We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Location, Nice People, Men's Showers are horrible”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bonanza Campground & RV Park
Lake in the Hills, Illinois
1 review
“Nice Location, Nice People, Men's Showers are horrible”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

My family and I stayed there last week and overall we had a very nice time. But, when I went to take a shower, I found that the only temperature available in the men's showers is scalding hot. There is no cold water being piped into the shower heads and no temperature controls, just on and off. On top of this, the showers and bathrooms in general were smelly and broken down. For the $550 we paid to have (2) sites for the week. They could afford to replace (2) shower heads. What ever happened to cheap camping?

Room Tip: You do not need (2) sites to have (2) tents. You can pay for the extra tents separately.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    10
    12
    5
    9
See reviews for
37
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Blaine, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

I stay here every year tent camping. The place is family owned and run, in fact there are no other hired employees. They have been very nice and accommodating every time we have been there. One year they even helped us start our campfire...did you know that potato chips do the trick!?! The bathrooms are small and old but are clean. I dont expect them to be super modern when camping. They take very good care of the campground and can be seen working early in the morning until the evening. They patrol the grounds after dark to maintain a quiet and safe place to sleep. Drunks will be throw out if they get rowdy! We travel a bit to get here and they never charge us if we check in early or leave late. They are located in a great spot and always give you free tickets to something when you stay with then.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

Have been camping there since my parent took me there in '79. I love this campground Its off the "strip" but close enough that you can walk to the nearby waterparks, the original wisconsin ducks, and many other attractions. No there showers are not 5 star quality but it is a campground and they are there for function not fashion. To all who complain that there is nothing but dirt and sand, well welcome to the great outdoors. I look forward to spending time here every summer.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cobblemizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

After reading a bunch of the reviews on this site, I was apprehensive about our trip to the Bonanza Campground over Labor Day Weekend. All reviews are subjective, but this was our experience:

We arrived on Friday about 2 hours before check-in time. The staff was friendly and checked us in anyway without even suggesting charging us the $25 early check-in fee. The office area is small and dark, but it serves it's purpose. We didn't use the pool but it looked clean and well-kept and the people splashing about inside seemed to be enjoying themselves..

Our campsite was #9 in the Full Service area. It was a pull-through spot that easily suited our 24' pop-up trailer. Water and electric hookups were easy and well-maintained. Green space was roughly identical to the parking space, which suited our needs just fine. Our spot had a picnic table and a fire box.

Our weekend was peaceful and very nice. The bathrooms were small but clean (showers and stalls) and our neighbors were respectful, dropping noise levels by 10 or so each night and keeping mostly to themselves.

It rained most evenings pretty hard, but the sites were sloped nicely and drainage wasn't a problem.

All in all, we really didn't have any complaints. Sure, the site is older and the spots aren't the largest, but you're across the street from Mt Olympus and about 3 blocks from Noah's Ark. We came back to our campsite for lunch each day and the Summer Saver package that the campground offers saved us about $100 in total park admission fees.

Room Tip: Pay the extra amount for a Water/Electric or Full Service site, more space and quietter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mr_Schaefer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

not the clean modern shower facilities described on their site by any means. Dirty shower block. cigarette butts over our campsite. Great location but that is all it has going for it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmecv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wisconsin Dells hotels

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
111 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

Based on the reviews, we were not expecting much. Yes, this is an older RV park and is not comparable to a state campground. However, the location exceeded our expectations -- right on the Wis Dells Pkway, across the street from Mt. Olympus Waterpark, and 1/2 block from the Original Wisconsin Ducks. We were assigned spot #1, right next to the pool and office/store, but with the A/C or fan on in our RV, we didn't hear any outdoor noise. And even though our "green space" was about the same size as our concrete parking pad, there was enough room for a picnic table and fire ring. We enjoyed a cozy dinner and campfire our first night there, and the owners came and delivered the wood right to our site! We used the bathrooms right next to the office and the pool, and they were perfectly acceptable -- one of the toilets was not flushing, but within minutes of my alerting the office of the problem, they fixed it. They were offering free admission to Chula Vista's waterpark, which for our family of 5 is a huge savings and well worth the 15 minute drive!

If people are willing to "rough it", just a little (we are in a campground in a tourist destination, after all), and if people can take a minute to clean up after themselves and be respectful of their fellow campers, it is a pleasant. convenient and economical way to enjoy the Dells!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlobalViewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

We actually left a day early because of the noise at this campground! The quiet hours were not enforced and we got no sleep. People were putting as many as 5-6 tents on a one-tent site so they could all party together and nothing was done about it. The owners admitted they were trying to deal with the problem and had the police there three times and yet it continued. How many times does a group need to be warned? So instead we were the ones who had to leave and we were the quiet, rule-abiding group...oh, and no refund for our early departure either! The sites are literally on top of each other and the mini golf course is a joke. The pool was ok and the location to major attractions was good. That's the only reason I am giving this a "poor" rating instead of a "terrible" rating. Will never go back there again!

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank betsyj16640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#3 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Su...
#6 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
1.3 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#54 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
3.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Arrowhead RV Resort
Arrowhead RV Resort
#2 of 23 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
1.8 mi away
Wisconsin Dells KOA
Wisconsin Dells KOA
#3 of 23 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
3.8 mi away
Edge-O-Dells Resort
Edge-O-Dells Resort
#9 of 23 in Wisconsin Dells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bonanza Campground & RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonanza Campground & RV Park

Property: Bonanza Campground & RV Park
Address: 1770 Wisconsin Dells Pkwy, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-8429
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Bonanza Campground & Rv Park Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Bonanza Campground And Rv Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing