We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Mead Hotel, Wisconsin Rapids”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mead & Conference Center
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The tower rooms in the Mead Hotel are very nice and views of the city. They usually offer a golf package in conjunction with The Ridges, which is a lovely course. Dining room and bar also above average....huge indoor pool, whirlpool and workout room add to the fun.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al D, Owner at Hotel Mead & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you for the kind words especially regarding the Atrium Tower rooms, that part of the hotel is such a signature piece of the entire building it is nice to hear our guests still love it the way we do. We also have a great relationship with the local golf courses, glad you enjoy the packages.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (551)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

480 - 486 of 552 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

There are new owners at this hotel and the food is terrible. We have been having our Easter Sunday Brunch here for 10 years. Everything was wonderful. Went this year and my daughter did not even eat. The food looked to be brought in from a fast food place. Will never return

Room Tip: We did not spend the night. Just came for their usually wonderful brunch which turned out to be terr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindalou1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al D, Owner at Hotel Mead & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

We have enhanced our menu options in the Café Mulino and were showcasing a few of those during the recent holiday buffets. I sincerely apologize we did not meet your expected standard. We certainly take your comments serious and will address accordingly during future large events.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Stayed for the 1st time for a weekend politically related conference. Rates were not cheap but not awful either relative to other conference suited hotels. One evening meals was part of the conference, and was relatively small but adequate if consuming enough beer. Room was large, nice and clean. Nothing marred the room experience. Stayed in the north tower area which is confusing to get back and forth from. Breakfast buffet in their restaurant was ok, nothing special. Make a fuss if you want coffee, as they did not offer coffee until about finished eating ready to leave.

Room Tip: I will try to be placed in the south tower next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheGrizzledWizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al D, Owner at Hotel Mead & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about the hotel. Our breakfast buffet has changed somewhat and we are fine tuning some of the favorite items, look for more on it as we develop it in the near future. I apologize for the coffee, that should be one of the first questions our servers ask. We are growing our conference business due to us being in the center of the state and your comments are important to us. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

This was our first stay at this hotel and based on other comments here we did not know what to expect.

The location we thought was a little obscure at first, but I'm thinking that was the GPS and it was late at night. We arrived at the back of the building (tower) that at night looks like it could be the front entrance.

We were pleasantly surprised. We were in the West Tower. Granted the hotel itself is a bit older as well as are some of the fixtures, but we thought the room we were given was spacious and nicely appointed - and best of all quiet! We had a free-room stay and upgraded to a King.

The pool area is clean and the water is warm, with a nice sized whirlpool. There is also a game room if you have kids.

Our receptionist (Gale I believe her name was) was very friendly and accommodating, considering we arrived very late. The following morning upon check out (12:00 which is great) the young man was equally nice and pleasant. No complaints there. Overall nice experience.

If I had to make a suggestion, I would recommend in the larger rooms/suites to put in a microwave.

Room Tip: The west tower has the newer flat screen televisions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NAVY_YNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al D, Owner at Hotel Mead & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

We are so glad you were surprised and enjoyed your recent stay. The renovations have been completed in the West Wing as we work our way to the Atrium Tower. We are looking at the option of microwaves as well, thanks for the suggestion. I will relay the kind words to Gale and Tom, the front desk clerks you mentioned. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I stayed at this hotel for a business trip ti Wisconsin Rapids. The hotel is nicely located with a onsite restaurant (most hotels in the area do not have this option). However, I did not have hot water the second night. The hotel is very old and is in needs to be refurbished. The room looks very old with outdated appliances such as TV (most of the channels did not work).

Room Tip: I would not recommend this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Avishek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al D, Owner at Hotel Mead & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Avishek, we appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel during your recent trip. I apologize for the hot water problem and the issue with the TV channels. We are in the middle of our remodel of the rooms to update them, I assure you we have taken notice of the concerns of our guests. The West Wing is completed and we are working our way to the Atrium Tower. Thanks so much for the kind words about our Café Mulino's food on its TripAdvisor site - the cheese curds are pretty terrific. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

food was good at the café but Sandy the waitress was more interested in chatting with the bartender than taking care of us. Will try it again in a couple weeks, lets hope for the best. we live about 5 miles from the café. 1/26/2014 at 7:50 pm

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank rapidstim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

I have stayed at the Mead several times a year for the past 10 years, most recently this month.
I had considered staying elsewhere due to what I perceived as a decline in the overall value in the past few years.

I am glad I chose to return. There has been a significant improvement in the overall quality of the product in 2013. The staff at the front desk, restaurant and tavern were to a person, superb.

As part of this stay we held an event with lunch for 75 people. The entire staff listened very carefully to our requests and delivered exactly as promised. The food was very good, hot and delivered on time.

The quality of the product and the overall service was the best I have experienced here. Every employee was willing to go above and beyond their job to assist. Moreover, they understood what needed to be done and were empowered to make that happen.

Congratulations to the ownership, management and staff for all you have accomplished.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wisconsin Rapids
2.2 mi away
Sleep Inn And Suites Wisconsin Rapids
Sleep Inn And Suites Wisconsin R...
#3 of 7 in Wisconsin Rapids
102 reviews
1.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Rapids
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#2 of 7 in Wisconsin Rapids
189 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Fern Hotel
The Fern Hotel
#5 of 7 in Wisconsin Rapids
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 5 in Plover
110 reviews
15.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#8 of 13 in Stevens Point
129 reviews
15.5 mi away
AmericInn Plover-Stevens Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mead & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mead & Conference Center

Address: 451 E Grand Ave, Wisconsin Rapids, WI 54494-4853
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Wisconsin Rapids
Price Range: £72 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mead & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Central Wisconsin, Hotel Mead offers distinctive, luxury accommodations at affordable prices.Whether you are planning a meeting, romantic getaway or wedding reception, our attentive and seasoned staff pledge to insure a pleasantly memorable experience. Plan your next stay, vacation, business meeting, group event, banquet, conference, convention, wedding or reception at Central Wisconsin’s premier lodging and conference destination - the Hotel Mead. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mead & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mead Hotel Wisconsin Rapids
Hotel Mead & Conference Center Wisconsin Rapids

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing