We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wanted to love this restaurant, but....”

Plantation Supper Club
Ranked #5 of 30 Restaurants in Woodruff
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wanted to love this restaurant, but....”
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

I ordered the chicken Oscar, salad and French fries. When the salad came, I was shocked that they served it to me seeing it was obviously frozen at one point, the lettuce was transparent. The fries that came with my meal had been fried, probably gotten cold so instead of starting with fresh fries, they popped these back into the fryer to reheat, leaving them drenched in oil, non edible. The chicken oscar was very good, the chicken was done perfect. We also ordered two ice cream drinks for dessert, the manager or chef delivered them and wanted to tell me why the salad was frozen, didn't mention the refried inedible fries. A nice gesture would have been to give me the drink for my bad meal, but he didn't. That's okay, there are a lot of better restaurants in the area. I can now see why the restaurant was empty.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    20
    10
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moline, IL
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Annual Lobster Night”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We always go to the Plantation for their Lobster Special. It is consistantly good, and a very good value. We have never had a problem with service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Old-School Supper Club Experience”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Definitely exceeds expectations for a Wisconsin supper club. Restaurant was clean, and service was efficient and pleasant. Fun "hor d'ourves" include spicy links, cheese toasts, and fried wings. Onion ring appetizer was very good - definitely recommend it. My wife's strip steak was done to order and delicious. Ribs were great. Fried chicken and fried walleye were excellent, though a bit salty. And true to the supper club format - not a vegetable in sight! Unfortunately, we were so stuffed afterward we did not have room for any of their interesting ice cream drinks. Service was very pleasant. Servers were kind and attentive, and took the time to patiently answer a couple of dumb questions from me.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CubsFanMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurnee, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Traveling Salesman”
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

A great night out for dinner. Dinner was very reasonable and food was good but not excellent. No complaints but the only standout was the shrimp De Jonge which the wife loved. Average food, good service and a very nice atmosphere in a tourist town.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stuart F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great food but not service”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Always like the food, waitresses are too nice to be friendly except for one who is overly friendly with that Honey-Darling-Sweetie and overly personal conversation. Can't waitresses say Hello, Thank you, Have a Nice Night? Food is always great, though. Great appetizers and great salad.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeffery H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Plantation Supper Club also viewed

 

Been to Plantation Supper Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing