We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rivers Edge Resort and Motel
Ranked #36 of 75 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Rivers Edge is a quiet peaceful homebase while vacationing in the Dells. The scenery can't be beat. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean, and wonderfully decorated with the north woods look. They have an excellent restaurant on site that is very reasonably priced. (Saturdays prime rib is fantastic and priced right at 20 a plate) We have stayed twice, and already booked our room for next year. Family friendly and a great value. Absolutely love this place and can't wait to be back!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travfan1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
There are newer reviews for Rivers Edge Resort and Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

I was leery of our trip to Wisconsin Dells giving it's title as the water park capital of the world. Enormous theme parks are not my idea of a good time. Fortunately we booked our stay at Rivers Edge Resort. Just steps from the Wisconsin river and a couple of miles from the theme parks and downtown shops.


We stayed in cabin 27 which is billed as a vacation home. There is room for 2 cars in the driveway. The door off the driveway opens to a living room area with 2 couch's,a chair, tv and electric fire place. In addition there is a full bathroom. Down a small flight of stairs is a room with 3 beds, perfect for the kids. Up on level 3 is the spacious common area where the
kitchen and dining area are located. There are 2 doors on this level. One leads to a parking lot which sits between your cabin and the pub. The other door leads to a large covered porch and small yard with a pair of charcoal grills.Back inside the house is the 4th level which contains a 2nd full bathroom and 3 bedrooms with queen beds. While the cabin does have 4 levels none of the stairs are more than 5 or 6 steps.

We only had a few minor issues. The 3 bedrooms are on the small side with no dressers to store you clothes. In addition the upstairs bathroom door has an issue with the lock. You lock the door but it still pushes open. This can be remedied by lifting up on the door after closing and locking it. The shower/tub was small and the microwave needs replaced.


The cabin is clean,comfortable and sleeps very well. The large dining area and front porch gave us plenty of room to gather and converse and the living room & basement bedrooms gave the kids an area of their own.


Now on to what makes this a 5 star place to stay. You are steps from the river. Granted they are steep steps as we often drove the less mobile members of our party down to the river and dropped them off. But if fishing,tubing and boating are your idea of a good time you came to the right place.
You can rent multiple types of boats from the resort or better yet bring your own. The resort has a boat launch and there is a much larger public boat launch right next door. Most of the river around the resort can get pretty hectic with traffic due to the duck and jet boat tours. But the further you go downstream the less traffic you see. We rented a pontoon and took our group out for a day of fishing and didn't have any trouble finding nice sandy beach areas to dock the pontoon.


Unfortunately you can only take the rentals so far. Which is why I suggest bringing your own boat. I brought my own kayak and was able to go past all the clutter. There is a small public access site downstream. It's a 2.5 mile drive down Co RD A to Indian Trail Pkwy. It's woodsy and tough to spot on the river but it's right across from a larger much more noticeable launch. Once you see the one on the left bank paddle a bit up stream and you should see the other launch. I had someone meet me there but I suppose you could leave a vehicle. The left bank launch is much bigger and a better place to leave a vehicle but it's also a longer drive from the resort.



When your day on the river is done you can walk from your cabin across the parking lot to the River's Edge Pub and grub. Good food and happy hours drink specials.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank K's Travel'n M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We tried out this place because someone from downtown Dells said it was awesome. and IT IS! Great food (a little pricey, but worth every penny), great atmosphere and great service. Everyone was friendly, food was delicious and if you go on your birthday you get a discount, how awesome! I would reccommend this to everyone!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsBerger16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a 2 bedroom cabin, it was very quiet and clean! I wish we would have had charcoal and something to grill because right outside was a grill! The cable was out when we arrived, but someone was down quickly to resolve that issue. We were able to get a very comparable price to the hotels/motels and with the extra room and fireplace it was more comfortable!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank StepHalver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed in room 6 from 5/14/14 - 5/18/14. The place was extremely clean and welcoming. The view to the dock was really cool. Having the kitchen with all of the utensils was awesome. Having a Weber Silver grill was a plus. Only downfall was that one of the pans was in terrible condition and needs to be tossed. Other than that, we couldn't have asked for a better stay.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Dj915ept
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Yes - it's awesome...orange organic soaps with pretty folded washclothes - and yet an authentic cabin, quiet yet active place, staff that are calm and helpful, mix of people - fishermen and families and party people - somehow they all fit together. We've gone there for years - and what it's really about is a gorgeous river/ great chairs/fire pit, etc. and just being with people you love.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank familyofsixChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed here with my husband and 3 kids and we absolutely loved it. We stayed in the 3 bedroom duplex for a great price. The cabin feel with the modern amenities was perfect! The location is less than a 5 minute drive from the main Wisconsin Dells strip but you wouldn't even know it. They offer boat rental and rafting which we did and had a great time. The pub and grub next door has amazing for for a good price. The staff is friendly and made us feel right at home. We have decided to make this place our yearly family vacation spot because we loved it so much. Can't wait for next summer!!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
6  Thank AMoore1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
4.2 mi away
Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center
Wintergreen Resort & Conference ...
#26 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
668 reviews
2.6 mi away
Meadowbrook Resort
Meadowbrook Resort
#44 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
211 reviews
1.5 mi away
Alakai Hotel and Suites
Alakai Hotel and Suites
#23 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#24 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
955 reviews
0.9 mi away
Delton Oaks Resort
Delton Oaks Resort
#31 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cedar Lodge & Settlement
Cedar Lodge & Settlement
#8 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivers Edge Resort and Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivers Edge Resort and Motel

Address: 30 Cty Hwy A, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 75 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Number of rooms: 34
Also Known As:
Rivers Edge Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Rivers Edge Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing