We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“front dest staff needs improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alakai Hotel and Suites
Ranked #31 of 73 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
A TripAdvisor Member
“front dest staff needs improvement”
Reviewed 21 March 2005

We stayed there this past weekend and the room was large and clean, however the female staff peron working the front desk was not very polite and needs a lesson in customer service.

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    61
    18
    12
    29
See reviews for
133
36
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Watertown, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2005

We stayed for two nights last weekend. The pools were much smaller than they appear on the website pictures and the water was too cold to be comfortable. We had problems with just about every game and vending machine we tried there...which got frustrating. Overall we were disappointed. Didn't get much for the $88 a night price. No coffee maker, no hairdryer, no decent game area for the kids. Spent the same price (or less) at other Dells hotels in the past and liked them so much better. Would recommend Grand Marquis, Copa Cabana, Atlantis --or watch for the $99 specials at Wilderness or Treasure Island. Much more like a vacation at those places. Alakai wasn't terrible, just nothing special.

Helpful?
4 Thank midwestmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2004

We loved our stay at the Alakai. The room was spacious and very clean. The staff was excellent, polite, and friendly. The kids (ages 6-10) absolutely adored the indoor pool and play area. It was their favorite part about our vacation. I would definitely recommend the Alakai to anyone planning a trip to Wisconsin Dells. The hotel is also convenient to all the surrounding attractions while still being in a quiet part of the town. It was a great place to come "home" to and get some rest. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Helpful?
6 Thank Brenda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 11 April 2004

The staff advertised it as a brand new hotel.We stayed there on 4/7/04 - I don't think it was "brand new HOTEL". Average - comparable to more to an Inn...Reasonable rate. They added $10 for each kids.That was ridiculous.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 15 February 2004

We have stayed at the Alakai 3 times in the couple years with the latest being in November. We have always had good service, clean rooms and an EXCELLENT PRICE! We will be returning again this month. For the person that said the wasn't an indoor waterpark was right. It's a pool, hot tub and a nice area for the kids which includes a couple little slides and a fort. On the flip side of this, what do you expect at the price they charge? I think it's an awesome price for what you get!

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 2 February 2004

I and my husband were driving through and stopped in Wisconsin Dells due to bad weather. We stopped at several hotels and was treated so rudly by the staff we was about to go back on the road. We decided to stop one last place - Alakai. The lady we met at the front desk was so kind to us. They set us up with a very nice room, told us where to get a good meal and made sure we had everything we needed. I wish more hotels woudl do what they do.

I never thought of going to Wisconsin Dells before but from what I saw at Alakai, I would like to take my grandkids to the Dells and stay there again. They have nice indoor and outdoor waterparks which I think would be great for the kids to play in. I would definetly recommend this place to all my friends!

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 26 November 2003

Alakai Hotel in Wisconsin Dells is a unknown and very nice place to stay. I love it there and their new outdoor pool is exceptional

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
1.5 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#14 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
0.5 mi away
Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suite...
#33 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
3.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
5.4 mi away
Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center
Wintergreen Resort & Conference ...
#19 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#54 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
3.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#4 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#16 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alakai Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alakai Hotel and Suites

Property: Alakai Hotel and Suites
Address: 1030 Wisconsin Dells Pkwy, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-9757
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 73 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alakai Hotel and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Alakai Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alakai Hotel Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing