mitzi's Grill which was a nice place to grab dinner.
The owner, Brad, was friendly and informative. Thanks for making our stay in the Dells so great!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chicagophotog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Spent two nights at the Black Hawk Motel with the family. Kids loved it, plus all the amenities that come with staying there. Everything was extra clean and the staff was great and always available. I've stayed in fancy, 4-star hotels that weren't as clean or well-attended as this place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Our family of 4 (including a 2 & 4 year old) stayed at the Black Hawk this past weekend for 2 nights based on a recommendation from a friend. Yes, it looks old, and is, but was soo clean. The amenities were just what was needed for our stay and we actually enjoyed our time at the motel just as much as our time out at the attractions. We even stayed in one night and ordered pizza right to the pool. The pools were perfect with the slides and kiddie pool being winners with my children as well as the old school arcade and the swings/playgrounds. There were always employees tending to the grounds which were immaculate. Inclusion of tickets to Noah's Ark and Chula Vista were what sealed the deal for us to choose the location and were nice options of things to do. Walking distance to downtown. Staff was so friendly and helpful. If I had to say something on the down side it was that our room was across the street from the main motel area and pool - it was a very short walk, but we would have liked to have been closer to the action. I noticed a posting for some remodeling they are doing and am looking forward to seeing what it is when we go back next year (we WILL be going back!). Don't expect fancy hotel decorations and extras (fancy soaps, etc.). Once you get past that I think you will enjoy it!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank liveforvacationsAJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhinelander, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Amazing service. I stayed at this hotel at random when we took our son to an overnight camp. Unfortunately, there was a mix up and my son wasn't able to attend the camp, and therefore didn't need to stay at the hotel. We couldn't get our money back per their policy so decided to stay and take advantage of the town. The hotel gave us another room (we needed an extra bed), with no issues. They gave us another waterpark pass as well. They were very accommodating during a frustrating time. Definitely would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momofgnsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We read basically nothing but good reviews on this place and decided to stay... I'm writing this while sitting in this uncomfortable bed. Where to start... Um I have to walk across the street to the pool where there are no towels... Also no extra ones in the room so I have to decide whether I want to swim or take a shower... The kitchenette is nothing more than a form sized fridge with a microwave barely big enough to cook a bag of popcorn. The room is smaller than hotel rooms in London... Smaller than my bedroom at home... Guest wifi didn't work... But it is clean and quiet so there's that.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Dustin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lombard, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This please was better than any big hotel ever very homey and really clean.....5 stars I was very impressed with the cleaning lady's asked for towels got the right away.......they gave us an extra cot we all went to the bar came back with one more than we started lol

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmh1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thanks so much for your review as it sounds like everyone had an awesome stay with us and in the Wisconsin Dells. Glad to hear that our housekeeping staff took good care of you and everyone slept well :-) Thanks again, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
1.6 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#5 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
931 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
3.3 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#16 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#24 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
947 reviews
2.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wisconsin Dells
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wi...
#10 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
136 reviews
1.9 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#58 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Hawk Motel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hawk Motel & Suites

Property: Black Hawk Motel & Suites
Address: 720 Race St, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-1612
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#1 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#4 Best Value Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Hawk Motel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Rooms NOW NEWLY RENOVATED. Receive FREE Wet and Dry Parks! All guests receive FREE Waterpark pass admission to Noah's Ark - America's Largest Waterpark (Memorial Day - Labor Day) & Kalahari Indoor (dry) Theme Park (all year). Choose from 29 different room types, from budget to family, suites and whirlpools rooms, kitchenettes and vacation homes. Plush Beds, fridge, microwave, in-room coffee, hairdryer, and reserved parking for all rooms. Heated Indoor pool w/ slide & hot tub, sauna open until 11:30 pm each night. Heated outdoor pool w/ slides, 2 playgrounds, grills, coin operated laundry, and Retro Arcade w/ Billiards, Donkey Kong, Ms. Pac Man and other classic games. Located just 4 blocks from downtown Wisconsin Dells. Receive multiple coupons for area attractions and restaurants. We are family owned & operated since 1945, we look forward to accommodating you and your family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Black Hawk Motel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Hawk Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Hawk Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing