We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glacier Canyon Lodge
Ranked #15 of 73 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great family stay”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This was our 4th year back at GCL. Love having the lodging on site of the waterparks. We usually get the 2 BR room which has a King bed in one BR, a queen in the other with a single bunk overhead. The family room??? has a murphy bed which is much more comfortable than a pull out and much easier to setup and breakdown. Rooms are always clean, the basic necessities are ready including dishwasher detergent and dish soap, dish towels, plates, etc so that you can eat in and save $$$ which is important for a family. I would recommend you bring your own skillet if you are like us and want to cook pancakes or french toast, etc. Much easier and quicker than using frying pan. The waterpark admission is limited to guests of the hotel which helps with overcrowding. It can still get busy and in fact, if wanting an umbrella table at the pools, get there early. Our family of 4 and in laws always enjoy staying here and will continue to use them year after year.

Room Tip: As this is a family hotel with a water park, if you can get a top floor, you will not hear as many k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DBQRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    378
    309
    83
    45
    37
See reviews for
672
34
Solo
0
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This is our third time staying here, this time we had 8 people- 4 adults and 4 kids. We stayed in a 2 room deluxe with a large kitchen and dining area between the 2 rooms on the first floor overlooking the outdoor water park. There was plenty to do for all ages as we visited all the indoor and outside parks in the wilderness resort during our stay. The zipline,go karts,laser tag should be free to resort guests for the money you pay for the rooms. I have 2 suggestions for improvement by the hotel , they are- 1. Need more staff at front desk during check in,waited 45 minutes to check in-also need a service desk for guests who need new wrist bands or have other issues. 2. During my 4 day stay I saw 2 times where little kids almost got hit by cars speeding through parking lot (need more security in parking lots) saw young adults drinking and passed out in cars, I had trash thrown under my car, seemed like a lot of partying and mischief going on in parking lots. Families and kids don't need to see this. Other than the parking lot issues and understaffed front desk we had a great time and will visit here again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Etter7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Our family of four stayed here on a Thursday night in July just for a quick getaway. We arrived around noon Thursday with an easy check-in. Our room was not ready, so we headed to the Lost World water park. We were able to find a table pretty easily. We enjoyed the "adventure" lazy river. My children, ages 11 and 8, had fun on the mat slides and pools. I enjoyed the big slides.

We ordered pizza right to our poolside table from the Klondike Pizza place. There is a $5 coupon in your check-in packet for you to use. At least it covers a tip for the delivery person. The pizza was decent. Even though we received a text that our room was ready about 3:30, we stayed in the water park until about 530. The park was pretty full by then.

Since we were only staying one night, we didn't leave for dinner. Rather we ate at Survivors bar. It was what you expect from a Dells resort bar: burgers, hot dogs, grilled cheese. Nothing to write home about but something to recharge.

After dinner we headed to the Water Dome. We had a lot of fun in the wave pool and on the family tube rides. We've stayed at Kalahari several times and I don't think we've ever been on a ride where all 4 of us rode in the same tube. We rode the Mammoth and the Hurricane. My two girls really got a kick out of them. We had fun in the Water Dome until close at 10PM. Since the walkways back to the Glacier Canyon ran through a closed park (Klondike Cavern) we had to take a bus back to our entry at Glacier Canyon lodge. I suppose after a few days you could get the hang of the bus system or just be prepared to walk to the different parks. There are quite a few.

Our room was just a two bedroom queen overlooking the park. It was fine for sleeping. The beds were comfy, the pillows were nice and the temperature was fine. It was clean. The fridge and coffee pot both worked fine.

The next day, it was cold and stormy. Thankfully there are a bunch of indoor water parks. We went to the Water Dome and Klondike Canyon. We had fun again on the tube rides and slides. The benefit of this property is the variety of parks to visit. Whereas the Kalahari has the big indoor and outdoor, Glacier Canyon is connected to all of the Wilderness parks. There were a lot of activities too, but since we were only there for a night we only focused on the water parks.

The four of us had a fun time, and I could see us returning with a larger group and renting one of the condos with a kitchen. Our children had a blast and liked the variety of parks they could visit. The variety of activities available make it easy to stay on the property.

Room Tip: We had an even number room and it looked out over the Lost World water park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deadmeatAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moville, Iowa
Level Contributor
66 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Planned on surprising the kids by coming here as a detour on our way to Milwaukee. We paid Disney price for a suite so everyone could have their own beds (4 kids and my wife and I). Found that this place was on the bedbug registry. We should have left. Park staffers were not that friendly, place needs some up keep, and very expensive for extras. Like I stated, I know this isn't Disney, BUT it costs the same and should have a better product. Not saying stay away, but stay in the lesser rooms as the high end ones are not worth it.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Heathmets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Our family of 5, 2 adults and 3 children age 10, 12 & 12, visited Glacier Canyon @ Wilderness Resort over the 4th of July holiday. The resort was sold out for the weekend. Because it was so full, parking was overly full with people parking in spots that were not designated parking spaces. We were fortunate to come at a time when there was still a couple spaces near our section of the resort, so we parked and left the car there until checkout time.

This place is HUGE! We decided to walk everywhere, however there is a very good shuttle bus system they have that will take you from one section of the resort to another. Our room was near a pickup location, and the shuttle seemed to stop pretty frequently.

For our family we had a '3 bedroom' condo. It was very spacious with 2 1/2 baths. I was expecting it to be all one big condo/room, but it was actually one 2 bedroom suite with full kitchen (with plates, glassware, utensil etc), with adjoining doors to standard room (that room was like a standard hotel room with microwave and mini fridge). This worked fine, but with my two girls in the adjoining room I had propped the doors open so they wouldn't somehow lock us parents out of their room.

As a guest, we were given waterpark wristbands that allowed us to use any and all of the indoor and outdoor waterparks. They do not allow outside visitors to use the waterparks, only guests of the resort.
We planned to 'waterpark jump' one day, and go from one to the next for most of the day. Even though it was so full, the lines weren't unreasonably long to go on the slides. However, I like to have a place to sit and have a central point for my kids to be able to easily find me in between going on the slides. Earlier in the day it was easy to get a chair at the outdoor parks, by afternoon it was impossible to find a chair outdoors. But because it was so nice outside, there were fewer people at the indoor waterparks, so they had quite a few chairs and tables to choose from.

The waterparks all seemed to be very clean, with attendants constantly walking around cleaning things up. There were a lot of lifeguards on duty for every water activity.
Even though the resort was at capacity, we did not have any problems finding tubes for the lazy rivers or any of the tube slide.

We ordered room service pizza one night. It was average tasting, and delivery was, as promised, between 30 to 40 minutes. It was handy to deliver right from the same property, but for taste I would probably order delivery from one of the local pizza restaurants next time.

There are many 'additional fee' activities to do at the resort as well. Our family did 2 of the indoor mini-golf courses, as well as bumper boats, lazer tag, and lazer maze. We were able to find a 'buy 3 get 1 free' activities package on Glacier Canyons website before arriving. So, check out their website for any discounts on the additional activities available at the Wilderness resort.

On July 4th, they put on a great fireworks show, and from our viewing point we could see 4 other local fireworks displays being shot off.

I would return with my family to the resort, but may try to stay in one of the more centrally located rooms. Our Glacier Canyon room was room 4001, it was the very furthest room on the very end of the resort.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mommaneedsatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Charles, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

7 of us stayed in a 2 bedroom deluxe at the Glacier Canyon Lodge...4 adults ages 39,65,& 64 and three children ages 7,12,& 13 for 4 nights to celebrate me turning 40. What a way to bring in 40. This place exceeded my expectations. Everything was wonderful! The entire resort was clean and well cared for. We bought the fun pass and ate at Monks Restaurant..awesome! I don't have a negative word to say about this place. Although it's pricey, you get your money worth!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chello2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
Level Contributor
118 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I LOVE this place!! It was our second time staying here and it was just as great as our 1st visit.

We arrived at 10:30am to check-in and get our wristbands to use the waterpark. Although you will not be told your assigned room, you will be given your room keys and instructed which building to park in front of. They will text you your room number when the room is available. Room was available around 3:00 and we quickly discovered the plug was broken on the refrigerator. We called the front desk and had a new fridge in our room within 10 minutes. Rooms are larger than average hotel rooms and we love having a balcony with a screen door.
WATERPARKS-
We visited all of the waterparks, but the majority of our time was spent at the outdoor waterpark at Glacier Canyon, the Lost World Waterpark. It has a great lazy river, a looping body slide, mat racer slides and plenty of hot tubs. We had no problems finding chairs and all chairs throughout the resort have cushions making them super comfy to lay out on!
Wave pool was packed as always but still a good time. Favorite indoor waterpark was the Wild West with the Black Hole Slide. Water temps throughout the Wilderness Resort were the warmest of all waterparks in the Dells we visited.
We figured out the shuttle this trip and used it often. We never waited more than 10 minutes for a shuttle and it dropped us off right in front of our building.
Glacier Canyon Lodge is the best place to stay in the Dells, followed by Kalahari.

Room Tip: We enjoyed Building 3. Walk out the back door to the entrance to the Lost World Waterpark and out f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamara6959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#14 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
625 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
2.9 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#55 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#5 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
860 reviews
5.4 mi away
Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center
Wintergreen Resort & Conference ...
#22 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
639 reviews
1.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wisconsin Dells
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wi...
#10 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glacier Canyon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Canyon Lodge

Property: Glacier Canyon Lodge
Address: 45 Hillman Road, P.O. Box 830, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 460
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Glacier Canyon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glacier Canyon Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Glacier Canyon Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing