We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stand Rock Campground
Markesan, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent stay!”
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and i stayed a weekend with our 3 girls, 15, 12, and 8. The staff was so friendly and helpful from reservation throughout our stay! The campsites are huge! The pool is large, clean, and has a shallow and deep end, which was great for our family. Playground was more for younger kids, so we did not use it. The basketball courts are nice, but quite a hike from the campsites, so kinda a bummer. Bathrooms/showers are immaculate! Mini golf is nice. Not a huge challenge, but was fun and cheap. And be sure to stop in for a sundae when your done! Delish!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Josie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    23
    8
    6
    6
See reviews for
45
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kittanning, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We just finished a trip of almost 8,000 miles across 17 states. Of the many places we stayed along our journey, Stand Rock was our favorite!!!! We wish we could have stayed here longer. A beautiful campground. A beautiful setting. We didn't have a great deal of interaction with the staff, but we did talk to the owner who was very friendly. My husband especially liked the catch and release pond.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bellesdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

The campground is great. We spent three nights there in September.

Nice distance between sites. Free coffee in the morning. Modern bathrooms. Great hiking trails. Perfect location in the dells. We will go again.

Minor tips:

* plenty of reviews here note the cranky owner. We met a male owner that seemed very cranky. Not sure why this person wants to work in a public job like running a campground but we did not feel welcome around this person. We talked to owners of seasonal sites and they were very aware of this person.

* The shower rooms were not wiped down for a long time. Dead bugs in the light fixtures and on the walls.

Room Tip: Stay in a full hook-up site. Great locations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce-Two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

A beautiful campground with awesome bathrooms but beware--there is no TV reception here and no cable hookups. We also had problems with low electrical voltage--not what we expected for the price we paid.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank glasshouse1386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richland Center
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

This campground is beautiful and in a perfect setting. We've been camping here for years and the staff is never friendly. They have no customer service skills, have no idea what hospitality means, and treat people like they are just a bother to them. However, there is no reason to deal with them AFTER checking in, so stay away from the office, store, and restaurant. If they welcomed people and were hospitable it would be great to spend time there, but. . . The other campers are so friendly and willing to help there is no reason to deal with the rudeness of Steve and Michelle. Go to town for your fun, shop at Zinkes or Walmart, and there are restaurants nearby that are very good that are not the tourist traps or chains. You can enjoy your stay here if you don't have to interact with any of the owners. Weird, but true.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Shirley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We had a great experience with staying at the Stand Rock Campground. The restrooms are extraordinary! The staff at the front desk were friendly and very helpful. We were right next to the access highway, but there didn't seem to be much traffic on it. The campground is easy to find and close to the interstate and the Dells activities. We will definitely be staying there again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrandmaC44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Lenox, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

The grounds are about 2-3 miles from the main attractions and downtown area. The grounds and pool were clean and well kept. The cell reception and wifi at the campground is spotty 9even when right outside their main building), but its not entirely their fault. Just frustrating when you have a work issue and need to get online and can't.
If we get back up to the Dells, we would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
4.9 mi away
Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center
Wintergreen Resort & Conference ...
#19 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
2.2 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#54 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
3.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
2.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#22 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Arrowhead RV Resort
Arrowhead RV Resort
#3 of 24 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
1.2 mi away
Edge-O-Dells Resort
Edge-O-Dells Resort
#10 of 24 in Wisconsin Dells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
1.2 mi away
Day's End Motel
Day's End Motel
#7 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stand Rock Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stand Rock Campground

Property: Stand Rock Campground
Address: N570 County Rd N, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-9122
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 250
Also Known As:
Stand Rock Campground Hotel Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing