We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Black Hawk Motel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 74 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2010

We stayed in room 53 directly across from the outdoor pool which was great for the kids. The room was exceptionally clean and you could tell it had been recently remodeled. It had a nice sized refrigerator and microwave. Grounds were well maintained. The front desk staff were exceptionally nice. There was a nice brick/permanent bbq near the outdoor pool which we used while the kids swam. The motel is close enough to downtown to walk, but you are far enough away you don't have all the traffic and noise. Liked being able to park directly in front of our room. We received a Wisconsin Dells fun card free when we checked in (a web coupon special) which saved us $50 on one of the boat tours. We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rwarnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,682)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,526 - 1,532 of 1,682 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2010

Our stay was perfect , wonderful people, very clean nice and quiet close enough to town but far enough away from all the hussle and bussle of downtown, we have already made reservations for next year , they have everything you need right there no need to go any where else.
Absolutely wonderful.

Dennis & Starr Blodgett Fennimore, WI

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DennisB53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2010

Extremely clean, wonderful location, great pools, great staff! The showerhead was great and the beds were very comfortable. Loved the pillows! Only downside-no iron in the room we were in, but who wants to iron on vacation :). We took advantage of the free golf (9 hole -3 par) which was a blast. I can't wait to go back again! I went with a friend for a girls get away and felt very safe. This is an especially wonderful place for families!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aparnold1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2010

My boyfriend and I have stayed here twice a year for the past 5 years and every time has been great. The family that owns this motel is always super friendly and very helpful, they have recommended some great places to eat as well as various activities in the area. It is not as fancy and upscale as some of the larger places to stay in the Dells, but it's cozy and comfortable...and priced very well! One year we were unable to get into our room (the door would not budge), and the staff was there to help within 5 minutes. We will continue to come back here because of the price as well as the service.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zaza00000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

We've been visiting the Dells for years, often twice a year, usually staying at a waterpark or much larger resort, so Black Hawk was a real treat. It reminded me of the classic hotels/motels of the Jersey shore of the 60s with its retro look, feel, focus on service, and obvious attention to cleanliness. We also recommend the nearby Cafe Utopia which was new to us too and the reasonably priced TravelMart a block away. It was a new, folksier Dells experience for us and it was especially nice to have the din and crowd (and, yes, the excitement) of Noah's Ark or a waterpark resort off site.

Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
2  Thank Musicmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2010

I was not sure about this hotel until I read the other reviews and found them all to be great so I went ahead and booked it. It's an old fashioned motel like you used to stay in when you were a kid & in this case, that's a good thing. The staff is very friendly and helpful both on the phone & in person. If you book in advance, they have an offer where you can get a Wis. Dells fun card which offers discounts at area restaurants & attractions. We used only a few of the offers and saved $93 during our stay! Both pools & hot tub are very clean and stay open a little later than some hotels we've stayed in. We also used the laundry during our stay & found it to be very clean also. The arcade was better than I expected so we played a little in there too. There is a grocery store nearby to pick up some soft drinks/snacks to put in your fridge & microwave. There is even a grill you can use, if you want. One other thing we liked is that each room has it's own designated parking spot right in front of your door. This hotel is also very proudly "American owned". If we had one complaint, it would be that the shower is made for someone who's around 5' tall. My husband & son had a hard time getting under the spray of the shower.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3TNTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackHawkMotel, Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2010

Thanks for your comments! We'll admit that some of our showers are to low, not the best for our average to tall guests. Glad you enjoyed our 80's retro arcade! During the 2010 Summer and Fall season, guests can win a $100 lodging certificate for the 2011 season if they achieve the high score on Donkey Kong, just score big and summit a picture of your score to our game supplier.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2010

This is my second time staying at the Black Hawk Motel. I stayed with my wife and our two children ages 6 and 2. We stayed in room 71 which has a kitchenette complete with stove, oven, microwave, fridge, toaster, coffee maker, and silverware, dishes, and cookware.

This saved us a ton of money on meals.

The outdoor and indoor pool were both great, the rooms are clean and comfortable.

This hotel may not be affiliated with a water park or theme park, but the money saved on your hotel room allowed us the freedom to choose where we wanted to go with our kids.

We will definitely stay at the Black Hawk again when we return to Wisconsin Dells.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmt114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
1.6 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
2.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wisconsin Dells
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wi...
#10 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#26 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
988 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites at Wisconsin Dells Lake Delton
Hampton Inn & Suites at Wisconsi...
#9 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
87 reviews
3.9 mi away
Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Lodge
#13 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
3,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Hawk Motel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hawk Motel & Suites

Address: 720 Race St, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-1612
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#3 Best Value Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range: £51 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Hawk Motel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Rooms NOW NEWLY RENOVATED. Receive FREE Wet and Dry Parks! All guests receive FREE Waterpark pass admission to Noah's Ark - America's Largest Waterpark (Memorial Day - Labor Day) & Kalahari Indoor (dry) Theme Park (all year). Choose from 29 different room types, from budget to family, suites and whirlpools rooms, kitchenettes and vacation homes. Plush Beds, fridge, microwave, in-room coffee, hairdryer, and reserved parking for all rooms. Heated Indoor pool w/ slide & hot tub, sauna open until 11:30 pm each night. Heated outdoor pool w/ slides, 2 playgrounds, grills, coin operated laundry, and Retro Arcade w/ Billiards, Donkey Kong, Ms. Pac Man and other classic games. Located just 4 blocks from downtown Wisconsin Dells. Receive multiple coupons for area attractions and restaurants. We are family owned & operated since 1945, we look forward to accommodating you and your family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Black Hawk Motel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Hawk Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Hawk Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing