We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good- for a Motel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shamrock Motel Resort & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shamrock Motel Resort & Suites
Ranked #19 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Goodland, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Good- for a Motel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

Myself, my friend and our 10 year old children stayed at the Shamrock for 2 nights. I was originally going to stay at the Hilton but thought we should be thrifty and spend our money on things on attractions and not worry about spending much time in our motel.

The good: This place is a great value. We stayed mid-week for $100/night. With wristbands to Chula Vista for the entire stay, $25.00 Noah’s Ark passes (you can get $10 next day passes when you leave Noah's Ark the first day!) and an abundance of coupons and combo packs.

I didn’t use the pools but the kids did and they looked clean and fun. The rooms was also clean and was large for a motel room.

The shower was spotless and had good temp control and the towels were not hairy (I read this was a problem for a few other reviewers, they must've gotten it figured out). The customer service was outstanding! We were always greeted with a smile and lots of information and help whenever we went to the office with questions. In particular, we had some noise issues (see the bad) and when I called the front desk, they immediately sprang into action and tried to find the source of the noise.

The bad: The first night of our stay, we were watching some TV before dozing off around 11pm when we noticed that we could hear someone else’s' tv over ours. When our TV was turned off, the noise was so loud and distracting that none of us could even think about sleeping. It sounded like someone brought with their surround sound Dolby speakers and hooked them up to an adjoining wall...it was bad. We called the front desk and while they checked around for the noise and asked our neighbors to turn down their TV, it still didn’t stop until 1am. Being on the 1st floor we could also hear everyone’s footsteps above us which was a bummer when we were really trying to get some rest to get back at all of the fun the next day.

Another bad is the fact that there is no coffee maker in the room. Kind of disappointing to have to walk to the office for a tiny cup of coffee then back again and again. So that you can wake up because you were up all night listening to your neighbor's TV.

And last but not least...the beds are hard as a rock but should be expected for a value motel. In preparation for them being very bad I went to Wal-Mart the first night and bought a foam pad to help out with this which helped and allowed for better sleep then had I not had it.

Overall if you stay at the Shamrock, expect firm-hard beds and some noise but also expect a great value and a clean place to sleep and shower with VERY friendly customer service. I would stay again but would ask for a 2nd floor room and bring with my egg carton cushion for the bed and a large coffee cup to fill up in the office each morning.

Room Tip: Get a 2nd floor room and close to the office if you like your coffee!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DellsShamrockMotel, Manager at Shamrock Motel Resort & Suites, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Hello Andrea,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our motel. I appreciate your honesty and feedback.

I'm glad to read that the staff were helpful in answering all of your questions , that you enjoyed the room, and that the kids enjoyed the pools!

I do apologize for the lack of consideration from fellow travelers. When we came to take care of the situation, it seemed as though they understood and complied. I'm sorry to read that they hadn't, we could/would have come out again had we known they hadn't complied.

I am glad to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to serving you and your family next time you are visiting beautiful Wisconsin Dells!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    54
    16
    9
    4
See reviews for
133
16
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

We took our 3rd trip (3rd year in a row) to WI dells with our kids. (8 years old and 5 months old)We decided to try a new motel this year, since we started this yearly tradition so far in the 3 years we have stayed at a differant place each time. This place is great. it is clean, convienant and the staff are very VERY fast and happy to help you in any way. When we arrived we were early and they were still cleaning our room.. we checked out the outdoor pool, and the playground (swing set, horse swings and a small turntable play yard for kids, grills and picnic tables) It was a great set up. They let us check in as soon as our room was cleaned! The room is great. shower was super clean, shower curtain looked brand new, no hair dryer (called the office though and they will bring one right to your room) the bed was actually very very comfortable! Since our daughter is only 5 months old we brought along the pack and play and set it up at the end of the bed, there was still enough room to move around with that all set up.. and those can take up alot of space! its pretty standard for the hotels/motels in the dells to offer water park tickets, discounts and little buy one get one deal cards... the shamrock this year offered free chula vista tickets for everynight of the stay (they give u a wrist band and actually require u to wear it weather you go to the water park or not) they also had a 40% off discount for noah's ark... and they give you 2 differant buy one get one free deal cards and fun cards. They have a fun game room for the kids, indoor pool is clean and well maintanced. outdoor pool area is great! basketball hoop, slide and diving board (both pools were extremely cold.. the weather was in the 70's and 80's though so maybe thats why) The guests next to our room complained about bed bugs, the owners were in and out of the room and even called an exterminator in to check it out. The guests had stayed at the shamrock for over 5 years in a row and they ended up leaving that night. We asked the owners what happened and they told us, and the exterminator said there was no bed bugs, we went in the room to even confirm and its true.. there was nothing! The guest smashed a bug on the wall and was extremely upset thinking they had bed bugs or something.. apparently he was drunk.. and it was obvisous! naturally we just wanted to check our room and there was NOTHING.. the mattress looked very clean and in great shape.. no sign of any gross bugs! We stayed on the lower level 2 bedroom queen room. i was worried about noise from the upper units but honestly did not hear anything. i just heard someone walking around one time. If you are sitting outside on the chairs outside the window of your room.. and someone is walking around on the walkway upstairs.. THAT IS noisy.. but you cant hear it from inside your room! Also i was worried about the parking.. the hotel was full and we stayed out late a few nights and when we returned to the motel there was still at least one or 2 parking spaces available and in the even there is not, they let you park in the handicap spaces (as long as they're is isnt needed by someone else) and they let you park in the grass area as well!

all in all, we would definetley stay here again. the location is great, right on wisconsin dells parkway (right where you WANT to stay )walking distance to a conveince store, food, waterparks, and tons of attractions!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ktina0126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DellsShamrockMotel, Manager at Shamrock Motel Resort & Suites, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our property. We really appreciate it!

The beginning part of 4th of July Weekend, wasn't Wisconsin's shining moment weather wise, as it was a little chilly, which does factor into the coolness of the water, but it sounds like you had a good time anyway! Our Queen Guest Rooms, which is the room style you had stayed in, were remodeled Spring 2012. We truly pride ourselves in maintaining our property, exteriors and interiors.
We take any concerns from customers seriously and want to ensure everyone's stay is pleasant and comfortable. We felt that we took the appropriate actions to assure you and your family had a great stay!
It was great to see your smiling faces walking back from watching the fireworks display just down the road on the 4th. It's so wonderful to see families enjoying their time in Wisconsin Dells!
We look forward to hosting you again the next time you are in Wisconsin Dells!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Manchester, Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

The Shamrock is a great place to stay if you aren't picky about hotels. The staff is very friendly and very helpful. Upon check-in you are given tons of coupons and a map. With your stay you are given free admission everyday to Chula Vista waterpark and 40% off waterpark passes each day to Noah's Ark (which is right across the street!) The room itself has a table and chairs, dresser, mini fridge, and a microwave. They have an indoor pool, outdoor pool, and a hot tub. The hotel itself was very quiet when we stayed. We were able to sleep without hearing any noise from anyone. Our room was cleaned each day and we always had enough fresh towels. We didn't see any stains on anything. It is a bit outdated but we didn't go on vacation to be in our hotel the entire time, so it didn't make a difference. The hotel is not very expensive compared to the other fancy hotels in this area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank swillcox89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DellsShamrockMotel, Manager at Shamrock Motel Resort & Suites, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We really appreciate it!
I'm happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us! It sounds as though were a great fit for your time in Wisconsin Dells!

Our housekeeping staff comes around everyday to make up your room to ensure your stay is comfortable.

I hope that the next time you are in the Dells, we will be your hosts! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

Everything about this place is phenomenal.. the people..the rooms.. the atmosphere was amazing.. the people there made you feel like your part of the family. We booked a room for two days and ended up stating another night. We would have stayed longer if we didn't have to work... We will be coming back and telling everyone about this place.. Thank you so much for the amazing serivce.... Tommy and Destinie... Sullivan Wisonsin...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomdes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DellsShamrockMotel, Manager at Shamrock Motel Resort & Suites, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Dear Tommy and Destinie!
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay! I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay It was a pleasure to have you stay with us! We pride ourselves on being a family managed property and want to extend that atmosphere to our guests.

I look forward to seeing you next time! Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

We were in a second floor double queen which was spacious and clean. There were windows at both ends of the room which was really nice. Staff very friendly and helpful. The pools were fantastic: both indoor and outdoor pools were very clean and in good repair. The outdoor pool is nine feet deep with a small diving board, something you don't see much these days, and we loved it,

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DellsShamrockMotel, Manager at Shamrock Motel Resort & Suites, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our property! We really appreciate it!
I'm happy to read that you enjoyed our pools. We are one of the few properties that feature a diving board at our outdoor pool, along with a basketball hoop and slide.

I'm glad to read our staff was helpful with any questions you may have had. It is our goal to make your stay with us as pleasant as possible!

I hope that we are able to be your hosts the next time you are visiting beautiful Wisconsin Dells!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

My family and I just returned from a June 23 - 28 stay at the Shamrock.

MOTEL: We stayed in a second floor room with 2 queen beds and found it to be spacious enough for all of us to spread out with minimum infringement. My daughter (16) and two great nephews (10 and 17) enjoyed swimming and splashing in the well maintained indoor and outdoor pools and relaxing in the jacuzzi while I took welcomed advantage of lunch/dinner prep on provided outdoor grills located on the nicely manicured lawn which also had picnic tables and a kiddie play area.
It seems as if the Shamrock management really strives to keep their property clean and appealing; and their guest comfortable and satisfied. Most noticeably, I saw the constant presence of management monitoring and working the grounds and interacting with their guest. The Shamrock office staff was pleasant and helpful; and always had fresh coffee available at stated times.

ADDED PLUS: We received a free Fun Card and Splash Pass with our room which offered great 2 for 1 deals for many desired attractions and restaurants and a discount ticket for four to Mt Olympus; thank you Shamrock Motel! We also received free passes to Chula Vista water park which is a fantastic bonus if you are driving.

LOCATION: This was very important to me as we did not drive to the Dells. While located approximately 2.5 miles from downtown Dells (taxi for 4 passengers was $26.00 round-trip plus tip), the Shamrock is truly located across the street from Noah's Ark, within a very comfortable walking distance from various fun and popular attractions and restaurants including boat tours, go-carts, Hot Dog Avenue, Mr. Pancake, Pizza Ranch (nice reasonable buffet), Pizza Pub; and although within walking distance to the Mt. Olympus entrance, I would not recommend the walk on a hot day nor for young children or older individuals. Chula Vista tickets were included with our stay but we only used the pass once because of the $42.00 round trip taxi cost (approx 6.7 miles from motel). Walmart, approx.1.6 miles from motel, one passenger round-trip was $24.00.

CONCLUSION: WE WILL DEFINITELY STAY AT THE SHAMROCK AGAIN AND RECOMMEND IT TO ANYONE LOOKING FOR A CLEAN, QUIET AND FAMILY FRIENDLY PLACE IN A GREAT LOCATION IN THE DELLS.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DellsShamrockMotel, Manager at Shamrock Motel Resort & Suites, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review! We really appreciate it! I'm so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and all of the wonderful perks we offer at our establishment!

We are conveniently located near many attractions and restaurants. We strive to maintain our property clean and well kept.

We look forward to being your hosts the next time you are visiting beautiful Wisconsin Dells!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crivitz, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

Stayed one night in a double queen room. The beds were alright, I've found much worse at other places. Nice size room with fridge and microwave. Clean place, we were on bottom level so there was a lot of foot traffic as previously stated. We picked the Shamrock because you get a Dells fun card & Splash pass free with each room, which is a great offer! Also, free Chula Vista passes for each day you stay. Friendly customer service.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank April W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DellsShamrockMotel, General Manager at Shamrock Motel Resort & Suites, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Thank you for you great review of our property! I'm happy to read that you enjoyed your stay! We strive to offer the best service we can to our guests! We too are thrilled that we can offer our guests the Fun Card and Splash Card! There are great deals on each one! We hope to see you again the next time you are visiting the Waterpark Capital of the World, Wisconsin Dells!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
1.7 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#14 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
2.1 mi away
Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center
Wintergreen Resort & Conference ...
#20 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
1.9 mi away
Alakai Hotel and Suites
Alakai Hotel and Suites
#36 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#15 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
1.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#22 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
1.6 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#54 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
3.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shamrock Motel Resort & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shamrock Motel Resort & Suites

Property: Shamrock Motel Resort & Suites
Address: 1321 Wisconsin Dells Pkwy, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-8449
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#14 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shamrock Motel Resort & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly across from Noah's Ark, Shamrock Motel offers something for everyone! We are walking distance to Big Foot Ziplines, the Dells Army Ducks, Tommy Bartlett's Thrill Show, and more! Enjoy our newly renovated rooms, free wi-fi, and complimentary coffee. We offer many great deals to area attractions and restaurants. After a day of fun, relax in our indoor and outdoor pools, have a BBQ and picnic on our spacious lawn area, while the kids play on the swings. Perhaps you would rather enjoy a meal out on the town, we are located right next to Hot Dog Avenue, Mr. Pancake, BJ's, and many other great family restaurants! When planning your next family vacation to beautiful Wisconsin Dells, check us out! You will be glad you did! Let our family take care of yours, at Shamrock Motel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Shamrock Motel Resort & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shamrock Motel Resort And Suites
Shamrock Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Shamrock Motel Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing