We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One word....... awesome”
Review of Blue Gables Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Buffalo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Gables Motel
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Buffalo
Dauphin, Canada
1 review
“One word....... awesome”
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We passed through Buffalo,Wyoming without any plans of staying, car trouble prompted us to stay, this was a horrible thing.... very stressful to experience but.... the wonderful people of Buffalo turned this into a very memorable, positive, and enjoyable experience. The hospitality throughout the town was amazing the only thing more amazing was the Blue Gables Motel .It wasn't a francise approach, it was a family experience. The staff/owners were incredible. We were welcomed in and the service was top notch, everyone should experience this personalized service, the big hotel chains cannot match this ....everyone should check this place out, economical and an incredible value. It has all the ammenities like a pool, air conditioned cabins, wireless internet along with the unexpected extras like use of a barbeque, outdoor kitchen/eating area...firepit/sitting area, also laundry is available ...overall a wonderful place to stay. Oh yeah the best coffee I have encountered on this vacation. This is a MUST stay!

Room Tip: A single unit cabin (all by itself) would enhance your experience by giving you a bit more privacy c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    33
    4
    6
    2
See reviews for
25
28
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Payson, Arizona
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

It's hard to give the Blue Gables a wholehearted recommendation. The mattress is old and lumpy, the bathroom is the tiniest I've seen outside an Amtrack sleeping car, and there's lots of traffic noise during the day. Then again, for about $70 you get a cabin of your own with a refrigerator, TV, AC, and lots of character. There's a small pool and nice grounds where you can use a gas grill if you want to cook for yourself. It's within walking distance of Buffalo's historic downtown and quiet enough at night for a good sleep. If you can overlook the few faults, it's a great way to avoid the chain motels along the interstate.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the individual cabins in the back of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stilltraveling65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012 via mobile

Great little one room type cabins very nice owners. Clean -very inexpensive
Definitely recommend

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Food628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater World
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Karen and Jim run one of the nicer, quaint motels around(The U.S.). The grounds are manicured, and the cabins are cozy. This is my second business stay here (Oct 2011), and will come back and stay hopefully on a little R&R trip. Jim and Karen are so friendly (I know it's part of the job) and graciously help with everything you need. Walking distance to downtown, very convenient to all local services. Barbecue and recreation area are just right for a thrifty traveler, with outdoor grill, sinks, dining area. I can't imagine a bad stay.

Room Tip: Cabins mostly the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uncle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Just the type of place you are looking for if you like to stay local instead of a chain. The owners were friendly and helpful. They gave us plenty of tourist info and a map and seemed sincere about caring that we enjoyed our stay and our vacation. The room was plenty big, very clean and comfortable. No hair dryers but that is standard in a low cost hotel. Price is very fair. there is a heated pool, and a bonfire at night for something to do. They recommended a local restaurant that was very good. We had a huge bathroom so it varies apparently. We were very happy with this choice.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myshorepath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NW Washington State
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

The motel features log cabins. Our room included two queen beds, microwave, frig, cable TV, wi-fi. As a six-footer, I found the shower head very low and the shower very small (no tub). The motel includes a pool, nightly campfire, expresso shop in the lobby. They also have a great black lab that invites every visitor to through the ball for him and they have to parakeets in cages in the lobby. Bag of ice was $2. Overall, a great place with very friendly owners. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5Reads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Haven, MI
Level Contributor
202 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012 via mobile

Usually I pass up places like this, but the review here was good, and I have to agree that this was a very nice place to spend the night! Quiet, clean, spacious and a comfortable bed...with extra pillows on the rack!

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
0.7 mi away
Z-Bar Motel
Z-Bar Motel
#6 of 17 in Buffalo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
1.1 mi away
Buffalo Inn
Buffalo Inn
#2 of 17 in Buffalo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#5 of 17 in Buffalo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Buffalo WY
Days Inn Buffalo WY
#10 of 17 in Buffalo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#14 of 17 in Buffalo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Gables Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Gables Motel

Property: Blue Gables Motel
Address: 662 N Main St, Buffalo, WY 82834
Region: United States > Wyoming > Buffalo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Blue Gables Motel Buffalo, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing