We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wilderness on the Lake
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin Dells(Wisconsin Dells)(Great Value!)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells(Wisconsin Dells)(Great Value!)
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada Wisconsin Dells(Wisconsin Dells)(Great Value!)
US$76
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Great Wolf Lodge(Wisconsin Dells)
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kalahari Resorts & Conventions(Wisconsin Dells)(Great Value!)
US$210
Groupon.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Black Hawk Motel & Suites(Wisconsin Dells)(Great Value!)
US$77
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells(Wisconsin Dells)(Great Value!)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites(Wisconsin Dells)(Great Value!)
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alakai Hotel and Suites(Wisconsin Dells)(Great Value!)
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (452)
Filter reviews
452 results
Traveller rating
216
137
47
30
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
216
137
47
30
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbedroom condofull kitchenmain resortinfinity poolseason roomseason porchhot tublake deltonwater parkmain watergreat view of lakewasher dryerfour seasonsmaster bathroompaper towelsshuttle busgreat vacation
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
242 - 247 of 452 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We stayed on Wilderness on the Lake and loved our room and the beautiful view. The room we stayed in was a 2 bedroom condo with a 4 season room with a view of the lake. It also had a kitchen so we were able to bring food and I brought a crock pot, that way when we came home that evening our meal was ready. The Wilderness resort is a very big resort, so plan to do some walking. They do offer shuttle service from water park to water park and to Wilderness on the lake. They do have a lot of actives to do. Wilderness on the lake offers a small water park but our kids were older and liked the big more exciting rides the other water parks the Wilderness had but it did have a whirlpool that was indoor and outdoor, which was neat. We will plan to come again.

Room Tip: If you want quiet and not as busy stay at Wilderness on the lake. If you want to stay where the water parks are and don't mind the business stay in the hotel. Floor 5 in the wilderness hotel is the walk way so it is busy.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cimcidney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

I was very hesitant to stay after researching and reading the reviews but I was pleasantly surprised. Our extended family stayed a weekend in early March 2013 in room 402 that was a 3 bedroom condo w/ loft. There was 15 of us which included one little one and it great! Every bed and sofa sleeper was used but it was nice to be able to have all of us together.

We arrived a few hours early and the hotel was accommodating and we got into our room right away. We had issues with our dish washer and the staff sent someone up right away with an easy fix. Other than that, there was no need to interact with the hotel staff but always seemed friendly. We did go to the larger waterparks on Saturday and it was crowded but everything went smooth and there weren't any issues. Also, the shuttles were very prompt and we only waited for a short time for them to arrive.

The room was great and had everything we needed including a large front hall closet (It was winter and everyone had coats, boots, etc. so it was great to have a place to put them), washer and dryer, FULL kitchen and even a room that the men used as a "man cave". We made every meal and chose not to eat out. We spent most of our time at the hotel and the pool was great for all ages. The adults loved the outdoor hot tub/spa and the pool had enough to entertain the 8+ kids.

The one thing that I am the most impressed with was the noise. We were a very large group and I am sure made a lot of noise! After speaking with the neighbors we realized they couldn't hear us and we couldn't hear them nor anyone else. It put my mind at ease because we didn't want to have to whisper all the time and always ask the kids to be quiet.
*Suggestions*
*Stay in a condo if there is more than 5 of you. It's worth the room and you can save a lot by making meals and not eating out.
*Don't forget paper towels and napkins- There is a Walmart near but it was a madhouse and it was out of a lot of stuff.
* Bring our own Beach towels- I read the reviews before and we chose to bring our own beach towels and never had to deal with their "Pool Towel Policy"
*Bring sandals to walk to the pools even if you are going to the main resort. (of course, this is what I forgot!)

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amber D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

My family and I stayed 3 nights in Feb. What a wonderful waterpark! Clean, well maintained and their bus runs every 10-15minutes to the other indoor waterparks at the wilderness. It was great to have a full kitchen that we were able to cook dinner and enjoy family time in our condo. The price was perfect and we were able to have a few friends stop in and visit within the unit. This is a must see waterpark if you have not stayed here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familyfun528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

We stayed in the 2 br condo and it was very spacious! The view was awesome. Loved the 3 seasons porch with fireplace and hot tub! My 3 and 5 yr old granddaughters played in the hot tub with warm water while the adults visited by the fireplace. The only negative things are the condo we were in needed some updating , I.e. remove the flowered wallpaper from the early nineties. Plus, my granddaughter got sick in the middle of the night and when my son called the front desk to get clean sheets, they said housekeeping was closed so he would have to come to the front desk to get sheets - he did...ends up they were the wrong size sheets. The water park was geared towards young kids, but there were many teenagers taking over the area. Overall though a good stay and would go back.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
Thank MarciMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

My family and I stayed 3 nights here Jan. 1 - 3, 2013. I originally intended to book a 2 bedroom condo at Chula Vista those 3 nights and then move to a Wilderness cabin Jan 4 - 6 but the pricing this year was ridiculous. Chula Visa was $100 @night higher than normal and so were the Wilderness cabins on those dates, but Wilderness on the Lake had normal prices.

Wilderness on the Lake was very good. The rooms are excellent and have all have a view of Lake Delton. The water park is totally setup for very young children, so if thats your family this is the place. Our kids are 10 and 11 and we had to take them to the main Wilderness waterpark areas instead. There is a shuttle but we drove.

We visited Chula Vista because it has become a tradition (It would have been our 6th year staying there). I have no idea why their prices were so high this year because the place was deserted. Too bad, but we liked Wilderness on the Lake alot.

Room Tip: Go for the top level rooms for quietness or go for a ground level room so the kids can walk out.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blakester49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews