We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant campground!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stand Rock Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stand Rock Campground
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very pleasant campground!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2010

We stayed at Stand Rock for 8 nights. We had a great experience. We arrived on a Friday late afternoon and were happy to see they had a Friday night fish fry. It was really good! They have more of a menu on the weekends and are more limited menu during the week, but their food is really good. My boys 14 & 11 had ice cream every day maybe 2-3 times a day! Very good! We stayed by the mini golf course, which was peaceful. You can see on their 360 video about the sites. They have a shower building that is huge and has a lot of showers, very nice. We walked the campground and really couldn't find a bad camping spot, they are all good. We always had pleasant experiences with the staff. You can tell they work hard to keep their campground nice. They are owners/workers and will accomodate you because they want your business. We were sad we didn't get to eat more at their bar/restaurant because the food was so good. Next time, we would stay and enjoy the campground more instead of running wild thru the Dells like we did. Their pool is really nice and has a deep end for the older kids. Very clean area with a huge gazebo. We wish the pool was open until 10pm or something. It closes at dusk. Many of the shows in the Dells don't get out until dark, so we never got a chance to swim much. They have security guards that walk the campground and check cars coming in at night, so felt very secure. Never had any problems with safety or things missing. The seasonal's are way in the back of the campground and were very nice when we walked or drove thru the area. We stayed in a 5th wheel. Not a partying campground, a family campground. They can accomodate the bigger campers which is nice. Nice space between fellow campers. The only thing my husband and I would like to see would be some concrete pads for a patio area. That would make it perfect for us. We will go back to Stand Rock on our next vacation! TIP for the Dells, buy the coupon book for $19.99 it saves you loads of money. In the Dells Area guide there is a $3.00 off coupon for this book. It is available at the Holiday Outlet Store. Really good deals in June especially.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolynC46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    23
    8
    6
    6
See reviews for
45
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baraboo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2010

They just don'g come any better than Standrock Campground, Wisconsin Dells...
Adult and kIddie pool, playground equipment, restaurant/bar..fantastic food prepared by Chefs Steve and Beth, gameroom, two fishing ponds, huge sites, the most up-to-date restrooms/showers--better than home!!! Price is right, fantastic owners! We have traveled in Minnesota, Michigan, Illinois, Iowa, West Virginia, Virginia and we always compare the campgrounds in other states to Standrock...like comparing Fields at the Wilderness steaks to McDonald's $1.00 menu.....with Standrock being Fields. Don't pass up the opportunity to stay at Standrock. You won't be sorry!!!!
Denny and Julie R.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2Rosesplus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2010

We have camped in the Dells for over 25 years and have tried almost all the campgrounds in the area--we always return to Stand Rock for many reasons. The bathrooms and showers are the cleanest I have ever seen and have never been to any at a campground that compare. The staff has always been friendly and VERY helpful. We had vehicle problems on a holiday and with no mechanics available in the area--the staff helped us for over 3 hours. They also always lead us in the right direction for savings on attractions, and local places to eat. Most of the time we eat our meals at the campground since the food is fantastic and cheaper that most places in town. This is a quiet family campground not a party place. We have never had a problem with noisy neighbors. On the occasion that we wanted to change sites they accomodated us no questions asked. We like that most of the people who camp here take pride in the place as well as the owners. This is why we see so many familiar faces each time we go there, The seasonal area is beautiful as well as the rest of the park. CLEAN, CLEAN, CLEAN! Highly suggest Stand Rock to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank musicloverAppleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beloit, Wi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2010

Wow, the management of this facility hates their jobs/customers. Gary and his former wife were popping off comments to eachother and very rude in the store. We asked them if we could be moved as our next door neighbors wanted to party and we did not. She said it is not their poilcy to move people and we would have to deal with it. I asked her if there were any additional sites availible she said there were but would not move us. This is the second time we stayed here and the owners were so rude it was almost entertaining. I am done going here, there are several other campground that actually want our business...

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Fletch1229Beloit_Wi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genoa, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2009

The other reviews on this campground pretty much say it all. Pro's- VERY clean bathrooms, very quite and resectful fellow campers, decent drive back to town, clean camp ground in general, pool, general store, and clubhouse are good, and there seamed to be little to no bugs/pests. Con's- management could be a bit more friendly, Road noise from the highway was exceptionally loud at night from I-90 (since campground was so quite).. we choose to be close to the pool up front (for kids sake)... and it turned out to not be worth it due to the noise... would like to pick spot next time towards rear of campground. There seemed to be a lot of dogs in this campground.. pro for some cons for others (tend to hear barking matches from time to time). and lastly... when reservations were made over phone... management told me only two spots where available to choose from... not true... not even a 1/4 of the tent sites where even used over the weekend???
All in all... not a bad campground... think the positives out weight the cons. Would recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1977Genoa_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NH
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2009

We chose Stand Rock campground based on a review I read comparing most of the campgrounds in Wisconsin Dells. We were pleased. There were five of us: 2 adults: kids 7, 11, and 13. We were in tents. The bathrooms were impeccable. Definitely the nicest bathrooms I've seen in my campground experience. Medium sized sites. Good pool. Very quiet neighbors. You could hear the Interstate - but based on maps, I'm not sure we could have found a campground that wouldn't.
Hosts were great.

We arrived Sunday ~ 3:00 pm and then went to Noah's ark - recognizing we could get get in free the next day (with coupon). That was a great two hours. Fewer lines than the next day.

Based on Campground recommendation (and they had a coupon as well), we took a Jet Boat tour of the upper Dells. It was very fun. Definitely worth the relatively high price (~80 for the five of us). From what I understand, some of the boats take you to various places where you can disembark and get a better view of the rock and sand formations. This ride was right for us - given the three kids. Those in front (not us) got very wet and we got sprayed. It was good.

Monday we went back to Noah's Ark. As everyone advised, we got there before the 9:00 opening. Very nice place. We had relatively short lines (5-40 minutes) and were impressed with the staff at Noah's ark. Very very customer friendly. About noon we ate some $5.00 hot dogs, horrible pretzels and then decided to take a sun/line break and go to

International Crane Foundation. That was great. Go if you have any inkling. Very informative. Relatively quick (we took the tour, which I recommend).

I think we missed the worst of thesun and crowds at Noah's Ark by choosing to go to the crane Foundation b etween noon and 12. While we didn't realize it, it was very close to everything else. If you're like us - I advise getting to th epark EARLY and then doing something else mid-day. If Cranes aren't your thing - go eat at a restaurant off site. Noah's ark parking is free.

We went back to the park and stayed until closing (7:00). Lines were great 5:00-7:00.

We left the next morning ~9:00 and headed eastward...

Helpful?
Thank anortherFamilyNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2009

WE stayed at Stand Rock for our family vacation and can't say enough good about the place!. We have small children and appreciate the quiet and cleanliness of the park. The thing that we lpved most about this campground is the safe, secure atmosphere..we were ensured a good night sleep and didn't have to put up with the "rowdy", loud, rude campers that we have expereinced at campgrounds in the past. Everybody knows that an experience like that can totally ruin a vacation. There are plenty other parks in the area that cater to those disrespectul campers and we are so grateful that Stand Rock is not one of them. Management and staff went out of their way to be helpful in any way that they could. Besides that the bathroom/showers are the best I have ever encountered in my travels i speak for my family of 6 that there is no comparison to Stand Rock in the area!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LUV2CAMP35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Su...
#6 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin Dells
Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin De...
#24 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
2.4 mi away
Arrowhead RV Resort
Arrowhead RV Resort
#2 of 22 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Edge-O-Dells Resort
Edge-O-Dells Resort
#7 of 22 in Wisconsin Dells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chula Vista Resort
Chula Vista Resort
#40 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,111 reviews
3.0 mi away
All Star Inn & Suites
All Star Inn & Suites
#2 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
5.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stand Rock Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stand Rock Campground

Property: Stand Rock Campground
Address: N570 County Rd N, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-9122
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 250
Also Known As:
Stand Rock Campground Hotel Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing