We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tamarack update”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tamarack & Mirror Lake, a Festiva Resort
Ranked #27 of 75 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tamarack update”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Original review:
We have been there numerous times, but the activity center is a mess. The tennis courts are filthy and used for storage. Most of the lights don't work on one tennis court. Water leaks into one corner. The locker rooms are cold in the winter. No soap dishes in the showers? Really? There aren't enough full-sized lockers for our clothes. They put the lockers near an outside door where people can see us dressing. Since no one in management or maintenance uses the facilities, they have no idea what it is like for us. The front desk doesn't pass on information, so nothing is improved.

These aren't big money issues. The place could be much better with a better maintenance staff that is accessable to guests. We never see the manager. Shouldn't she be mixing with guests to see how things are going?

Updated review:
Credit where credit is due. Since my January review, improvements have been made. The tennis courts seem to be on a regular cleaning schedule and are clean. They finally repaired all of the lights on the main playing court which is a huge improvement. Thank you.
There are still only two full-sized lockers in the men's locker room, so if two other adults are swimming or working out, you are out of luck. The showers still lack soap dishes. One member brought a shower rack for us to use, but maintenance keeps taking it down for some reason. The outside door to the locker room remains a problem.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    63
    19
    7
    13
See reviews for
92
36
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Our first time. Really enjoyed all the Activity Center's indoor amenities: swimming, hot tub, tennis courts, racquet ball court, fitness area, children's play area & game room. The fitness area has bikes, treadmills, ellipses, and weights with multiple TVs for personal viewing. The Center also rents inexpensive DVDs. Staff are friendly and the lobby area is great for relaxing, watching TV, reading their USA Today papers or using their free wifi to computers. Nice comfy couch and chairs to lounge on with nice gas fireplace (I'm here now writing this review). Our room is also great-loved the gas fireplace. When it snowed one morning they were out immediately shoveling our side walk. And of course the location is great. You're close but outside all the busy touristy area of town. We'll definitely come back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phylgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

My family and I just stayed at the Tamarack and we had a great time. While the decor in our unit was a little outdated everything was very clean and nice. The staff was very friendly and the activity center is excellent. They had a kids pool that was only a little over a foot deep at it's deepest and my 2 year old had a blast in it. We stayed in the winter so we couldn't enjoy the outdoor activities, but it looked like there was plenty to do. Also it was right next door to the Walmart which was very convent for getting stocked up for the week. We actually stayed through a 3rd party and were not aware of this till we arrived and was told that they had cribs available for us. Because we stayed through a 3rd party they were not supposed to provide us with a crib, but after very little asking the staff sent over a crib anyway (which they did not have to do). Everyone was very friendly and we had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We scheduled a last minute trip in February, and found an excellent deal at Tamarack. My husband and I found the gals at the front desk very warm and friendly, and the villa clean, very nice, and very quiet. The kitchen was very tidy and nicely organized. The fancy folds on the bathroom towels were lovely. The furnishings were very nice, quality, contemporary and tasteful, and did not feel at all like a typical hotel room would feel. Pretty view from our sliding glass door -- snow covered woods, very private.

We did not use the Activity Center but checked it out, and it appeared to be clean and ready for use in the pool, tennis courts, racquetball court, and game room.

It was (another) cold weekend in Wisconsin, but the villa was warm and cozy. The only complaint is that the shower ran out of hot water really fast. Maybe a bigger water heater is needed? Other than that, not a single bad thing to say about this place! I think we were the only people in the building we stayed in, so no idea if it would be as quiet if the resort/building were full, but for us, it was a wonderful, sweet, quiet time away from home.

I think we got an unusually good deal, and we were extremely pleased with our weekend away. We would definitely go back (especially if we managed to find another last minute, off season deal!) and would gladly recommend this resort to friends.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Tamarack & Mirror Lake in the Dells is an awesome place to stay sometimes thier rates are cheaper than hotels and lots of space. Especially if spending more than a few days you dont feel cramped . My Boyfreind and I went My son and his family stay ed in a hotel but they spent most of thier time at our place during our stay the kids had plenty of room to play . We had a problem with the Thermastat and they gave us a another condo / townhouse right away I Loved IT home away from home : )

Room Tip: The 2 bdr is only a little more but definately worth it if you have a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cubana67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

My fiancé and I stayed here through RCI and it was very nice. The condo we stayed in was a 1 bedroom and it was updated. The fireplace made the room nice and cozy, especially with the -40F windchill! The furniture was updated and clean as well. The whole place felt clean. It is very quiet here as well. I actually forgot we were attached to another unit because you can't hear them at all (talking, doors closing, cabinets etc). I am sure this place is very pretty in the summer. These units are just slightly right outside all the buzz of things to make you feel secluded. It takes you literally just 2 minutes to get to the hub-bub.


The only downfall we had here was our first unit we checked into. I checked in around 7:30 pm and went to the unit to check it out real quick before I picked up my fiancé at Wal-Mart (store is 2 minutes away which is super nice, but apparently it's normal for the lines to be incredibly long). When I opened the door it smelled TERRIBLY like cigarette smoke. I called the front desk to ask if there were any non-smoking units and she said no, only if you book through the Wyndham. So I thought great, we are out of luck. After picking up my fiancé we headed back and I had him determine if I was being over reactive or not. He agreed about the smoke smell, so we called the front desk and got security, Jeff (the front desk girls leave at 8pm). We told him about the issue and he said he would see if he could find us a new place. About 45 minutes later Jeff was at the door and had a new unit set up for us. Jeff said the place smelled so bad that he wouldn't even stay there, so I didn't feel like a jerk after all. The new unit had no smell and was great! Thank you so much, Jeff!! Jeff also said there is some machine that releases a chemical that gets rid of the smoke smell and he would make sure that got done in the other unit. Unfortunately, whoever cleaned that unit did not think about raising concern regarding the cigarette smell. Other than that, the stay was great the whole time! We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Plaines, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Very clean, quiet close to everything, would definately stay there again if i have to. the area was clean, the staff were very friendly, one thing i like you could check in any time you wanted, but you do have to check out by 11am. will defiantely recommed to friend.

Room Tip: they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jnelson22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
3.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#23 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
385 reviews
1.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wisconsin Dells
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wi...
#10 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
136 reviews
3.1 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#5 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#24 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
947 reviews
0.4 mi away
Peppertree at Tamarack HOA
Peppertree at Tamarack HOA
#34 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
115 reviews
5.1 mi away
Birchcliff Resort
Birchcliff Resort
#25 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarack & Mirror Lake, a Festiva Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarack & Mirror Lake, a Festiva Resort

Property: Tamarack & Mirror Lake, a Festiva Resort
Address: 874 Xanadu Rd, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-8266
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tamarack & Mirror Lake, a Festiva Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located halfway between Chicago and Minneapolis, Wisconsin Dells is the ideal spot for your next wet and wild family adventure. With water and amusement parks and shows and attractions galore, there's plenty to love about this destination, and Mirror Lake and Tamarack Resort is just minutes from it all. Five different condo-style layouts all feature full kitchens, fireplaces and space for the whole family. Onsite amenities include indoor and outdoor pools, sports courts, a pond, game room, and fitness facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Tamarack & Mirror Lake, a Festiva Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarack & Mirror Lake, a Festiva Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Tamarack And Mirror Lake, a Festiva Resort
Fairfield Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing