We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wilderness on the Lake
Ranked #21 of 74 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2006

I don't have much to add from what others have been saying. We stayed there for 3 nights and loved it. We had a 20 month and 2 - 16 year olds. It was perfect to be away from all the hussle and bussle. If you had children in the 8-12 it may be difficult because you would be spending alot of your time at the main Wilderness facility I think.

The one thing I wanted to post about was the darkness comments. We had the 2-bedroom condo and the room with the 2 double beds is extremely dark. There is no light source other than the lights. Since we had a 20 month old in there I kept the door open and the outside light on so if he woke up he wasn't scared because he was unfamiliar with his surroundings. If I had brought a nightlight it would have been perfect. Thought others may find this helpful if they are traveling with young children.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank sweis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (447)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

404 - 410 of 447 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2006

We took our three kids ages 3, 21 months, and 8 months. My brother and his wife brought their 2 kids ages 4 and 1. With kids this young, finding accomodating vacation spots is a challenge. Prepared for almost anything, we were very pleased with the resort. We stayed in the 2 bedroom condo. It was huge, very clean and so quiet. We used 2 cribs and they were clean and safe. They provided the sheets.

We enjoyed taking the kids to the toddler pool area outside. They loved it. There is also an indoor toddler pool area, but the water was too cold for us. We also took the shuttle to the dome water park. Again, we enjoyed the areas for toddlers. Water was great.

There is also an indoor play area - no shoes allowed - bring your own socks. We only had sandles and spent $3 a pair for socks in the vending machine. The 3 older kids really loved this part.

The staff was very friendly and accomodating. We ate most of our meals in the room, so I can't comment on anything else.

We would definately return.

5  Thank buckyfan4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2006

Our family of four stayed at this wonderful resort during Spring Break. The two bedroom unit was spacious, clean, and beautiful. The veranda with the 4 person jacuzzi with fireplace and television is unique and enjoyable. The water parks at The Wilderness were incredible, and access was easy. We drove, but there was a shuttle available which seemed to run frequently. We will remember this vacation for many years and will return.

  • Stayed: April 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank slfalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2006

We stayed at Wilderness on the Lake from July 4th (Tues.) through July 8th (Sat.) in a 3 bdrm condo. The condo was very spacious and well-appointed. The tile floors were slick for some reason though. Other reviews complained of dim lighting, but I think the decor was generally darker. I liked how quiet the resort was, but my husband wasn't so happy about having to take a shuttle to the main resort. There was also some confusion about where to pick up the shuttle back to the Lake as we were misdirected by some of the hotel staff. Otherwise, everyone was very friendly and helpful. The waterpark at the condo was very small, but entertaining for our 2-yr-old. Our 10- and 13-yr olds enjoyed the larger waterparks at the Wilderness Hotel as well as the arcade and climbing structure. It was very convenient to be able to charge everything, including game tokens, to our room. I don't think I would stay at WOL in the winter. If we were there in the winter, I'd stay at the new Glacier Canyon Lodge for their condos which are still connected to the hotel so I wouldn't have to go outside. It seemed like all of their other villas/condos would require you to go outside to get to the indoor waterparks. A good value if you had 8 people staying there since waterpark wrist bands are included with the room. A little pricey for our family though. You really didn't have to ever leave.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank DukeGrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2006

A favorite family destrination for years, first stay at Wilderness on the Lake. Have stayed prior at main Wilderness Resort, the Kalihari, even Treasure Island (that place sucked). Children are now 12 and 14, and wife and I had a two bedroom condo. Lovely! Our unit #114 faced the pool, and lake Delton on other side. Noisy? Not bad, and the pool shuts down at 7pm. Main resort pool open until 10pm, can get there by water taxi or shuttle buss, but once you have all your valuables in the car/van, likely you'll just drive over there like we did if you want the main facility. Only 108 units at Lake, so pool never crowded, has vanishing edge, and is warm and clean. Indoor area with pool basketball and indoor/outdoor hottub. Beer is $5.50 at the bar, ouch! Bring your own booze to the pool, no one cares as long as it's in plastic containers We overlooked Lake Delton, and only once in a five night stay ventured over to the other crowded Wilderness Resort (main resort) to fight crowds at the waterslides--which are so-so at best anyhow. Lake is like a private Lake Delton resort. Has it's own beach for swimming and you can launch your own kayaks, canoes (but none available from resort) for free, so rbing yur paddlecraft. Parking is large, outdoor and easy. Has its own, motorboat dock, but must launch at one of the many public boat launches and motor over to the resort. Can tie up right there, free I think, but doubt they'd allow overnighting the boat on the dock. Jetski and boat rentals just down the street by private retailer. This resort is walking distance to Tommy Bartlett Watershow, a descent Houlihans, and shops. For those that know the area, Hiawatha Drive comes out next to Houlihans. Easy driving, I was surprised, for July. Noahs Ark is walkable too, but longer, maybe 1/2 mile. The room had 12 foot ceilings, furnished, stocked kitchen (we bought plenty of snacks and food at Wal-Mart), and had a bedroom with a king bed, and another with two queens. The sliders lead to an enclosed spa room, kids filled and used the jacuzzi. Four TVs in the unit total, and you can attach video game consoles to the RCA plug-ins, so bring your Xbox. I thought the room to be dark, slightly, as the sliders to the outside are only in the sunroom; no windows in any other room at all. Wife heard many creaks and noises at night, and she's not a complainer, so I don't know how these things are built. They are selling for $400-$500k, for those thinking of buying. I think a higher floor would be nice, so ask for floors 3-4 if you can for best views of the lake, but ours on floor one was acceptable and pleasant. If you want to watch kids in the pool definitely ask for floor one. Has washer and dryer in the unit, so you can do your own clothes washing. As for the Dells, what can I say, it is kitschy fun! Don't miss Mt Olympus Theme Park, $33 for all day, waterpark and go carts and rollercoasters that had little to no wait time, and we spent from 10Am to 10pm there (left park to eat, can come back on same day with all day pass). Pizza Pub buffett 11AM to 2PM also suggested, all youcan eat pizza and salad, $5.99 kids, 8.99 adults plus a drink. I have stayed at many fine resorts, and the Wilderness is clean, the location is primo, and the units are great. Slightly dark, but spacious. Slightly "used" looking (we saw a family of 12 move into one three bedroom unit down the hall, assume they trashed it). Housekeeping is only for towels, so prepare for not trashing your unit. Have fun. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Smythe77654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2006

We stayed at the Wilderness on the Lake June 28-30th. We arrived early (about 1:30pm) and was allowed to check in! The room (#117) was amazing. It was a 2 BR, 2 BA condo with a four season porch with a hot tub in it. Our room walked right out to a deck overlooking Lake Delton right next to were the Ducks get into the lake. On the deck were huge firepits (gas - cannot roast marshmallows) and also gas grills to use. Right next to our room was the stairs to go to the kidde pool and amazing infinity pool. We were 2 familys both with 13 year olds. They had fun at the waterparks but had the most fun at the infinty pool. You can use any of the waterparks at the Wilderness and there are even free shuttles to bring you there even a water taxi which is a pontoon to take you across the lake to the main Wilderness resort. All in all we had a great time, it was kind of expensive but with having a full kitchen in our condo and gas grills to cook we brought all of our own food. Remeber this is a tourist place so if you plan on eating or drinking here plan on spending alot of money. We had 4 drinks at the bar at the Wilderness one nite and it was $32. Remeber to keep checking the prices on the resort because a week before we arrived the price per nit had gone down $95/nite and the Wilderness gave us the cheaper rate!! We loved it and can not wait to go back.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank jessmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Naperville, Illinois
12
Reviewed 23 June 2006

This was our third stay at wilderness at the lake (June, 06). We rented Unit #116, a 2 bedroom condo. This unit sleeps up to 11 people and has a fantastic view of the Kiddie pool and the Lake Delton. The Unit has a full kitchen which made meals cheap and convenient. We visited with another family and had a total of 4 adults and 6 kids. Our kids are between 5 and 12 years old. The water park at the lake was perfect for our younger ones. The boat and land shuttles to the main water parks make it easy for the older kids to visit them on their own... The Wilderness opened a couple of new water rides this summer and in July; they are opening two new water parks. There is always so much for the kids to do and splitting the cost with another family makes this cost effective. We will definitely be back for our forth visit soon.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wisconsin Dells
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wi...
#8 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
148 reviews
0.7 mi away
Caribbean Club Resort
Caribbean Club Resort
#53 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Delton Oaks Resort
Delton Oaks Resort
#34 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
91 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cedar Lodge & Settlement
Cedar Lodge & Settlement
#10 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
520 reviews
1.8 mi away
Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Lodge
#12 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
3,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness on the Lake

Address: 350 E Hiawatha Dr, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-8475
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#9 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range: £206 - £394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 500
Also Known As:
Wilderness On The Lake Hotel Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing