We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely well looked after, friendly service and helpful.”
Review of Shawlee Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shawlee Cottage
Ranked #1 of 2 Chapelhall B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Extremely well looked after, friendly service and helpful.”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Sandy &Cathy looked after me extremely well the room's were very good and the breakfast excellent (lovley black pudding) extremely knowledgeable advice about the area and alternative travel arrangements. Had a very good stay.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weldinspipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanny1571, Owner at Shawlee Cottage, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for our first Russian review which we truly appreciate. We are glad to here you found the local amenities to be of advantage to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
44
9
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

As soon as you enter to the time that you leave, Sandy and Cathy give you a warm Scottish welcome.All the rooms are well looked after, always spotlessly clean, as is the rest of the cottage, and also have en suite and free wi-fi. The Breakfasts are well cooked with fresh local produce, from a butcher that was in the top three finalists for best butcher. Parking at the rear of the property, and a local public house nearby, that make you feel welcome as one of their own if you fancy a tipple.
I spent a total of nine weeks with them on a business trip, and i classed it as a home from home, but take heed, this is a very popular place, so i think booking in advance is advisable as they always seem to get full quite quickly.
Close to Glasgow, quite a lot of people use this as a base for there as its much cheaper than being in the city. Thoroughly reccommended if your in that area

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanny1571, Owner at Shawlee Cottage, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for the kind remarks. It is good to know that you enjoyed your stay in spite of having to work. The guys in the pub send their best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

We stay in B&B's because we want to connect with local people, have a built in resource for local attractions and enjoy local cuisine. Sandy and Cathy hit all the marks. When we left, we felt we had made new friends. Sandy recommended a local restaurant. It was great. The next day we decided to return. A quick email to Sandy from Saint Andrews and he made a reservation. Unsure of how to get the bus to the train into Edinburgh, Sandy drove us to the station.

Good conversation, breakfast made to order, very clean and well laid out room and good parking. Plenty of takeaway food and a post office within a couple of hundred meters. Located 30 minutes from Glasgow airport and an hour from downtown Edinburgh. In a small town not too daunting for us rIght side of the road drivers. Hope to return soon!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnH910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanny1571, Owner at Shawlee Cottage, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
John. Thank you for the very positive feed back which very accurately spells out the advantages of using bed and breakfast establishments. Haste ye back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

Excellent welcome nothing to much trouble
Spot on rooms and breakfast free wifi and parking definitely top of my list if im in this area again
great local pub and shops and takeaway's
thanks sandy & cathy enjoyed my stay will be back
chris (swansea)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanny1571, Owner at Shawlee Cottage, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for the review. We are glad to here you not only enjoyed the stay at Shawlee but also the village amenities as well. Hope to welcome you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

When attending a wedding recently and looking for somewhere to stay for the weekend, we came across Shawlee Cottage on TripAdvisor. It seemed like just what we were after and it didn't let us down one bit!

Sandy and Cathy are so friendly and made us feel very welcome and the breakfast was to die for!

Shawlee Cottage has a lot of character with all mod-cons fitted into a lovely old building. There's private parking out the back and it's a quick and easy drive to Glasgow where we spent the second day of our stay.

If we're ever staying in the area again, Shawlee Cottage will be our first port of call, and we'd thoroughly recommend it to anyone looking to stay in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bairn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanny1571, Owner at Shawlee Cottage, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us the great review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and found us convenient for Glasgow. Hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Catharines, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 1 October 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights at Shawlee Cottage and had a wonderful time. Sandy and Cathy were great hosts and we actually felt as if we were part of their family. They both truly have warm and friendly personalities that are essential for running a B&B. The dining room is lovely, the meals were delicious and the rooms were spotlessly clean. I would have no hesitation in recommending Shawlee Cottage to anyone who is travelling in that part of Scotland.
Phil & Leslie P.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanny1571, Owner at Shawlee Cottage, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thanks for taking the time to leave such positive comments. We would love to meet you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

My husband recently stayed at Shawlee Cottage for 6 weeks for a work trip, and I joined him for his final week. The entire time he was there, Sandy and Cathy treated my husband like one of their own, and it was no different for myself when I joined him. They went above and beyond to make what could have been a very difficult trip for my husband as easy as possible. Our room was cleaned every day, and we were fed more than our fill. We enjoyed Cathy and Sandy's company when they were able to join us for breakfast, and appreciated their recommendations for places to shop and dine and advice on how to get around.

We left feeling like we had two new friends, half way around the world. I just can't say enough about how kind they were to us. I hope the future brings us back to Scotland one day, and if we are so lucky, we will be back to Shawlee Cottage.

Tom and Michele S.

Room Tip: Quick bus ride to Airdrie Rail Station, which will quickly get you to Glasgow or Edinburgh.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanny1571, Owner at Shawlee Cottage, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thank you for the kind words. It was our pleasure to keep you guys here and I am glad we helped make your stay in Scotland a good experience even if work was the main reason to be here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chapelhall
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Strathclyde
1.4 mi away
Dakota Eurocentral
Dakota Eurocentral
#1 of 9 in Motherwell
821 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Glasgow (Motherwell) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Mondo Hotel
Mondo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coatbridge
131 reviews
3.1 mi away
Dalziel Park Hotel & Golf Club
4.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shawlee Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shawlee Cottage

Property: Shawlee Cottage
Address: 108 Lauchope Street | Chapelhall, Chapelhall, Airdrie, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > North Lanarkshire > Airdrie > Chapelhall
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Chapelhall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shawlee Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Shawlee Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing