We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the price”
Review of Field's Park Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Field's Park Motel
Ranked #9 of 75 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not worth the price”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We booked a mini-vacation to the Dells last minute due to the unpredictability of my husband's job. Because of that we knew pickings for hotels would be slim and we were willing to pay for it - so keep that in mind. After calling 9 different places, I found that Fields not only had 1 room left but they were willing to break the 2 night minimum rule for us due to it being so last minute. It happened to be the Jacuzzi suite, which seemed fun, for $179 including tax. The hotel is within walking distance of Downtown Dells, so that was another bonus because parking down there in the summer is insane. However, the entire place is very dated, which would have been fine if it was just the outside. Unfortunately the 'suite' consisted of a bathtub (not a corner tub or true jacuzzi) right next to a queen size bed with a dingy bedspread. There wasn't even room for a nightstand on the side that the tub was on, they were that close. And it was set up so you couldn't even see the tv from the tub, I had thought that a good soak would be relaxing after a day of walking through the dells... But not only was the tub not comfortable, there was no sound barrier to the outside at all, we heard kids screaming and cars honking all night. The room seemed clean and the front desk staff were friendly, but everything about the place made it seem like an $89 per night budget place rather than an almost $200 room. Guess that's the price of the Dells! If you are willing to pay that much, there are nicer hotels in the area provided you book early :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Donisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    85
    18
    10
    9
See reviews for
177
21
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Round Lake, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I was pleasantly surprised after moving to this motel from another not so nice motel...I was expecting more of the same! My room was updated with a flat screen tv on the wall, smelled freshly painted with new carpet, not to mention that I was able to check in at 10 am and was helped by a wonderful lady at the front desk! The pool area was nice and clean and provided pool towels. We stayed in a large room that had 2 Queen beds and a Queen futon...roomy enough for a family of 5-6. I wish I would of started our trip here. Free Wilderness passes also available for you at check-in! The Wilderness is FANTASTIC!! Overall a nice place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rjmommy02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Reasonable price, free entrance to Wilderness, nice location, close to downtown, close to church, clean, I like the place. First time at Wisconsin Dells, still want to stay there when I come back. Big parking, peaceful place, Friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nida L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stay at the Wilderness all the time and spend around $250 a night for a room. Here at the Fields you get free tickets for everyone for everyday of your stay including your check out day! This is the only hotel in the dells that you can get Wilderness tickets without staying on the Wilderness property. You also don't have the expensive Wisconsin resort tax that you will pay staying at the Wilderness. Our room ran about $99.00 a night. We were able to check into our room at 10:00 a.m. which was really nice so we could unload and go enjoy the water parks VS having to come back and do it after playing all day! The rooms are no frill BUT clean, descent and quiet. You have a microwave and a mini refrigerator also.The bathroom is good size and clean. It has been family owned for 22 years by the Fields family and they are all about "hands on" working the front desk so you get quality care during your stay. Not to mention very friendly and helpful! In the morning they have fresh coffee in the office and my husband absolutely loved it. He said it reminded him of Star Bucks coffee. He is very picky about the taste of his coffee so they must use some type of gourmet coffee blend. The pool is smaller in size but very clean!! Along with the Wilderness tickets you get a ticket for your entire family to do 3-D black light mini golf downtown for free and children ages 11 and under get a ticket to ride the ducks for free. We will definently stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the lower level room 124.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BBQME2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Wisconsin, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Where else can you get Wilderness water park passes at an affordable rate...NO WHERE!! This hotel had all of the things we needed. It is a no frills, but the staff was very nice and the older rooms were clean. We do not spend a lot of time in the room as we stay at the water park for the majority of the day...so for us this was GREAT!! If your looking for a fancy room with a ton of frills, this is not the hotel for you. If you are looking for a clean room at a great price, definitely stay here!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshfield, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

This is the 3rd time I have stayed at Fields. My fiance and I came down to check out wedding venues and visit attractions as a preview for our wedding and our family and wanted to have the amenities of The Wilderness without the cost since we would not have much time to enjoy the waterparks.
On previous visits I knew the beds would be harder than the one we have at home, but at least in our room they must've gotten newer mattresses because it wasn't all that bad!
There was plenty of hot water, the fridge was cold, linens were clean (smelled and felt freshly washed), and we got what we needed.
It wasn't amazing by any means (we could hear each other in the bathroom--even tiny farts lol), but we didn't need much other than a place to sleep and we have lived together long enough that we could laugh about hearing each other in the bathroom.
We will continue to stay here when needed...it's a very short walk downtown and the drive to the other side of town isn't all that bad :-)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellemarie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Berlin, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We've stayed here numerous times - the most recent being August of 2012. We plan another stay for this summer (2013). I love this place because of the outstanding location and the free Wilderness passes you get for staying here. Our large family has a tight budget - and this motel is the only way we are able to enjoy the Dells every summer. It is your typical mom & pop motel - the rooms are a bit outdated, but this doesn't bother us because we are there to see THE DELLS not our motel room. The kids love the small pool on property. For geocachers - there is a cache located right across the street from this property in a small city park. For families - the park across the street has a great playground and is a good way to blow off steam and get away from the waterpark for a while. I can't say enough about how much I'm glad for this motel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kebdal23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#6 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
934 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
2.2 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#23 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#22 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
385 reviews
0.4 mi away
All Star Inn & Suites
All Star Inn & Suites
#2 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
838 reviews
0.2 mi away
Black Hawk Motel & Suites
Black Hawk Motel & Suites
#1 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Field's Park Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Field's Park Motel

Property: Field's Park Motel
Address: 715 Broadway, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-1555
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wilderness Resort tickets for each day that you stay, including day of departure! (up to 4 free wristbands per room) Field's Park Motel is an affordable getaway within walking distance from downtown Wisconsin Dells. The staff is friendly, the rooms are clean, and the best part is that all rooms come with up to four free passes to Wilderness Resort. Book early and save! Rates change based on availability. Open all year! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Field's Park Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fields Park Hotel Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing