We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glacier Canyon Lodge
Ranked #14 of 76 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very nice place”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

My husband, myself, his daughter and her cousin (both 12) stayed at GCL from Aug. 13-18 2014 in a 2 bedroom deluxe suite on the third floor. The room was very clean and seemed pretty new. The rustic decor, along with it's knotty pine accents and log cabin style furnishings, was lovely. We did not know that there would be a Murphy bed in the living room, along with a curtain that could, should privacy be necessary, be drawn across the width of the unit, creating an extra bedroom. This provided a sanctuary in which, on more than one occasion, provided quiet refuge from my Husband's snoring.
There was one night where there seemed to be a shortage of hot water, but it proved to be an isolated occurrence.
If you stay in one of these suites, you are provided with a fully equipped kitchen, complete with stove, dishwasher, microwave and full sized fridge. With Walmart only being a short (5-10 min) drive away, we stocked up our fridge and saved a fortune by not eating out every night.

The restaurants on the resort are mostly of 'burger and fries' persuasion. We made the mistake of going to Survivors Bar and Grill on our first night and spending over $100 on a highly unpalatable meal. It was a blessing in disguise really, as it was the main inspiration in our stocking up of the fridge and preparing our own food.
Poolside, some of the bars will allow smoking which was nice for us, but it seems to be on a case by case basis with each bartender. The bar you smoke at one day may be off limits for cigarettes the next. The drinks were very fairly priced, especially considering the resort's rule of no outside food or drink in any of the pool areas could have afforded them to charge what ever they like.
We had fresh towels daily and our garbage cans emptied, but please be aware that your room will not be cleaned nor your beds be made up. This was fine with us; we were essentially renting a fully equipped condo. We don't require a team of service professionals to pick up after us on a daily basis at home so there was no need during our stay either.
The water in all the pools, including the outdoors ones, was very nice and warm. The pool areas including washrooms were kept spotless. Although some days it was more difficult than not, we were always eventually successful in securing a couple of lounge chairs by the pool. We went off the resort to Noah's Ark one day. After being used to the strict cleanliness and sanitary conditions of our resort's pools, even our kids deemed Noah's to be a cesspool in comparison. After about ten minutes of investigation, and without a single one of us being tempted by the ridiculous lines for the slides, nor by the meandering, murky lazy river, we simply turned around and went back to the resort and enjoyed the rest of the day there instead.
As stated in previous reviews, the property is very large. I wouldn't recommend anyone with mobility issues staying here. I love to walk and enjoyed the exercise. My husband does not appreciate physical activity with similar vigour and found the shuttle bus to be his preferred means of traveling around the property. There are endless things for kids to do, mostly at an extra fee however. Be aware that your kids can charge pretty much anything to your room... including copious amounts of frozen yogurt as in our case. The arcades are great, the hum of the machines and buzz of excitement could easily be mistaken for a casino from afar.


Some things to keep in mind:
- Although your suite has a fully equipped kitchen, there are no non stick pots or pans. If you plan on cooking some of your own meals, consider bringing one.
- Bring a cooler, if you have one, even if you arrive with it empty you will most likely have excess food at the end of your stay to bring home with you.
- There are only about 5 hangers in your room. Consider bringing some of your own or buying a pack from Walmart for $1.
- There are several guest laundries on each floor. There is a small coin operated machine that has tide packets in the laundry room but consider throwing in a couple Tide Pods and some drier sheets in with your luggage. Save your quarters to operate the machines. A cheap laundry plastic laundry basket would prove invaluable. There is a lovely big table in the laundry room and actually preferred folding laundry here than in my own home because of it! I never saw another soul but myself in the laundry room so finding one of the three washers or three dryers vacant should never be an issue.
- There are little BBQ areas outside, just past the parking lot; consider grabbing a bag of charcoal and some lighter fluid if you're out and about at Walmart or any gas station.

We will definitely be back!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    314
    83
    46
    40
See reviews for
691
34
Solo
0
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Glacier Canyon has a beautiful theme with the wood cabin/lodge feel. It has a big outdoor water park pool right outside your units in a big circle, with some cool slides that drop straight down, or you can race with friends. The other indoor/outdoor water slide parks are also availble for use, they are a bit of a walk, but sometimes you can catch the golf cart shuttles. It is a bit pricier in the summer, but is worth it to be outside, enjoying the fine weather. The rooms were clean, spacious, and well decorated. The kitchen really useful for feeding
our family. Good proximity to restaurants on the property. Monks had great burgers! Sausage pizza, and fruit cups at The Dig were a good snack poolside. Tip, paul bunyans was such a long wait for breakfast, just go into the gift shop and pick up the fresh donuts to go packs, and being them back to eat in your rooms kitchen.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pseudoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamaica,Ia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We had a bottom floor and was just steps from all the water parks. It was quiet and the kids were able to walk outside. The kitchen was great. You may want to get your food before you get close because the WalMart is to small and short staffed. The lines were terrible. The room was terrific!

Room Tip: Try to get a room close to the walkway on the bottom floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WMT-IA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed in a 2nd Floor room overlooking the Lost World Waterpark for a long weekend at peak time (Saturday - Monday) and the room was sufficient and clean and a good size, with a couch and small sitting area, as well as a fridge.

Let me start out by saying that you first must come to grips with the size of the property. At first arrival, it was overwhelming, and being that we checked in on a Saturday at the peak of the peak season, the place was PACKED. The check-in process was quick and easy, all questions were answered, and we were on our way.

It was our first time traveling with our 10 month old and she loved it all. We spent each day at one of the many waterparks on property and the evenings out and about in the Wisconsin Dells.

A couple of tiny "things", if I must, is the fact that if you do not get to the waterpark that you are going to be spending your time at early, there is little chance you will be able to secure a table, or even a chair for that matter. There are people literally lined up at 8:30am, waiting to rush in and put there towels down to reserve tables and chairs. While I understand that it happens everywhere, it is annoying, when you move to another waterpark at 12:30pm and can't find somewhere to even sit down, because someone has two crumpled up towels on the top of a table to "reserve" it...but hey, what are you going to do? Elevators are also few and far between, especially if you are using a stroller, and depending on how crowded the parking lots are (and if you can situate where you park), but again, not much you can do about it.

One more thing I must point out is the customer service at the hotel. It was excellent. We read some reviews that were less than stellar, but we had several great encounters. We forgot to bring dish soap to wash out our daughter's bottles, and called down to the operator to ask where we could purchase a bottle. They said they had it covered and had a bottle to our room within the hour. I also needed a bottle opener, and someone in a Wilderness shirt spotted me wandering the halls trying to figure out where a gift shop was. He was able to grab me one and and pass it off in seconds. Third, in addition to the shuttle buses that bus you from the complex to the waterparks, there are also a handful of golf carts that will pick you up randomly while you are walking and take you where you need to go. I thought that was an excellent touch, as I would rather walk then wait on the shuttle bus schedule, but I was definitely not going to pass up a quick ride. Nicely done.

Overall it was a great trip and we look forward to visiting the Wilderness Resorts again.

Room Tip: If you want a table or a beach chair, head to the waterparks early or later. The middle of the day i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveVH4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterloo
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

beautful place. done right. lots of water parks. its only for guests so the lines for the slides were short. we didint have to wait more then a few minutes for any slide. for the price we were spending i was expecting a lot and we got it and more. no problems

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mike s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orangeville, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed at the Glacier Canyon Lodge in a double queen room. I was traveling with my two sons (ages 5 and 8). The room was perfect and in a good location for us. We were on level one which was right across from the Lost World outdoor waterpark. We were able to grab a good parking space because we were there during the week. I can imagine that it gets pretty full during the weekends. We never had any noise issues during our stay. There was a microwave and nice size refrigerator in our room. It was large enough to store a case of water, leftover pizza, and snacks for the kids. The room size was just perfect for us.

There is a lot of walking involved but we got used to it quickly. My only complaint in the waterparks is that it is impossible to find seating if you get there late morning. The indoor waterparks were not as crowded but nothing is more annoying than seeing empty chairs with just a pair of sunglasses "saving it". All we needed was one chair. Come on people, you don't need to save 4 chairs for your family if you are all in the water. The food in the waterparks is mediocre. We did order Klondike Pizza one night and had it delivered to our room. That was really good and came in about 45 minutes. The buffet was ok but service was not as so good.

There is a lot to do in all the waterparks, The kids enjoyed all the slides and raft rides that they could. Some of the lines seemed pretty long but went at a decent pace. The water was very warm and clean. There also seemed to be plenty of tubes available for the lazy river and tube rides. Our favorite park was Lake Wilderness. The landscaping at all the waterparks is beautiful. They really take care of the grounds.

The go carts are reasonably priced and the kids loved the outdoor and indoor ones. Later in the evening they enjoyed playing in the Timberland play area. There should be more seating available for parents though. It got pretty crowded.

You could basically stay at the resort and not have to leave. There was milk and other grocery items in the store. We enjoyed our stay so much and can't wait to visit again! There was a lot of things we ran out of time to do!

Room Tip: You can check in early and enjoy the waterparks before your room is ready. They will give you room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melissa5129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul Park, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Glacier Canyon Lodge. The room is a great size. We were there with our two 20 something adult children. Our room had a nice full sized kitchen with a breakfast bar, dinning room table. A living area with couch, 2 chairs, electric fireplace, nice size flat screen TV with a DVD player and a Murphy bed, 2 bedrooms and a bath and a half. The facility is located right next to the Lost World waterpark. The housekeeping service was (just towels and trash) were very good

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank u0042138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#16 of 76 in Wisconsin Dells
704 reviews
2.9 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#58 of 76 in Wisconsin Dells
630 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#5 of 76 in Wisconsin Dells
936 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#25 of 76 in Wisconsin Dells
949 reviews
1.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wisconsin Dells
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wi...
#10 of 76 in Wisconsin Dells
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glacier Canyon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Canyon Lodge

Property: Glacier Canyon Lodge
Address: 45 Hillman Road, P.O. Box 830, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 460
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Glacier Canyon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glacier Canyon Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Glacier Canyon Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing