We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just average for a HIE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Buffalo
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Buffalo
Waukee, Iowa
Level Contributor
152 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Just average for a HIE”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Spent the night during recent trip to the Big Horns. Upon arrival the desk clerk was professional but not over welcoming. He answered any questions but always a short yes or no. Never got welcomed as a rewards member. The cookies in the lobby, we had to seek out on our own, were a nice touch. The room was comfortable as I would expect as a rewards member who frequents HIE. Breakfast was good and well stocked.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randall L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Buffalo, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Randall L,

Thank you for taking the time to write feedback on your recent stay. It makes us happy to read that you found the room comfortable and that the complimentary breakfast was to your liking. On the other hand, it is regrettable that you were not acknowledged as one of our IHG Rewards Club members.

Please know that I have shared your comments with our entire team in order to ensure an improvement for any future visit you might have to Buffalo. We look forward to welcoming you back in our establishment.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    69
    20
    5
    10
See reviews for
59
62
9
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Keystone, South Dakota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

I am a rewards member so we always stay at Holiday inn , never again in Buffalo, the tile is all coming loose in front of the bathroom door will pinch your toes. Ice bucket and plastic cups in the bathroom, Kleenex on the floor by the bed. The grout in the shower needs some serious cleaning. No light on the desk for any reading or writing. Went to breakfast asked if they had sugar free syrup for pancakes, no but they might have to get some because every one keeps asking for it ? Wow we will be coming back to Buffalo but will stay at the Hampton.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Buffalo, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Cathy M,

Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club member and for leaving us a feedback. Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests and for that please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you have experienced and if our hotel fell below your expectations in many aspects. Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and guest services we offer to our guests.

Thank you again for your comments as this is very helpful to us to ensure we are able to meet our guests expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.


Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
305 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 371 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Clean large double-bedded Room, with TV, AC, Fridge etc . No Restaurant, so no dinner (ate over the road at Bozeman Trail Steak House), but they provided the normal Breakfast - Tea, coffee, juice, cereal, bagel & cream cheese, toast, jam etc. We are neither of us keen on the cooked offerings of powdered scrambled egg nor the bacon, grits etc.

Room 110 and paid $106 (incl Taxes etc in Mid-May.

For budget accommodation - perfectly acceptable.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Safariholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cresco, Iowa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We stayed 2 nights. The customer service was very good. We got checked in and enjoyed a room big enough to house 4 adults. It was so quiet, we many times thought that we were the only guests at the hotel, until we looked at the parking lot.

The breakfast eggs were not that great. They had a fake cheese type stuffing for the omelet, I would have preferred scrambled eggs. The biscuits and gravy were good, as well as the sausage. The pancakes were nice. It is one of those make your own..but you do not have to deal with pouring in the batter, like the waffle makers at some hotels, just press a button and you magically get 2 pancakes. The cookies in the lobby were yummy.

Every employee we met was very friendly and accommodating. We often forgot that their were other people in the hotel. I am sure we were visiting in an off-season and that it was not as full as it should have been. It is very conveniently located on the outskirts of Buffalo downtown area, right off the interstate. If you stay with Holiday Inn Express, Buffalo,Wy, do not eat at the Bozeman Trail....go into town and eat anywhere else.

We did not take advantage of the pool, but it looked really nice and clean. If you have a plug in deisel vehicle, there are very limited amounts of plugs outside. We were lucky that this time of year we did not need to plug in the first night of our stay. If you do have to use plugs, you have to find a very limited plug space near the swimming pool. You will not find an ashtray outside the building, and if you need to do laundry, it is 1.50 per wash and 1.50 per dry.

Overall a very good night rest for the money.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sella35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This was the first hotel I've stayed at that actually had cable. It was nice to be able to know all the channels before scrolling through everything. The room was clean and well kept. The front desk staff was friendly and let me park my vehicle there for a couple days as I was car pooling to my next destination. My night was quiet as I did not get the typical background noise normally heard from other rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, England
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

Bring your earplugs to this hotel, and your own food. Noisy AC in the rooms can only be turned off by reception. Room fridges and bathroom fan noisy also. The apology for a breakfast buffet was on disposable cups and plates.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davehChester_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Buffalo, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear davehChester_England,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We would like to apologize you were not satisfied with our breakfast selections and the experience you had with the noise which affected your stay negatively. We want to assure you that our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. For that reason, the comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level Contributor
120 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

You get what you get. Pluses: Newer property, close to Winchesters and another bar, clean rooms, refrigerators in the room, coffee makers, decent workout room. Minuses: far from downtown, scratchy towels. For Buffalo, it's a good property.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMPWyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Buffalo, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear AMPWyo,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for any shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo
0.0 mi away
Buffalo Inn
Buffalo Inn
#2 of 17 in Buffalo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.4 mi away
SureStay Plus Hotel Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#14 of 17 in Buffalo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.9 mi away
Days Inn Buffalo WY
Days Inn Buffalo WY
#10 of 17 in Buffalo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
1.6 mi away
Z-Bar Motel
Z-Bar Motel
#6 of 17 in Buffalo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Buffalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Buffalo

Property: Holiday Inn Express Buffalo
Address: 106 US Highway 16 E, Buffalo, WY 82834-9347
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wyoming > Buffalo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Buffalo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buffalo Hotel Located Near Wyoming Destinations The Buffalo, Wyoming, Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is a peaceful, countryside hotel near the Big Horn Mountains that remains within walking distance of historic downtown Buffalo. Visitors looking for a Wyoming adventure will enjoy this Buffalo hotel's ideal proximity to the Bozeman Trail Crossing, an old gold rush trail to Montana, along the edge of the Big Horn Mountains. You can plan a picnic and relax amidst the beautiful, diverse Wyoming landscape seen at the Bighorn National Forest and the Petrified Tree Forest, both near our Buffalo hotel. Wyoming travelers can save at our hotel in Buffalo and enjoy the riches of the natural world through scenic driving tours and afternoons at nearby Lake Desmit. Less than two miles away from the hotel, you'll find downtown Buffalo, WY and the attractions of an historic Western town. Observe the history of the old town just steps from your Buffalo hotel room when you take an historical walking tour through downtown. Shoppers are sure to find unique shops and antique havens. Our Buffalo hotel offers the comforts you deserve while traveling, with an indoor pool and fitness center. You'll find a complimentary hot breakfast bar and local paper awaiting you each morning. For accommodations near Buffalo, Wyoming, check out the Buffalo Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites room rates and deals for an affordable Buffalo vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Buffalo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Buffalo Hotel Buffalo
Buffalo Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Buffalo Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing