We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for families looking for quality at a bargain rate!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Black Hawk Motel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 73 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for families looking for quality at a bargain rate!”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

I had read the reviews and thought it was time to give Blackhawk a try. Loved the retro atmosphere, but the professionalism was first rate. Everything is clean and perfect. Pools and grounds are well-maintained. Passes to the water parks were wonderful and we used both. I don't have a single complaint. Don't think twice about Blackhawk. If you need a bargain family hotel with option for famous water parks--look no further.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,224
    247
    40
    11
    2
See reviews for
855
398
24
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My wife and have stayed here several times over the past six years and we always find the accommodations reliably clean and comfortable. There are numerous types of rooms to choose from depending on your needs and preferences. The hotel is conveniently located near the attractions and downtown Dells. The price is reasonable and includes a pass to a couple of water parks. They also have both an indoor and an outdoor pool.
This family owned hotel is our "go to" place to stay when we go to The Dells and this year we brought family along to share this great find. We'll be back and so will they.

Room Tip: We like the rooms with a kitchenette so you don't have to eat out all the time. We also like the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DinChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We have stayed at the black hawk many many times over the years. We visit at least once a summer and often numerous times through out the year. Black hawk is our prefered accommodations. We have stayed at the wilderness, hotel Rome, diamond, flamingo and various motels in the dells. Black hawk beats them all. So clean, so friendly, so comfy, so convienent! My only complaint this trip is our once secrect awesome spot is filled every weekend we attempt to reserve! Everyone now knows how great they are and are a very in demand spot! Good for them as a business but sucky for us because we know anything else will disappoint. Black hawk has set the bar so high that even the high end resorts can't compare.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DellsandDisney4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marinette, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The stay was absolutely perfect from check-in to check-out! First off, I was very happy that I was treated with respect even though I am a college student as many hotels frown upon people my age staying at their establishment. I went with a few of my friends from college and had a blast. We were pleasantly surprised with how nice our room was. An especially nice perk was having two sinks and two mirrors as it gets a little hectic with four girls getting ready in the morning. The tickets to both Chula Vista and Noah's Ark were just the cherry on top. The only complaint I had was there was some strange goop on one of the bedspreads in room 27; But in the grand scheme of things, that was just a little thing and didn't inconvenience us in any way. I will definitely be returning!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmcnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellicott City, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The Black Hawk is exceptionally clean, it's a great value, has very comfortable beds, and is in a great location in the Dells. Very friendly, helpful staff. Nice warm pool. We were pleased from the time we made our reservation until the time we checked out. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton,MO
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Rooms clean. Beds are more like doubles not queen sized. great to have a refrigerator and microwave in the room. We stayed in the U shaped rooms surrounding the pool. Was great we could sit out front of room on the lawn chairs and watch the kids play on the playground or in the pool. Walkable distance from the strip.Nice indoor pool & hot tub for cool evenings.

Room Tip: If you do not want to be around the pool or playground ask for rooms up the hill behind the motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane-H-2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Racine, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

For a couple of years when the grandkids were in town from around the country, we would trek up to the "Dells" with our camping trailer and tents for a few days of old fashioned fun at Noah's Ark Water Park, riding the Ducs, etc. It was a lot of work for this grandma. Then we discovered the Blackhawk Motel. Straight out of the 60's but with all updated furniture and baths--spotlessly clean and groomed--and as user friendly as you could want. Indoor pool, outdoor pool, refriges and microwaves. I still pack the cooler with breakfast and lunches and snacks and drinks but we rent rooms and I do not have to pack and wash bedding and towels and it actually costs LESS than the campground. We have the older kids of three families plus gramma and gramps and some of the parents and we have a very good time. This is the place to stay for a reasonably priced good old fashioned fun family time.

Room Tip: Room 31 has two rooms on a corner and four queen beds, but only one bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thoughtfultourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#3 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#4 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
1.9 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#54 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
3.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#14 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
1.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#22 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.2 mi away
All Star Inn & Suites
All Star Inn & Suites
#2 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
5.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Hawk Motel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hawk Motel & Suites

Property: Black Hawk Motel & Suites
Address: 720 Race St, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-1612
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#1 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#4 Best Value Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Hawk Motel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Rooms NOW NEWLY RENOVATED. Receive FREE Wet and Dry Parks! All guests receive FREE Waterpark pass admission to Noah's Ark - America's Largest Waterpark (Memorial Day - Labor Day) & Kalahari Indoor (dry) Theme Park (all year). Choose from 29 different room types, from budget to family, suites and whirlpools rooms, kitchenettes and vacation homes. Plush Beds, fridge, microwave, in-room coffee, hairdryer, and reserved parking for all rooms. Heated Indoor pool w/ slide & hot tub, sauna open until 11:30 pm each night. Heated outdoor pool w/ slides, 2 playgrounds, grills, coin operated laundry, and Retro Arcade w/ Billiards, Donkey Kong, Ms. Pac Man and other classic games. Located just 4 blocks from downtown Wisconsin Dells. Receive multiple coupons for area attractions and restaurants. We are family owned & operated since 1945, we look forward to accommodating you and your family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Black Hawk Motel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Hawk Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Hawk Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing