We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Ride” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dells Boat Tours

Dells Boat Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Janesville
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Ride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Our kids are 6, 11 and 14 and we all enjoyed the Upper Dells Boat tour. It was beautiful and peaceful. The driver and the guide were both very knowledgble about the area. We all enjoyed walking through Witches Gulch and seeing the dog jump to Stand Rock.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Schwarkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    49
    5
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frederick
Level Contributor
718 reviews
352 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 400 helpful votes
“A Peaceful, Natural Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

This was a two hour comfortable boat trip that covers about 10 miles of the upper Dell river area. One thing different about this one is that they have two stops where you disembark and walk around and through some natural formations which reminded me of the Lava Tube area in Volcano National Park in Hawaii. The second stop involves walking a short distance to two flat rocks where trained German Shepards jump across and back on command. That is a real picture opportunity for those with a fast shutter. Hubby, with his best friend, went there last year and the friend got a great shot of the dog in the air. I didn't get either shot of the dog coming or going when I tried with my little automatic camera. They do have a photo book which they hand out near the end which you can buy for $5. I think that has a picture of the jumping dog but it's not as close. This was a unique, relaxed tour with many beautiful natural elements with not too much selling.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank travelkitty50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mundelein, Illinois
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice boat ride on the Wisconsin River”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

The seats on the boat are 3 across "lawn chair" type seating that was cramped. Our tour guides were very well informed about the river and dells history. If you are walking challenged, take a pass on the two landings the boat makes. Witches' Gulch is the easier of the two walked but at Stand Rock you do get to see the dog make the jump onto Stand Rock.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank micahel56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Had a great time today on the "Yellow Thunder" with our awesome guides. Beautiful scenery & the two stops were wonderful. If you are gonna see the Upper Dells then this is the best way. If you are looking to take the best photos I recommend that you the crowd go off the boat first, lay back & be the last at each stop & you can get the best shots minus the tourists.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank dbokeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Boat ride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We went on a rainy day, they have a covered area to sit so it was no problem. The captain and tour guide were very friendly.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank KIShirley68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dells Boat Tours also viewed

 
Wisconsin Dells, WI
 

Been to Dells Boat Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing