We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing trip”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rivers Edge Resort and Motel
Ranked #35 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
IL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Relaxing trip”
Reviewed 3 July 2007

We stayed from June 23 -30. The first night we stayed in the log motel. It was small for 4 adults, but was very clean. It's just your basic room, 2 beds,tv, bathroom. The rest of our stay we were in the log apt. poolside. It was very clean and looked newly remodled, which they did a couple years ago. It was nice to be right by the pool, just a few feet away.
The pool was kind of small, but served its purpose. The only bad thing was the bugs that flew into the pool, which sometimes were alot. The pool across the street was really nice and a little bigger. There was more space around it.
A couple nights we went to the pub right there on the premises, which was nice. The food was decent and so were the drinks. The people were very nice.
The beach on the river was actually a decent size. Not alot of people on the beach so there was always lots of room. A couple nights we had a bonfire in their pit which was big and lots of fun.
Overall this was a nice relaxing place to go, especially if you like to fish. I would go back for sure, maybe with more people and stay in one of the big log cabin houses, they were nice.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — size of the pool
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babyblue9m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    27
    8
    3
    9
See reviews for
39
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wiscompton
1 review
Reviewed 19 March 2007

I stayed at the River's Edge Resort in Wisconsin Dells, WI over the weekend and stayed in unit 27. It was clean, and large, a great place for a family vacation or any groups. I was there with an adult group but i will take my family back again and again..ample parking, and close to everything in the dells but far enough away where you feel you have privacy...if you are a person with alot of needs who likes to complain about anything whether its good or bad...stay away from this place...so i won't run into you there..you can spend $500 a night at the wilderness and yell at them...overall rivers edge is a great place and the restaurant had great food...

  • Liked — the vacation unit itself
  • Disliked — internet access was down
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank turdferguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2007

The cabins were nice and roomy, but the beds were small. We enjoyed downhill skiing, waterparking, and Sundara Spa and the casino. Lots to do in the area, of course.

Big question-- why is there a range but no oven in the cabins?! This was a problem for us as we had to use the microwave to reheat large portions of food for many people.

Also, as it was New Years Eve weekend, it was very, very noisy. Lots of people in the neighboring cabins stayed up shouting and playing loud music until 4 or 5 a.m. on both Friday and Sat nights. Enough of us said something to both the partiers and the management that the main offenders actually toned it down by 1 a.m. on the Eve, itself. That was nice. (I would have given 'em til 2 a.m. even, but not all night!)

I did hear that the owner apparently was not very nice to my brother, though. My brother and his wife had to move cabins because they were right next to the noisiest group at the resort. My brother told me that the person at the desk told him he would give them a refund for the first night's total lack of sleep. But when my brother tried to collect the refund from the owner on the last day of a three-day stay, the owner told him no deal. My brother said the original guy he had talked to did promise him a refund and then, when my brother showed his military I.D. and said he was telling the truth, the owner allegedly said something like, "Am I supposed to be impressed by that?" Anyway, I heard this second-hand from my brother, but I was very dismayed that he would be treated that way.

So, sadly, because of my brother's experience, I will never go back to River's Edge again.

  • Liked — Nice cabin atmosphere
  • Disliked — Noise at the resort
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't stay there around New Year's Eve unless you want to be kept up by awful music and shouting every night until 5 a.m.
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cdapoolgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
channahon illinois
1 review
Reviewed 15 December 2006

a friend of mine and i took advantage of lasts years deal to rent a room for two nights with boating dock privileges and a steak dinner. It was a great deal dinner was off the menu t bone i believe, fishing wasnt great too windy but stay at rivers edge was a very good deal.

Stayed April 2006
Helpful?
Thank soupbone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Bay, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2006

We stayed at River's Edge in two different cabins, # 31 which was 2 q beds in the bedroom and 2 q up in the loft with it's own bathroom and another bathroom next to the kitchen and #33 which was 3 bedrooms, each bedroom had 2 q beds and there were 2 full baths on one floor. The staff was very welcoming and helpful. The cabins had north woods flair all around, super clean and just steps from the pool which was perfect to keep an eye on the kids without having to be right there. We had to walk across the street to get to the lake, restaurant and bait shop, but that was no big deal. The cabins were well equipped with plates, utensils, BBQ grill etc. , although we didn't need to use them much because we ate at the River's Edge restaurant 3 times. It was absolutely wonderful. Nice atmosphere, good food and not pricey at all. Again, great if you have kids. Also, we fish, so it was a plus that we were able to rent a boat right there. Even our friends that met us up there, transferred from the resort where they were staying to the River's Edge once they saw how nice the place was. We stayed at 3 different resorts while we were in the dells and River's Edge was by far the best! We would absolutely stay there again.

  • Liked — woodsy feel and flair, we even saw a family of deer trotting around
  • Disliked — No extra pillows and/or blankets
  • Tips/Secrets — Bring extra pillows, paper products (plates, cups, paper towels) and of course charcoal
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank kcccmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niles, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2006

Just came back from the River's Edge Resort and have a terrific weekend getaway. We arrived late Thursday and stayed until Sunday. We fished the river and upon listening to Jason in the bait shop on suggestions, we caught a lot of fish. We had our own boat, but they have pontoon and fishing boats for rental. The bait shop is excellent, everything you could possibly want. It has a nice sized pool and it's off the main strip so you don't feel like your in the middle of a kiddie version of Las Vegas. To get back to the strip it's a short 5 minute drive. The restaurant was excellent and we didn't even leave the resort the whole time were there. We stayed in the motel rooms which were decent sized and newly renovated. They didn't have a phone in the room, but with cell phones these days it didn't really matter. They have cabins and townhouses to rent also. Great location and the river never got too busy, just watch out for the jet boats who zoom on by. We would definitely come back. The wait staff in the restaurant was top notch. Everyone was friendly and had a great time.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank MuskieRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Mo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2005

We had a family Birthday at the Rivers Edge. We had 25 people booked in both the motel rooms and the larger cabin. The rooms were very clean and were highly maintained. It looked like the motel rooms were just redone this year. I would highly recommend. A great quiet place off the strip, yet just 3 min. away from everything. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Lori G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
2.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#22 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
360 reviews
3.1 mi away
Tamarack & Mirror Lake, a Festiva Resort
Tamarack & Mirror Lake, a Festiv...
#28 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
148 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cedar Lodge & Settlement
Cedar Lodge & Settlement
#4 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Birchcliff Resort
Birchcliff Resort
#29 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
83 reviews
0.5 mi away
Caribbean Club Resort
Caribbean Club Resort
#48 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
143 reviews
0.9 mi away
Delton Oaks Resort
Delton Oaks Resort
#36 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivers Edge Resort and Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivers Edge Resort and Motel

Property: Rivers Edge Resort and Motel
Address: 30 Cty Hwy A, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Number of rooms: 34
Also Known As:
Rivers Edge Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Rivers Edge Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing