We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth what we paid!!!!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cedar Lodge & Settlement

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cedar Lodge & Settlement
Ranked #4 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not worth what we paid!!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2010

The staff were wonderful, very accommodating, But...
1. At $395 per night plus taxes and fees (totaling $455 per night) this place was definitely not worth the money.
2. The Master Villa was too small to be classified as such
3. We were not informed that the porch banister was broken and one of children nearly fell off when he leaned on it... we called management and was told that they'd take care of it, but no such thing happened the entire 3 days we were there.
4. The porch lights were burned out and after reporting the issue, we still went without porch lights (so we could grill in the evening) during our entire stay.
5. There was quite a bit of black mold in the spa tub (in the jets)...we were too grossed out to even use that tub.
6. For the price, we were expecting luxury...but got no such thing... the pictures on the website are very deceiving.
7. The wifi was not available in the loge rooms
...In the end, paying nearly $1000 for 2 nights, we feel like we didn't get our money's worth. This place is too outdated for their prices.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank syncere4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dellmanager, Front Office Manager at Cedar Lodge & Settlement, responded to this review, 19 August 2010
Thanks for letting us know about your stay. The railings have been fixed on the balcony. The light on the patio was unscrewed. The Master villa is twice the size of a great room villa and accommodates up to 8 people.10 people is to many to fit comfortably. Wifi works just fine in the lodge. We would be more than happy to help you log on. Water park passes are included for your whole stay for every guest. A great extra value, that our guests love. We hope you enjoyed your time here in the Dells. Again we appreciate you letting us know about your stay. Thanks Cedar Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    82
    19
    10
    1
See reviews for
244
146
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Naperville
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2010

Really surprised by how disappointing this place was. We stayed in Room 19 (apparently each room is independently owned so other rooms may be better). It was extremely dark without any reading lights and had a strong chemical smell, like lacquer, that hit you in the face when you walked in. The bed was also extremely poor, like sleeping in a bean bag - it was just way to soft. They decor was cool but couldn't get past the dark, smelly room and the bad mattress. The setting is nice - the kids enjoyed the small pool and the view was great from our balcony. They are pretty close to having a nice place but the negatives just overwhelmed everything else.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ELO66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dellmanager, Front Office Manager at Cedar Lodge & Settlement, responded to this review, 18 August 2010
First we would like to thank you for choosing Cedar Lodge. The units are individually owned- We appreciate you letting us know how you felt about your stay. The beds are new and we are sorry you didn't find them comfortable. We will also let the unit owner know your concern about the lighting. The units are sprayed with air freshner before every stay. Hope you and your family had a good time while you were here in the Dells and enjoyed the free water park passes. Once agian thanks for your feedback. Cedar Lodge and Settlement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2010

If you are looking to go to the Wisconsin Dells, there are plenty of places to stay. Most are right along the main street there - Dells Parkway or are part of the larger resorts.
The Cedar Lodge is right on the Wisconsin River about two miles away from the attractions. This is perfect for when you want to relax and enjoy some quiet time on your vacation. We rented a 2 bedroom cabin which is a log cabin. Great place, well kept and staff very attentive. The property is right on the river and at night they had a bonfie which the kids loved. For us - we loved that there was no crowds and did not have to park somewhere remote.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thebronx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2010

We met up with some friends from around the country. Wisconsin dells was a central location for us. We are really happy we chose cedar lodge. Great location-just minutes from everything. But you don't even feel like your near the dells. The rooms were really clean. Everything seemed new. We didn't get maid service, but the staff was really accommodating They went above and beyond for us to make sure we were comfortable and had a good time. The watermark was nice. We really enjoyed the reunion and even made reservations for next year. If you want a peaceful place on the water-this is the place. Nightly bonfire was amazing! We also received a discount for zip line and that is a must do if you go to the dells.
Ohh and NO mesquites! If you go on a duck ride they tell you why. See ya next year.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hhroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCONOMOWOC WI
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2010

Stayed in Master Villa #8, which consisted of a micro size kitchen, very small family room, dining room, 2 small bedrooms, and 2 bathrooms. Rack rate was $395 per night during the week plus $10 resort fee. Chris did give me $75 off per night when I asked for a deal. Had I paid the full rate I would have been very dissapointed.
I know it's prime time in the Dells, but still thought was overpriced considering how small the unit was. The smaller bathroom was right there when you entered, and had some mold on the ceiling and peeling wallpaper. The unit also had a funky smell the whole time-kind of like must. The sliding glass door was incredibly hard to open. The master bedroom didn't have a dresser. Lighting was very poor, very dark in room.
Bed was only so-so as far as comfort. 2nd bedroom had no dresser, but comfy double beds and a view to die for! Sleeper sofa in the family room was very uncomfy!!
The best part of the experience was the view and the big deck and nice new grill.
Grounds were nice, and pool was small and a little cold. Staff seemed friendly. Nobody came to unit to change towels or empty garbage. Garbage outside unit smelled to high heaven. Kids enjoyed the free passes to Chula Vista. Very quiet location.
All in all, we tried to laugh off all the bad things as we were trying to have a good time, but I honestly cannot say I would ever stay there again. I did a lot of checking before I booked, and was not impressed after the stay with the rate for what we got. Sorry!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SILVERLAKEBUM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Troy, Wisconsin
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2010

Walked in, really musty, air conditioning didn't work. Offered an OK alternative, but who wants to leave their place after they settled in to sleep in a different room? They did rig it to work on day two but we only stayed for two evenings. The front door screen (although nice they had one) kept falling off. That wouldn't have bothered me except the patio door was hard to open and the screen was lacking a handle. The bathroom was pretty small. The tub was wiped down but it looked like it needed a strong dose of cleaner. There was mold above the tub on the wallpaper in a corner where the ceiling was starting to bubble. It needed updating (at least, to charge what they do). Housekeeping consisted of emptying a garbage can--I had to ask for new towels. They didn't even ask my husband how our stay was when we checked out...that really says something. The positives would have been clean pool, great dual recliners, nice bedding, nice towels, nice view of river, nice riverside swings, liked the bonfire, quiet However, it wasn't enough for us to come back. Oh, and lightbulbs. Really need brighter lightbulbs or another lamp. If you watch their online video and it looks dark....it is because it is.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travwithfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2010

Went up there with a group of 7 friends. We rented a cabin that had 2 bedrooms, a living room, loft, 2 bathrooms and a nice size kitchen. The loft had two beds and a sofa, perfect size! The sofa in the living room turned into a sleeper, perfect for 7 people!!! We were very impressed with how clean the entire cabin was, from the linen to the dished! Everything was spotless!
The location was great..... Its surrounded with lots of trees and the Wisconsin river is located right in front of the villas... The campfire at night time is great for s'mores! If you need to go to the store Walmart is about 10 minutes away. Downtown Wisconsin Dells is about 10-15 minutes away..
Managment is great! If you need anything or have any questions they are very helpful. Clem (part of the managment team) very attentive to all of our needs and questions.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mangohungry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#3 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
2.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#22 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Su...
#6 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#14 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
2.7 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#54 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
3.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
2.4 mi away
Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Lodge
#11 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Lodge & Settlement? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Lodge & Settlement

Property: Cedar Lodge & Settlement
Address: E11232 Hillside Dr, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-9739
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#3 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cedar Lodge & Settlement 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Wisconsin River on the Lower Dells. Close to attractions, yet quiet and secluded. Relax and unwind in the summer with nightly bonfires along 400 ft. of sandy beach. Admire the Bald Eagles in the winter. Beautiful, clean riverview log units and friendly staff invite you and your family to make memories that will last a lifetime. Free water park passes included year round for every registered guest. Discount book and splash pass included with every reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Cedar Lodge & Settlement reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Lodge And Settlement
Cedar Lodge & Settlement Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Cedar Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Cedar Hotel Settlement

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing