We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place for appetizer and drinks”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of River Walk Pub

River Walk Pub
Ranked #42 of 184 Restaurants in Wisconsin Dells
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, View, Kids
Dining options: Drinks, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Elgin, Illinois
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good place for appetizer and drinks”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

On a fairly sunny day my wife and I stopped in at this restaurant/pub to grab a little bite and get a drink. We sat outside with a view of the Wisconsin river. Relaxing and tasty ! Actually had a Grilled Cheese with tomato soup and my wife a bowl of chili . We asked for the chili and soup first and when the grilled cheese arrived later the waitress brought another bowl of tomato soup saying all grilled cheese's need to be dipped in tomato soup !! Great girl who took her time with us and never rushed us.
The pub itself was nicely decorated and had much more outdoor seating that I saw when we left. An outdoor bar and fireplace. Just a real good place all around.
Will definitely be going again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    118
    72
    39
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
124 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Nice outdoor seating, mediocre food”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We had lunch here. It was uncrowded and we were given a choice of seats. We sat outdoors overlooking the river. It was beautiful. The restaurant is decorated in a rustic northwoods theme. The menu is limited. There are appetizers, pizzas, sandwiches, a few salads and several entrees. We had cheeseburgers, mine with fries and my husbands with homemade chips. The only garnish served with them was a slim slice of pickle. No tomato, onion or lettuce. I requested it and was promptly served. The portions were adequate for the price. I would return for the view, but not the food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beth828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Awesome patio, good food”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The food was good pub fare. The service was very prompt and friendly. Their patio overlooking the river was great! Very scenic and peaceful.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank happybackyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worth, Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Looked Nice - That's where it ends”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My husband and I stayed across the street at the B&B and decided to walk to this great looking restaurant for dinner. When we first arrived there was no hostess. When she did arrive, she appeared puzzled as to where to seat us. We should have left then. They sat us in the open bar area which was nice and our young server came by promptly to ask us for our drink order. He came back soon after, without drinks, and took our dinner order. That's when things turned bad. After waiting about 30 minutes without receiving our drinks or food we decided to just leave. On our way out, we informed another waitress that we were leaving due to poor service. She apologized and convinced us to stay stating that our waiter was over loaded with tables. Against our better judgement we stayed. Received the ice tea within 5 minutes and the bottle of beer arrived within 10 (which was pretty ironic since we sat in the "Bar" area). Our food finally arrived, however on the cold side. Would not recommend.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MagRag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
forreston, il
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“NEVER EVER again!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

When we arived only 1 group was ahead of us to be seated. The hostess didnt say a word to us and took them to be seated. 8 minutes later she came back to get more menus she said i will be with you in a minute and off she went. 10 minutes later another person came up and said she noticed we were waiting for a long time and said she was sorry for that and said "lets get you a table right away" she found us a table for 2 and said she would be right back with some menus. then a 3rd person came to our table and rudely informed us that she had a group of 14 she was about to get ready for that was coming in after a bit and we could not sit at the table for 2 as shee needed it. we decided that after our 25 minute wait and since we still did not have a table, even when i counted 9 empty tables we would take our business elsewhere. We have NEVER been treated so poorly at a resturant in our live. This was my wife an my 25th anniversery and they sure spoilled it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank foxfive17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed River Walk Pub also viewed

 
Wisconsin Dells, WI
 

Been to River Walk Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing