We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traveling Salesman”

Plantation Supper Club
Ranked #5 of 30 Restaurants in Woodruff
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Gurnee, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Traveling Salesman”
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

A great night out for dinner. Dinner was very reasonable and food was good but not excellent. No complaints but the only standout was the shrimp De Jonge which the wife loved. Average food, good service and a very nice atmosphere in a tourist town.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stuart F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    20
    10
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great food but not service”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Always like the food, waitresses are too nice to be friendly except for one who is overly friendly with that Honey-Darling-Sweetie and overly personal conversation. Can't waitresses say Hello, Thank you, Have a Nice Night? Food is always great, though. Great appetizers and great salad.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeffery H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockton, Illinois
2 reviews
“going down hill”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

we have been to this supper club many times over the past few years. They have lots of fun ice cream drinks, and the prime rib is good. However the last few visits have not been good. Even on a slow evening, service is slow and hard to reach your server when you need her. On our last visit we stopped out for the awesome prime rib deal, however they were sold out, trying to find a substitute for meal added $40 to our bill. The Fish and Chicken items were just ok. Whenever we have had a problem with our meal, Management has never taken anything off the check. I'm not looking for free stuff, but they haven't done anything to build our loyalty. We will now be looking at other supperclubs to visit when in town. We paid $140( without tipping yet) and didn't even have drinks during our meal because the server forgot. Everything was just ok, not worth the money for us.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Courtney L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davenport, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Fish Fry Retro 70's Supper Club”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Have driven by this restaurant for years and finally stopped in for Friday Fish Fry. They don't open until dinner and are closed for the winter months. There were four of us in our party and we agreed that it was the best Northwoods area fish fry we've had in terms of selection (walleye, icelandic cod, perch) and breading (not too heavy, not too salty). The accompanying cole slaw was excellent as well, but must downgrade a bit due to the greasy fishy tasting french fries and the spinach salad which had about 4x too much dressing that turned it into a soup. Be prepared for a wait -- we had a reservation and still waited 30 minutes to be seated, but once we were seated, service was smooth. Nice bar if you can get a seat. Recommend if you are in the Minocqua Northwoods area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHICAGO
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Rib Run”
Reviewed 12 June 2013

The Plantation has been a staple in our Northwoods vacations for decades. I remember as kids watching Mom and Dad go out for their 1 night sans the children and now its a favorite of ours as well. Ribs are amazing-our recommendation is to go later in the evening for meat that falls off the bone. The housemade BBQ sauce is delicious and we always ask for a heavy handed serving on our meals. I also enjoy the creamy garlic dressing.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LORA K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Plantation Supper Club also viewed

 

Been to Plantation Supper Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing