We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great attraction that you've never heard of”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lost Canyon Tours

Lost Canyon Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: This is a Horse Drawn Carriage ride through a scenic canyon. Drivers entertain guest with history facts and the lore of the canyon while charming you with their personality and wit. These tours are not scripted and are much more personal and interactive than other similar tours in the ares. The Beauty of the Draft Horses that pull the carriages is only topped by the Majesty of the Canyon itself! This is one of the original attractions that made Wisconsin Dells a major attraction and is still a must see today!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great attraction that you've never heard of”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We found this by driving the back roads of the Dells and we saw a sign for it. None of us had ever done it, even as kids.
We have been going for 15 years (all adults) and wanted something new. The price is right $10.25 + tax for adults and it's not something that takes all afternoon (or all day).
It's a nice horse drawn ride, not up high at all and takes about an hour or so depending on your wait for a carriage. You can pet the horses and the "drivers" add some color to your trip. We had "Doc" and he was pretty funny (looks just like Larry the Cable Guy). He tells some funny jokes and just made the trip a lot of fun for all of us. It's so beautiful and lush you almost forget your in Wisconsin!
I would highly recommend this (in fact, I did immediately to other friends visiting the Dells with their kids that weekend). It's cool in the canyon which is welcome on a hot summer day.
Plus, they have a little beach across the street where you can picnic, barbeque and swim.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    755
    114
    27
    11
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Must See Part of the Dell!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Our tour guide Haus along with his partners Bill & Bob made this an enjoyable journey thru time. Don't miss this if you are in the dells.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ShellBelle6479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manitowoc
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great for the family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Lost Canyon is great for the whole family. It's a low-key, relaxing ride in to a special natural setting that is worth seeing. The horse-drawn carriage ride is special. If you need lot's of action, this isn't for you. Bring a jacket, it's really cool in the canyon.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JTD716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

I remembered loving this tour as a child and suggested doing it again on our latest trim to the Dells. There were 5 in our group myself, my sister, our mom, and my niece and nephew and the tour did not disappoint. Basically you are taken in on a wagon ride your a narrow canyon that was carved out of the sandstone thousands of years ago. Along the way the guide tells about the history of the area and of the canyon and also tell several corny but funny jokes.

The horses are very well trained and it was fun to see them re-act to the verbal commands the driver gives them. If you want you can even pet the horses or take pictures of them once they are back in the holding area.

Overall it is a very nice relaxing way to spend an hour.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank GForce3012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful & literally cool!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Had an excellent tour in a horse drawn wagon into Lost Canyon. As you enter it cools considerably. Plus the tour is cool too. Our driver, Barnabee, was very funny, e.g. a series of knock-knock jokes, and informative. The canyon is very narrow necessitating that the riders (and the horses) bow their heads at a couple of points.
Although the tour only lasts about 30 minutes it is very well worth the price; about $11.50 per person.
There was only one distraction and that was at one end of the canyon: noise from Wilderness water park but Barnabee had the manager's phone# on his cell phone. Barnabee called and withing a few minutes the volume decreased to an acceptable level.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lost Canyon Tours also viewed

 
Wisconsin Dells, WI
 

Been to Lost Canyon Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing