We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, good value.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Alabama's Dixieland Bbq & Suds - CLOSED

Alabama's Dixieland Bbq & Suds
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Westmont, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food, good value.”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The BBQ ribs were fall-off-the-bone tender and tasty! My wife loved the bread pudding. Our server, Gina, was really nice - asked questions and made suggestions. Great personality.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    13
    8
    12
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
159 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“The pulled pork is a "wow"”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Loved this place! We totally enjoyed Dixieland BBQ and the live music. It is a nice clean family atmosphere. The food was great. I love pulled pork and hesitantly order it because I have had some good pulled pork. I bit into my sandwich as said "WOW!" Our entire meal from a half rack of ribs, fries, and chicken tenders were great. Our kids enjoyed. The service was quick, not pushy, and the portions were adequate. The prices were reasonable for the dells. We were able to find a 10% off coupon as well. We would definitely go back! This should be within the top 20 in the Dells for restaurants.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sonnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bartlett, Illinois
1 review
“Attentive servers but disappointing food.”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Our family visited Alabama's Dixieland BBQ for dinner during our Dells vacation. We cost to try this pace instead of the chain Famous Debt's across the street but unfortunately, we ended up regretting that decision.

The service was very good - we were seated very promptly, the hostess was friendly, our waiter was very attentive and enthusiastic - but the food just didn't live up to it.

We ordered the "Hog Trough," a dinner-sized sampler with pork ribs, beef ribs, brisket, pulled pork, pulled chicken, roasted chicken, smoked sausage, corn on the cob, fries and corn bread. It was more than enough food to feed the two of us and our four kids - we didn't come close to finishing the pulled meats. The sausage had a nice flavor but the rest of the food was pretty bland. All of the other meats were uniformly under-seasoned and fatty. Plenty of the restaurant's signature barbecue sauce was provided in three different heat levels but it was all much too sweet for my taste and only contributed to the sameness of all the meat.

My wife tried their on-tap 1919 root beer and it was very good. My daughter had lemonade and it was nearly too sour to drink. We didn't try any desserts or cocktails.

All in all we were unhappy to have spent $100 here and don't have plans to return.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great food”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

price was very affordable ,staff was helpful, food was great, very clean, family friendly location was easy access

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank rhonda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An expensive stomach ache!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

I woke up in the middle of the night with an intense stomach ache and severe indigestion. At the restaurant, the meat was tender, but fatty. It was a very greasy meal. Service was great, but we were the only ones in there. Prices were high for the quality of food. The lemonade and sweet tea were terrible.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenlux4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alabama's Dixieland Bbq & Suds also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing