We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great quiet get-away in December”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tamarack & Mirror Lake, a Festiva Resort
Ranked #19 of 75 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Reviewed 22 December 2011

We stayed here as an Extra Vacation with RCI. We had been in the area before and knew that there were a lot of state parks fairly close by. The lack of snow prevented us from the x-country skiing that we had hoped to do. But we did a lot of hiking instead. We were relieved that the area was very laid back in comparison to the summer water park craziness. We stayed in the Hunter bldg. overlooking the pond. They keep part of the water open and feed the ducks that are attracted to stay in the area. Our unit ( a 2 bdr.) was spacious, clean and attractive. There was a flat screen TV and gas fireplace in the living area. The full kitchen had pretty much anything you could ask for. The bed in the large bedroom was comfortable. There is a large pool in the activity center, as well as a hot tub and kiddie pool. I
There were a few minor things that we could grumble about. The first is the people calling that want to come and give you a "15 minute survey" when we had barely gotten into the room. When put off, we were called again later that evening and should have told them a strong NO. Unfortunately we did not and were rewarded with a call before 9 AM the next morning (Sunday). When I complained they tried calling about 1/2 hour later and almost every day after just after 9 AM. My advice? Say No right away unless you want to be lured in by their promises of "coupons". The other thing gripe we had was that the place seemed quite warm no matter what temperature we set the thermostat.
The big problem we had was the desk clerk who was just not happy to be there. She complained about something almost every time we went to the activity center.
We do not have a laptop, so the lack of free WI-Fi did not bother us.
But all in all, it was a very nice place to stay, especially in mid-December when there were few people staying there.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank valar2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2011

We traded our timeshare into this property. While it wasn't quite up to the same standards as our property, it was acceptable. The location was excellent for Wisconsin Dells. Close enough, but away from the congestion in town. The 2 bedroom unit we had was spacious, but is about due for a spruce up. Overall it was clean, but the couch looked well used enough that my wife felt better covering it with a blanket. Some of the outside maintenance is due too, like rotted siding here and there. Not anything that really affected our stay, but does indicate a bit of delayed upkeep. Several facilities available that we didn't really use: indoor and outdoor pools, play areas, gym, game room, racket ball and tennis courts, etc. The laundry is a coin operated, on one side of the property. No washer/dryer in the units. Internet is $19.95 for the week, but worked fine in our unit. Didn't have much interaction with the staff, other than check in and check out, which was quick and easy.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank RickT_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Let me start by saying this is a beautiful resort and it is a shame that the customer service is so poor because we would have loved to return but sadly will not now! I should have known this place had problems when I called to book and the price I was quoted was higher than their website and the person I spoke to, Sharon, could not figure out why and just assumed I was on Expedia. When I told her I was on their website, she put me on hold for a while, when she came back on she said they had no knowledge of the online price, so I should just book online. Which I did and had no problems at check in or during our stay. Problems arose after we got back home and checked our cc statement and saw we had been overcharged $42.60 per room (2 rooms). (Initially we thought our card had been charged twice for the first night but later learned that they never took a deposit even though it said it would when we booked online) Once the charges cleared and we saw that they were overcharging us for sure I called on 6/24 and spoke to Sharon again, she took my information and said she would call me back. Never did. I called back on 6/29 and spoke to Renee, she again took my info and said she would call back. Never did. Called back again on 7/5 spoke to Sharon, she again took my information and I told her if no one called by 5pm we would be disputing the charges. Renee called back that evening and said she that she had someone looking into it and they would call the next day. She called the next day 7/6 to confirm that we were not doublecharged and asked that we fax our credit card statement to verify the charges and my online booking info. She also stated that they were having a hard time figuring out how to credit it back to us as they had never done it before?! I faxed that information 7/7 in the morning and awaited a call back. I finally called back on 7/12 and asked to speak to the manager, to my dismay it was Renee, whom had been extremely negligent in calling me back, I expressed my disappointment and irritation with the service I was provided and told her if no one got back to me by 12p, we were contesting the charges. While she was very apologetic she again never called back. We contested the charges on that same day and just received the 2nd credit for the overcharged amount yesterday, 7/27. Rather than them fixing the problem right away it took an entire month to get the money returned to us that we were due. This place is unorganized and could really care less about their guests once they get their money. It is a shame because it truly is beautiful and clean but they will not offer much help to you if they make any errors after you check out!

Room Tip: Pretty rooms but terrible customer service, book online and make sure you get a check out statement!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank haferbecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2010

We couldn't find much online for reviews so we weren't sure what to expect, but we absolutely loved Mirror Lake at Tamarack. We went in the beginning of December and being low season it was not busy at all.

They have an activity center which is wonderful for all ages - it has a pool (including a baby pool and hot tub), a fitness center, arcade, racquetball, basketball, kids room, and tennis courts. Something for everyone and they provide all equipment needed. On the weekends it was busier but both days we were there during the week we had the activity center to ourselves! With all the snow the activity center wasn't easily accessible by walking but this wasn't a big deal to us since all activities were in one place.

The rooms are layed out great. We had a two bedroom unit so the main floor was the ktichen/living area (with a pull out couch) and bathroom and the upstairs was the two bedrooms with a bathroom (with jacuzzi tub). The master bedroom and the living room both have a fireplace. Each unit had parking for 2 vehicles and additional vehicles could be parked at the activity center. Wireless internet is available in the units for an additional fee and there were 2 computers available at the activity center.

We had a few issues that did come up that required calling maintenance. Both times maintenance showed up within 30 minutes. They were very friendly and fixed the problems quickly and easily.

Overall our trip was a perfect relaxing getaway which is exactly what we were looking for!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank amyw097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

An absolute enjoyable time! Very clean! Facilities are great! Only downside is lack of housekeeping services, which I'm used to from normal hotels. However, we had a great time, it didn't bother us! ;)

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank goralka13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

My Wife, kid and I spent an ENTIRE week in Tamarack, and on a scale of 1 to 10, I'd give it a 8.75.
The place is just west of The Walmart, away from the Hustle and bustle of the strip area, yet only a few minutes away from everything.

When getting there-
Once you drive past the Walmart's- BETTER SLOW DOWN! The Entrance to Mirror Lake Resort comes up very fast, on the road there. LOL

The Condo was excellent! Spacious and modern. However, if you are taller than 5 ft.
(I'm 6-2) You are gonna be cramped in the jetted tub. Despite the smallness of the tub, the full flowing shower head and whirlpool jets made the positioning of my legs in my chest(while using the tub) ok.

A couple of problems we had with the place was my daughters fear of spiders. Her "phobia", was on full display, as you could not leave the condo w/o dodging spiders, spider-webs, ants, anthills and(of course the Mosquitos). I guess that's a price you play for bunking in a wooded area.

Another slight problem I had was the small menu of channels we had to view on the T.V. (good thing I brought Books to read).

By the way- What is up with Hotels in the Dells and MSNBC? You can't find the station ANYWHERE in ANY hotel in the Dells. But, you sure can find the FOX News Channel tho.

The most egregious problem I had with Mirror Lake Resort was,- the fact that layout of the place made it difficult to access the amenities unless you were WILLING to Trek/Hike
to the main office(where most of the amenities ARE)-which, could not have been fun when the temps in the 90's) or DRIVE.
The design of the place was(In my opinion), VERY POOR. The layout(of the place) should have been either- designed AROUND the AMENITY Building or designed around the Lake. If the Condo you were in was close to NEITHER,- you feel cheated.

All in all, I would come back again. The actual Condo was great, well equipped, the atmosphere- very relaxing. I've heard bad things about Condo's in places like Chula Vista and their Condo's cleanliness, support staff etc,. Tamarack- Mirror Lake Staff had the place "SPIFFY"!
It was a great way to spend a week in the Dells. By the time I left, I was completely "de-stressed" :)

A winter's vacation there just might be heavenly...

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank geeman2159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2010

We are repeat Tamarack customers who valued the good location, the pools and the large rooms (and could live with 1980s decor and minor maint. issues).

However, this year we were switched to a new unit which I had been promised was wheelchair accessible and had 2 sleeping spaces downstairs. We have a very handicapped daughter and need both. Upon checking in we found that there was an 8" step into the unit and only one bed downstairs. The office staff's solution? A piece of sheet rock to use as a ramp (sheet rock????---Will sheet roock support a 150 wheelchair and 150 pound nurse? ) and a leaky blow up mattress.

When I called to say this wouldn't work, the office person yellled at me for 2 solid minutes while I waited to say something, told me I had lied that I'd been promised a handicap unit (which obviously is the one major requirement for our booking), told me that they'd have the manager call me (she did not), told me that it was fine if I went to Home Depot to buy supplies and build my own ramp, but that they wouldn't be responsible for any cost and basically said "not our problem". I was reduced to tears, and I am not a person prone to sobbing.

I did go to Home Depot and ended up building a ramp out of dirt bags and the aforementioned sheetrock.

We used a portable hammock as a bed all week.

I booked us into another resort for next year.

And then I relaxed and enjoyed my vacation.

My advice---if you book with Sand County, come prepared to deal with any problems on your own.

PS--when checking in, there was a family complaining at the office that their refridgerator did not work--to my eyes, they were treated disrespectfully. A warning signal I should have noted.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank KarenECS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
1.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wisconsin Dells
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wi...
#9 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
146 reviews
3.1 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#26 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
970 reviews
1.9 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#16 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
720 reviews
1.9 mi away
Alakai Hotel and Suites
Alakai Hotel and Suites
#25 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarack & Mirror Lake, a Festiva Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarack & Mirror Lake, a Festiva Resort

Address: 874 Xanadu Rd, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-8266
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range: £76 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tamarack & Mirror Lake, a Festiva Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located halfway between Chicago and Minneapolis, Wisconsin Dells is the ideal spot for your next wet and wild family adventure. With water and amusement parks and shows and attractions galore, there's plenty to love about this destination, and Mirror Lake and Tamarack Resort is just minutes from it all. Five different condo-style layouts all feature full kitchens, fireplaces and space for the whole family. Onsite amenities include indoor and outdoor pools, sports courts, a pond, game room, and fitness facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tamarack & Mirror Lake, a Festiva Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarack & Mirror Lake, a Festiva Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Tamarack And Mirror Lake, a Festiva Resort
Fairfield Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing