We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, Clean Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alakai Hotel and Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alakai Hotel and Suites
Ranked #36 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good, Clean Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2010

Good, clean hotel. It was one of the few available booking last minute. Reserved the suite with the whirlpool. Front desk very nice for letting us check in 2 hours early. Reception area, room, bathroom, and whirlpool tub were all clean. Decor nothing spectacular, rates for this room could have been more reasonable; very strict and firm about their 10:30am check out time, but all in all a good stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amitdds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    54
    14
    11
    29
See reviews for
124
33
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2010

We stayed here over mother's day weekend with our 2 year old. We were greeted with a friendly smile and warm welcome! We have stayed here before when our child was a baby and remembered the waterpark and clean rooms. We had a king suite with divider wall and it was perfect for us! The room was very clean (which is really important to us). The waterpark inside consists of 2 water slides and a few squirty things (they also have a pool for older kids or adults) the slides were perfect for our 2 year old!! he could walk through the whole thing and had a blast!! We had the place pretty much to ourselves which was nice too. We just had to call down and let them know we were going swimming and they turned everything on for us. There is an outdoor waterpark too but it was open yet cuz we were there in early may, but it looks fun. We just love this place and can't wait to return!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ruebz74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2010

It was my family and some family friends, and we had decided to take a fun vacation to the Dells. We found this hotel on the dells.com website and thought to give it a try. I called to get information on pricing and about getting adjoining rooms (being as we were two families with kids). I was told that there would only be a $10 fee tacked on to the total for adjoining rooms and that the first nights rent would be our deposit. And when we get there, we'd be charged for the rest of our stay. Typical procedure for all hotels. Well, apparently not here! They only held a $100 on the card to reserve the room, so when we got there we were hit with the full on amount of $251.99! We were not prepared to pay so much, hence why we made the reservations in MARCH! Then, we come to find that they don't have room service nor a restaurant/bar in the hotel. Not even breakfast is offered! WTF right?! AND to top it off, she told us that the air conditioning in MY room was not working properly and it might shut off! HELLO! It's 90 some degrees outside!
So, the end of our trip comes and we get ready to checkout. So the lady at the front desk says we owe another $10 because we didn't tell her we had kids with us! I lost it at this point. My husband told me and I stormed to the front desk to see what her deal was. All I got out of the lady was "I told you in March when you made the reservations about the charge." How in the hell are you gonna remember what you told me and I don't know how many poeple that day, what you said?! I told her verbatem what she had told me over the phone and she had the nerve to answer the phone while I was talking to her! She is rude, unprofessional, and slow as molasses!! My husband and I are going to call our bank today and send the whole charge back! It was such a terribly run hotel and the owners should retire and sell it to people who KNOW how to run a hotel properly!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MKapfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2010

My wife and I travel back to the dells almost every summer and even a couple of times at that. We've stayed at the Alakai Hotel years ago and decided to come back to this hotel remembering their great service and clean rooms. This trip was no exception(June 24,25,26 2010), the lady at the front desk greeted us with a warm welcome and everyone there makes us feel like we are at home.

For the two us, we're not demanding so a good size outdoor pool for adults(and kids of course) with music playing was a great pleasure for us. The indoor pool had a decent sized swimming pool, jacuzzi, and sauna for adults.

We have recommend this to all of our friends and relatives. Thanks for a great getaway Alakai Hotel!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdr_xd100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2010

First time here and we enjoyed our 3 night stay. Staff was very friendly,rooms were very clean, coffee at the front desk in the morning, fast food nearby.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 123brandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2010

This is our third trip to the Dells and our first stay at the Alakai Hotel. I found this hotel to be distinctively different from the others in the Dells. For one I definitely found it to be a lot more cleanly than the others. It was nice to get away from those Waterpark hotels we were used to and finally just relax and enjoy our trip. We definitely make Alakai our choice of Hotel for our next visits to the Dells.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pootz47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2010

Our cozy trip to the dells was fulfilled by the comfortable stay at the Alakai. Kids had a blast, the slides were perfect for our little guys to play on. Standard room was fine for us because of our tight budget now-a-days. Great little weekend getaway..Thanks so much!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kathygee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#14 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
2.1 mi away
Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suite...
#33 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
3.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center
Wintergreen Resort & Conference ...
#19 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#54 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
3.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Su...
#6 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#15 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alakai Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alakai Hotel and Suites

Property: Alakai Hotel and Suites
Address: 1030 Wisconsin Dells Pkwy, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-9757
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alakai Hotel and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Alakai Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alakai Hotel Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing